No Rest for the Weary

By Bitterman, in Imperial Assault Campaign

So... by far the best Agenda card yet created, right?

For 1 influence I can move an Imperial every figure every time a hero rests. Then, if I want to for some reason, at the end of a mission, I can discard it.

What's the catch?

The only thing I can think of is that "at the end of any mission, discard this card" might mean that the card must be discarded after the first and only mission in which it is used (in which case it would still be pretty powerful, but not quite as ridiculous). But "any" implies there is a choice; it would surely say "the" mission, if that's what it meant. Every other time "any mission" is used it is clearly used to mean the Imperial player can choose which mission to apply it to, so if that's not the case here too, why use the same words?

A wording snafu. Any mission means any mission / a mission. As far as I know, you don't have a choice to discard it. You purchase it, and it is put into play, in use for the next mission, and discarded at the end of it.

(Choices are always explicitly specified.)

Why the sentence would even be there if you were not required to ever discard it?

Edited by a1bert

Any mission means any mission, and since you don't have a choice when to play the agenda card (otherwise it would say "keep this card secret..."), it means the next mission, i.e. the one following the purchase. They are saying any because sometimes agenda cards only affect side missions and "the mission" is not a vocabulary I have ever seen.

Major keywords for a choice are may and either. "You may blablabla" " Either discard this card, or shuffle it back"

Edited by ineversmile1789

A wording snafu. Any mission means any mission / a mission. As far as I know, you don't have a choice to discard it. You purchase it, and it is put into play, in use for the next mission, and discarded at the end of it.

(Choices are always explicitly specified.)

Why the sentence would even be there if you were not required to ever discard it?

My reading of it is that you do have the choice of whether to discard it after a mission. The sentence is there to allow you the option to discard it, presumably because of the new rule limiting you to four agenda cards.

Edit: So to clarify, I think you put it down immediately and it stays active until/unless you decide to get rid of it. As ineversmile pointed out, there's no "keep this card secret..." text, and it would be weird to have a card that had to be played the next mission.

Edited by ManateeX

My reading of it is that you do have the choice of whether to discard it after a mission. The sentence is there to allow you the option to discard it, presumably because of the new rule limiting you to four agenda cards.

You don't need an agenda card to tell you that you can discard it because the Jabba's Realm campaign already tells you to discard an agenda card of your choice whenever you have more than 4 between the play area and in hand. You can always buy more and discard the excess.

Also, other campaigns do not have the agenda card limit (except if house-ruled), so they don't need the line either.

I do know that the designers wanted to have cards that you purchase for only the next mission. This is such a card.

Edited by a1bert

My reading of it is that you do have the choice of whether to discard it after a mission. The sentence is there to allow you the option to discard it, presumably because of the new rule limiting you to four agenda cards.

You don't need an agenda card to tell you that you can discard it because the Jabba's Realm campaign already tells you to discard an agenda card of your choice whenever you have more than 4 between the play area and in hand. You can always buy more and discard the excess.

Also, other campaigns do not have the agenda card limit (except if house-ruled), so they don't need the line either.

I do know that the designers wanted to have cards that you purchase for only the next mission. This is such a card.

Hmmm.... I see your point. Reading it again, yes, you're probably right. The "any mission" is probably just there to (unnecessarily, IMO) clarify that it doesn't matter whether it's a side mission, forced mission, whatever.

Any mission means any mission, and since you don't have a choice when to play the agenda card (otherwise it would say "keep this card secret..."), it means the next mission, i.e. the one following the purchase.

OK, but other cards say "play this card during any mission". So you have to play those cards during the next mission, then? No-one has ever thought so before, so "any" doesn't necessarily mean "the next". Except that in this context, it seems like it must.

Besides "any mission means any mission" isn't useful, this isn't Brexit. I have three apples, and tell you you can have any of them. That doesn't mean you have the next apple... it means you choose which apple(s) you want. So "any mission" normally means you choose which mission. Except, it seems, it can't in this case.

Anyway. Question probably answered: on reflection it must surely be a one-mission-only card, otherwise it's way OP. I don't think the card does a very good job of stating that though.

It's still very powerful as it is - in the same deck there's a card that lets you interrupt to attack, exactly once, and that's double the cost. Movement is normally less influential than an attack but to do it every time the heroes rest is very useful!

Edited by Bitterman

Right, a lot of agendas are essentially one use cards - after a mission, they either go away completely, or need to be reshuffled into the deck and then purchased again to be used later. Generally only the 'deplete' cards stick around for multiple missions.

Any mission means any mission, and since you don't have a choice when to play the agenda card (otherwise it would say "keep this card secret..."), it means the next mission, i.e. the one following the purchase.

OK, but other cards say "play this card during any mission". So you have to play those cards during the next mission, then? No-one has ever thought so before, so "any" doesn't necessarily mean "the next". Except that in this context, it seems like it must.

Besides "any mission means any mission" isn't useful, this isn't Brexit. I have three apples, and tell you you can have any of them. That doesn't mean you have the next apple... it means you choose which apple(s) you want. So "any mission" normally means you choose which mission. Except, it seems, it can't in this case.

Anyway. Question probably answered: on reflection it must surely be a one-mission-only card, otherwise it's way OP. I don't think the card does a very good job of stating that though.

It's still very powerful as it is - in the same deck there's a card that lets you interrupt to attack, exactly once, and that's double the cost. Movement is normally less influential than an attack but to do it every time the heroes rest is very useful!

Being forced to use it immediately and then discard is what makes it cheaper, you can't save it for later, so you either buy it or hope it shows up again later.

Besides "any mission means any mission" isn't useful, this isn't Brexit. I have three apples, and tell you you can have any of them. That doesn't mean you have the next apple... it means you choose which apple(s) you want. So "any mission" normally means you choose which mission. Except, it seems, it can't in this case.

Let's say I say "when you buy any apple, pay 1$", then the next apple you buy (which is, in fact, any apple), you pay 1$. This is the same principle here, except instead of buying any apple, you play any mission, and instead of paying $, you discard the card.

The next mission you play, is the any mission. And after any mission, you discard the card.

Edited by ineversmile1789