Combat preview!
It was neat seeing new morale cards. But the most exciting thing is next week's preview on setup and objectives. I'm really looking forward to seeing some example objectives.
Do we know if surges are multiplied as well as hit results?
No, it is just hits, surges, morale, mortal wounds, and the like are not multiplied like damage. That would skew things into multiple groups of the maximum across, which looks to be 3,instead of something like a 3 x 2, since mechanically it would be more efficient and over powered if one morale result have you the chance to force a betrayal or to just lose a tray outright.
This preview got me thinking about whether or not it's generally better to have more ranks or columns... I think it will depend a lot on exactly what the dice look like. If they have a lot of blanks I thinking ranks might be better. Anyone know?
This preview got me thinking about whether or not it's generally better to have more ranks or columns... I think it will depend a lot on exactly what the dice look like. If they have a lot of blanks I thinking ranks might be better. Anyone know?
Looking at this link , it looks like you don't really get an option on building out vs. building back. It looks like you always add a column to the side before you can add a row to the back.
But hypothetically, if you did have total control over your configuration, what would be best? I don't know. That's an interesting question.
Looking at this link , it looks like you don't really get an option on building out vs. building back. It looks like you always add a column to the side before you can add a row to the back.
Except for the cavalry for some reason. One would think that cavalry would go wide first. :/
Anyway, turns out that every full rank gives a full reroll (number of dice chosen) and a half-rank gives a reroll on only one die. Answered one of my questions.
Looking at this link , it looks like you don't really get an option on building out vs. building back. It looks like you always add a column to the side before you can add a row to the back.
Except for the cavalry for some reason. One would think that cavalry would go wide first. :/
Anyway, turns out that every full rank gives a full reroll (number of dice chosen) and a half-rank gives a reroll on only one die. Answered one of my questions.
Kind of forces you to use them as a flanking force
Nice article, I also like the name of the guy they're quoting:
Baron Zachareth of Cartridge
The paragraph about multiplaying your hits based on how wide your unit facing the enemy really helps with the squaring up issues from the movement preview. Waiting for those objectives now and I really hope they work better than Armada's. No, Armada's are not terrible, but underwhelming for most of the core set objectives.
Im still slightly confused about the morale and panic tokens.
So lets say I roll and one morale comes up, do I then spend panic tokens on the enemy unit or my own unit?
If there are morale cards that affect my own unit whats the benefit to even drawing unless I have three plus morale that I can spend so I can buy one that affects the enemy unit?
Im still slightly confused about the morale and panic tokens.
So lets say I roll and one morale comes up, do I then spend panic tokens on the enemy unit or my own unit?
If there are morale cards that affect my own unit whats the benefit to even drawing unless I have three plus morale that I can spend so I can buy one that affects the enemy unit?
whatever you roll you apply as a debuff on your enemy. If you're in close combat you cash those moral tokens in, drawing 1 card per token, then those tokens count as currency to buy the moral token you want from the ones you drew
for example, I'm attacking with hero Joebagofdonut and he rolls 3 morale symbols against your reanimates. He would hit you with three morale tokens, since he's in combat, he would then spend those to draw three morale cards, finally he would pick one that has a cost equal to or less than the number token (in this case 3). Some cards benefit you, others punish the enemy, you would get to pick which you wanted.
Ninja'd. But anyway ...
Im still slightly confused about the morale and panic tokens.
So lets say I roll and one morale comes up, do I then spend panic tokens on the enemy unit or my own unit?
If there are morale cards that affect my own unit whats the benefit to even drawing unless I have three plus morale that I can spend so I can buy one that affects the enemy unit?
My understanding: Morale tokens are bad. They are assigned to units if the unit runs into an enemy unit without charging, or charges and does not collide with an enemy unit. When attacking, you can also roll a morale symbol on the die. When this happens, that die counts as one extra morale token. You must then draw at least one morale card from the deck. I'm not sure if spending morale tokens currently on the unit is optional or not. You will draw 1 morale card for each morale token on the unit in addition to the 1 you draw for rolling the morale result. You may then spend those tokens to pay for one of the morale cards you drew. You must have a combination of morale results on the dice and morale tokens on the target unit to pay for that card.
I think that spending is optional, just like spending for a surge is optional. The tokens stick around until spent or removed, but the die result is a "spend now or lose it" thing.
Edited by CraftyAndroidNinja'd. But anyway ...
