Vader's Finest and Movement points

By frotes, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

The mp points gained during Vader's Finest (and other special actions like urgency) need to be used immediately and are lost if not used.

My question is, if you have MP in the pool (say from fleet footed or move action) and you use Vader's Finest, can you use the 2mp from VF to move onto a figure temporary since you still have movement points in the pool to move away afterwards to a clear space.

My opinion:

You cannot spend movement points from the movement point pool during actions.

You have 2mp to spend during the Vader's Finest special action. You cannot spend points from the pool during the action. To spend mp from the movement point pool you need to end the action, which cannot end until you stop spending the 2mp from Vader's Finest. Stopping spending movement points is ending movement, and you cannot enter a space with another figure unless you have enough mp to end movement in a valid space - and you have only 2mp to spend.

Also, it feels weird for the end of an action to happen without ending movement - the validity of which depends on what you perform afterwards.

So, the movement points from Urgency and Vader's Finest are the only ones you can spend during the respective actions and you need to end movement to end the action.

The intent may be different, but in this way movement points in special actions work the same way as Move X Spaces.

Edited by a1bert
On 1/25/2017 at 0:00 PM, a1bert said:

The intent may be different, but in this way movement points in special actions work the same way as Move X Spaces.

That's a good way of thinking about it. It still seems a bit weird since they are using the term movement points but I can see how that works

I do wonder about their intent tho

I thought it had been determined that when you gain movement points during your own activation that those points just go into the movement pool along with regular move points and that it is only outside of a figures activation that the points are used immediately or lost?

You are forgetting the often-missed rule about movement points received as part of special actions (such as Urgency and Vader's Finest).

Actions said:

* Movement points can be spent before or after performing an action. If movement points are gained as part of a special action, they must be spent immediately during that action.

Movement points received out of your activation or as part of special actions do not go to the movement point pool, they must be used immediately or be lost. Movement points from all other sources during your activation go into the movement point pool.

Edited by a1bert

Got a rules response regarding this from Todd.

I basically asked, if you have MP in your pool, can you Vader's finest on top of another figure then continue to spend MP. The answer is pretty much what we expect:

Quote

In this case, the moving figure doesn’t satisfy the condition of “moving through” the occupied space, as it would need to end its movement to resolve the movement ability (Vader’s Finest in this case.) You would need to find an empty space to end your movement before resuming spending any floating movement points.

Thanks for getting clarification!