XP - Upgrading vs Adding cards

By Damobra666, in Arkham Horror: The Card Game

Assumption: I have one single copy of a card level 0 (0 XP) in my deck.


If I use Xp points to purchase a higher level version of this card with the same name, am I forced to 'upgrade' ( removing the lower level version of the card from my deck) or can I keep both cards, the lower and the higher level?

The rules are:

1) You have to remove a card to make room for each card you purchase (except if it has the Permanent keyword), but it can be any card.

2) You can have 2 cards with the same name in your deck, but not more.

So you can have 2 identically-named cards with different levels, just like you can have 2 with the same level (there are 2 copies of the leveled neutral cards in the Core Set, so it's possible even with only 1).

One quick point of clarification: If the original version you have in your hand is higher than level 0 and you discard it for a higher level card of the same name, you only have to pay the difference.

example: you have a level 2 card and you decide to purchase a level 4 card of the same name. If you discard the level 2 card, you only have to pay 2 XP for the new card. If you discard a card with a different name, you have to pay the full 4 XP regardless of the level of the card you discarded.

True. There are currently no cards with multiple level 1+ versions, though.

Huh, you're right. Never thought to check that. Just remember them specifically making a point of how that worked in the explanations of how to spend XP. Guess we're pretty much guaranteed at some point to get them. :D

Oh yeah, I expect them to show up at some point, probably level 3-4 versions of level 1-2 cards. I also expect exceptional and level 5 cards to show up eventually.

Hello !

So let's say if I have Lucky! lvl 0 in my deck.

Then I want to keep Lucky! lvl 0 in my deck and purchase Lucky lvl 2.

I can spend 2 exp to add Lucky lvl 2 to my deck and removing i.e. Knife.

At this point I didn't upgrade or remove Lucky! lvl 0 and have now 2 x Lucky in my deck.

Is my comprehension ok ?