My understanding: Morale tokens are bad. They are assigned to units if the unit runs into an enemy unit without charging, or charges and does not collide with an enemy unit. When attacking, you can also roll a morale symbol on the die. When this happens, that die counts as one extra morale token. You must then draw at least one morale card from the deck. I'm not sure if spending morale tokens currently on the unit is optional or not. You will draw 1 morale card for each morale token on the unit in addition to the 1 you draw for rolling the morale result. You may then spend those tokens to pay for one of the morale cards you drew. You must have a combination of morale results on the dice and morale tokens on the target unit to pay for that card.Im still slightly confused about the morale and panic tokens.
So lets say I roll and one morale comes up, do I then spend panic tokens on the enemy unit or my own unit?
If there are morale cards that affect my own unit whats the benefit to even drawing unless I have three plus morale that I can spend so I can buy one that affects the enemy unit?
I think you're confusing morale tokens with panic tokens. They're different. Panic tokens are bad, morale tokens are good. Panic tokens are assigned to your unit if you mess up a planned charge for example. Morale tokens are received during your attack based on the dice roll and are used to improve your attack or weaken your opponent.Ninja'd. But anyway ...
My understanding: Morale tokens are bad. They are assigned to units if the unit runs into an enemy unit without charging, or charges and does not collide with an enemy unit. When attacking, you can also roll a morale symbol on the die. When this happens, that die counts as one extra morale token. You must then draw at least one morale card from the deck. I'm not sure if spending morale tokens currently on the unit is optional or not. You will draw 1 morale card for each morale token on the unit in addition to the 1 you draw for rolling the morale result. You may then spend those tokens to pay for one of the morale cards you drew. You must have a combination of morale results on the dice and morale tokens on the target unit to pay for that card.Im still slightly confused about the morale and panic tokens.
So lets say I roll and one morale comes up, do I then spend panic tokens on the enemy unit or my own unit?
If there are morale cards that affect my own unit whats the benefit to even drawing unless I have three plus morale that I can spend so I can buy one that affects the enemy unit?
I thought so, too, but here is what the article says:
Even the most heavily armored unit can still be terrified or have its spirit broken, however. After your attack, you can spend your morale results and any morale tokens on the defending unit to test the unit’s might. The number of morale symbols spent determines the number of cards that you draw from the morale deck. For instance, if you inflict a morale test with two morale symbols, you’ll draw two morale cards from the deck.
Sounds like whoever wrote that is confusing morale and panic. Which is either bad, because the person writing the article just got confused. Or worse, the two terms are so interchangable that the person who wrote the article lost track of what they are talking about. I am getting an unfortunate feeling it is the latter, because you have panic tokens, and the morale die result which you spend with panic tokens.
Is the symbol on the morale die not the same as on the panic tokens? Since they can be spent together (added up) then it is probably be the same thing
morale is the result on the die, Panic is the token. the token that is good for you is an inspiration token. Morale is lost if not used,panic tokens stay till used.
Sounds like whoever wrote that is confusing morale and panic. Which is either bad, because the person writing the article just got confused. Or worse, the two terms are so interchangable that the person who wrote the article lost track of what they are talking about. I am getting an unfortunate feeling it is the latter, because you have panic tokens, and the morale die result which you spend with panic tokens.
There's the problem, I was confusing Morale and Panic. So then what are the panic tokens for? Maybe in a future article?
Sounds like whoever wrote that is confusing morale and panic. Which is either bad, because the person writing the article just got confused. Or worse, the two terms are so interchangable that the person who wrote the article lost track of what they are talking about. I am getting an unfortunate feeling it is the latter, because you have panic tokens, and the morale die result which you spend with panic tokens.
There's the problem, I was confusing Morale and Panic. So then what are the panic tokens for? Maybe in a future article?
When you attack a unit (say, your spearmen attack some reanimates) after you resolve the attack, you can then resolve a morale test against the reanimates you attacked. To do that, you add up the morale (icons on the dice) and the panic (tokens that the reanimates have on them). Then you draw cards equal to the number of morale + panic. you can assign one and only one of those cards as long as the number of morale + panic is higher or equal to the cost on the card (the 1-3 symbols on the top of the card).
Whether or not you have to spend all the panic tokens, or just the number you want, I don't know. I'm just going by what I remember from the rules at GenCon.
I think the tokens remain but the panic results only last for that combat?
I think the tokens remain but the panic results only last for that combat?
Yes.
Also if you didn't roll any morale on your attack but there are panic tokens you may still spend them to cause a morale test (drawing the cards and such) at the value of what ever tokens you wanted to spend.
Help me understand the Loss of Faith card. "If the unit has more than 1 tray, your opponent must choose and remove 1 tray from the unit's backmost rank. All figures on that tray are removed." That sounds like - poof! - that tray just disappears. "Good luck! We're out! This ain't my fight."
But then the next part says, "This effect cannot be used to split the unit into two separate groups of trays." Any ideas on what that's about, or do we need to wait to learn more of the rules?