Warpstone Meteor and Corruption Questions

By player1818260, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Card: Warpstone Meteor - #96

Description: Forced: After your turn begins, each player must corrupt one of his units in this corresponding zones or deal 1 damage to his capital.

My question is, during the begining of my turn, can I uncorrupt a unit in that zone first, and then re-corrupt it so that I don't take damage? Or does the card effect take place first?

Also, I'm trying to determine how advantageous it is to play this card. Assuming each player has one unit in the corresponding zone, I would have one unit constantly under the effects of corruption. The opposing player would only be under the effects of corruption during his defending phase (Since he can uncorrupt during the beginning of his phase).

Does a unit that's corrupted still contribute power to that zone? (Such as cards or resources) Can a corrupted units obtain resources on a quest? Can they trigger actions or forced effects?

Finally, do you have to uncorrupt a card each turn?

We ran into an interesting scenario. I had the quest Defend the Border active:

While Defend the Border has 3 or more resources tokens on it, redirect the first point of damage done to your capital each turn to another target unit or capital.

I would refuse to uncorrupt my unit and take the capital damage and instantly redirect it, taking out strategically placed units before my opponent could collect cards or resources.

Sleeper Awakened said:

Card: Warpstone Meteor - #96

Description: Forced: After your turn begins, each player must corrupt one of his units in this corresponding zones or deal 1 damage to his capital.

My question is, during the begining of my turn, can I uncorrupt a unit in that zone first, and then re-corrupt it so that I don't take damage? Or does the card effect take place first?

No, the effect if forced immediately. Think of it this way though. You play the card. The forced effect is triggered, and you corrupt a unit. Next turn, assuming you have no other units in the zone, the effect is triggered again, and you take a damage. At that point, you can then restore the unit, and then from that point on, your turn will begin, you will corrupt the unit in the zone, and then restore it immediately after. Your opponent will corrupt it on your turn, thus preventing him from defending the zone with his unit, and then restore it on his turn.

Sleeper Awakened said:

Also, I'm trying to determine how advantageous it is to play this card. Assuming each player has one unit in the corresponding zone, I would have one unit constantly under the effects of corruption. The opposing player would only be under the effects of corruption during his defending phase (Since he can uncorrupt during the beginning of his phase).

Does a unit that's corrupted still contribute power to that zone? (Such as cards or resources) Can a corrupted units obtain resources on a quest? Can they trigger actions or forced effects?

Finally, do you have to uncorrupt a card each turn?

The only effect that being corrupted has is that it means that the unit cannot attack or defend. That is it.

The rulebook says that the player has the "option" of restoring a single unit - thus, you are not required to.

Sleeper Awakened said:

We ran into an interesting scenario. I had the quest Defend the Border active:

While Defend the Border has 3 or more resources tokens on it, redirect the first point of damage done to your capital each turn to another target unit or capital.

I would refuse to uncorrupt my unit and take the capital damage and instantly redirect it, taking out strategically placed units before my opponent could collect cards or resources.

Yes - what you did is perfectly legal.

Ward: Warpstone Meteor - #96

Description: Forced: After your turn begins, each player must corrupt one of his units in this corresponding zones or deal 1 damage to his capital.

I would think, judging by the wording, you could choose to take the damage instead of corrupting one of your units anyway. It's not an "if/then" statement on the card. If it meant it that way I would think the card would ream more like, "Forced: After your turn begins, each play must corrupt one of his units in the corresponding zone, if a unit cannot be corrupted then 1 damage is dealt to the capital." This leads me to believe that you can choose to have one damage dealt to your capital instead of corrupting a unit.

This leads me to a question of my own: The card doesn't specify the zone that Warpstone Meteor is played in, so could you choose to damage a different zone of your capital, like one that doesn't have as much damage to it?

The frames keep messing up on my post and I don't know why.....


this has been resolved.

You have the choice... corrupt one unit or take one damage.

Can anyone tell me the point of using Warpstone Meteor? Seems like it hurts the person playing it more than the opponent. Anyone have strategies or combos with it?

During your Kingdom phase you get to restore one corrupted unit so you can restore the unit that was corrupted because of Warpstone's forced effect. Your opponent can't restore until the start of his turn. You can lockdown a potential defender. It also is pretty cost efficient, 2 power for 3 resources ie. 2 more resources/draws on your next turn depending where you play it. A couple Excavations and a Meteor in the early game sets up your Kingdom Zone nice and Chaos is pretty resource hungry so you'll need those power icons.