Dual turbo laser question

By NairoD, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Hi

Have a question about DTL

http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/starwars-armada/images/8/84/Swm22-dual-turbolaser-turrets.png/revision/latest?cb=20161209220312

Card said add one die and remove one die

We remove dice afther roll. Is it possible to modify those added die or I roll this die afther all modification (for example ISD II with Leading shots spend blue to RR dice).

I will be very thankfull for answer. I'm on trip to my friend to play a game and want to know It

As long as you resolve the Upgrade Card in full, before moving onto your next Modification.

So you can:

Roll 3 Reds and a Blue.

Use DTT, to add a Red Die. Then choose a die to discard ...

Now, you may spend your Blue for Leading Shots, if you wish...

You cannot add the Red Die for DTT, then Pause, Go Do Something Else, and come back and Remove a Die .

Each effect must be done in full.

This even applies to the Liberty with DTT and QTC....

If you add a Red Die, get a Red ACC... You must discard a die before you can add another ACC due to QTC, and they will only do that if you still have an ACC in the pool after discarding a die.

Many thanks Dras, I own you one :)

I own you

Whoa dude, I know Dras has a special place in this community, but you can't just declare ownership of a person!

:P

Whoops ive been doing that wrong. I added the extra die to my initial roll.

Think i prefer this way better as ive had a couple times were all my dice hit and i still had to remove one :(

edit: errr by this way i mean Dras' way.

Edited by Vineheart01

Whoops ive been doing that wrong. I added the extra die to my initial roll.

Think i prefer this way better as ive had a couple times were all my dice hit and i still had to remove one :(

Before, you could kinda of do those sorts of things (Ackbar, etc) as part of it, and get away with it.

Now though, I constantly caution against it... There are so many effects that take place at odd times (Solar Corona, for one) that you need to be very specific with your die rolling, to be fair to your opponent...

Roll the Initial Pool (Battery Dice)

Then move onto the Modifications. One at a time. So Ackbar, 2 Reds... Dual Turbolaser, Add and then Remove... Remove a Blue to Reroll with Leading Shots... etc, etc, etc,

Ok, thats kinda good to know that rolling extra dice in Armada happens at the mod step. Im used to xwing where "rolling" additional dice gets added to your pool before you roll and adding results come during the mod step.

Ok, thats kinda good to know that rolling extra dice in Armada happens at the mod step. Im used to xwing where "rolling" additional dice gets added to your pool before you roll and adding results come during the mod step.

The only exception to this exists in 4 5 cards right now:

Enhanced Armament

Spinal Armament (Thanks SMDMadCow)

High Capacity Ion Turbines

Rapid Reload

Expanded Launchers

These cards change your battery armament , so they are rolled with your initial roll...

Only after that, modify dice effects are counted.

Again, this is important due to things like Obstruction and not having any dice at Range in certain circumstances, ending your attack :D

Edited by Drasnighta

Spinals add to battery also, yes?

Spinals add to battery also, yes?

Correct. I keep forgetting they exist.

Sorry to necro this thread but got a Q ref DTT: looking at the wording on the card, this seems to fall into a similar word category to external racks... and therefore could be used to add a red die to your anti squadron pool? Clearly not at red range unless you already have an anti squad red, but allows a red to added and whatever dice rolled removed from your pool?

Perfectly Permissable.

Roll a Blue, get an acc? Add DTT and fish for that Red Double...

Of course, it only aplies to one shot, being an Exhaust.

Cheers for confirming :)

Quick edit/ follow up: so on the timing, you could DTT for a red, add another red for concentrate fire and then use Leading Shots to spend a blue already in your pool to reroll your two fickle reds?

And a further edit! Say your attacking ship had two turbo laser slots (a lib or future ship), you could DTT, add concentrate fire AND THEN TRC one of the reds? (not saying this is cost effective, just ruminating...)

Edited by GammonLord
42 minutes ago, GammonLord said:

Cheers for confirming :)

Quick edit/ follow up: so on the timing, you could DTT for a red, add another red for concentrate fire and then use Leading Shots to spend a blue already in your pool to reroll your two fickle reds?

And a further edit! Say your attacking ship had two turbo laser slots (a lib or future ship), you could DTT, add concentrate fire AND THEN TRC one of the reds? (not saying this is cost effective, just ruminating...)

Timing answer:

DTT adds a Red and removes a dice.
Then Concentrate Fire adds a Red.
Then if you still have a Blue in your pool you can use Leading Shots to reroll both Reds.

So if you started with just 1 Blue in your pool, you wouldn't have any Blue dice left in the pool for Leading Shots:

Blue + Red - Blue = Red (DTT)
Red + Red = 2 Red (CF)

On 1/12/2017 at 3:09 PM, Drasnighta said:

As long as you resolve the Upgrade Card in full, before moving onto your next Modification.

Basically what Dras said.

46 minutes ago, GammonLord said:

Quick edit/ follow up: so on the timing, you could DTT for a red, add another red for concentrate fire and then use Leading Shots to spend a blue already in your pool to reroll your two fickle reds?

Yes, provided you remove a die from the pool immediately after rolling the DTT red. But if you were rolling two blues, you could add a red from DTT (dropping a blue), add another red from CF, then discard the second blue with Leading Shots to reroll the two reds.

46 minutes ago, GammonLord said:

And a further edit! Say your attacking ship had two turbo laser slots (a lib or future ship), you could DTT, add concentrate fire AND THEN TRC one of the reds? (not saying this is cost effective, just ruminating...)

Yes, of course. You can add, drop or change dice in any order, as long as it all happens within the Modify Dice step.

EDIT: Ninja'd...

Edited by DiabloAzul

And to answer your further edit:

Absolutely. As long as you still have dice in your pool, you can modify dice in whatever order you wish.