I've run into a movement issue that I hope you all can help me with.
Let's say an orc is fighting an elf, and is engagement range. The orc moves away, going from engagement to close, close to medium, and then spends one maneuver to move towards long distance, as per the FAQ. Now, let's say the elf takes a shot at him with an action card that has a maximum distance of medium.
What distance is the orc considered to be at?
Is he still at medium, even though he's halfway to long? Is he at long? You could say that since he hasn't reached long yet, he's at medium, but what if it was the other way around and he was approaching the elf, going from long to medium. Would he still be at long if he was halfway to medium? That wouldn't make any sense, given that if a character was at medium, and a character was at long, and both of them moved towards each other, they would still be in the exact same spot.
Hopefully that wasn't too confusing, but it is something I am wrestling with. I love the concept of the abstract system - it's what helps to sell me over other RPGs - but some situations do arise with using it.