Nemeses Deck

By Union, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Powerful Foes seems to trigger while deploying a villain but you can't deploy a villain you don't have enough threat for, so this card seems to only reduce the threat you end up spending, not the threat you need to have in the first place.

Fearsome Presence triggers at the end of your activation. When is that? Players don't have activations and the card isn't specific to a figure. Is this at the end of the Activation Phase or can this be used by any figure after it activates?

Powerful Foes : You deploy a figure, then you pay the threat cost according to the deployment cost. You can only deploy a group if you can pay the threat cost. The intent is to be able to deploy with the reduced cost. (There is no space on the card to be more specific about it.)

Fearsome Presence : When any figure you control ends their activation, you can exhaust Fearsome Presence. (Compare to "at the end of an activation", which means the end of any figure's activation.)

Hey, another question about a card from the Nemeses deck.

For "I'm on the Leader", how is the "healthy hero who has suffered the least damage" calculated? Say there are 3 heroes that have taken 0 damage. Do an/all qualify as the having taken the "least damage", or would there need to be just 1 un-damaged hero in order to qualify?

Fearsome Presence: Since the affected figures receive 1 strain per activation token, I'm guessing that allies do not receive any strain. Right?

Correct. Only heroes have activation tokens.

Prepare the ambush: When exhausting instead of activating, does it still count as an activation? So would for example Onar be able to use "Keep Up"?

Prepare the Ambush is exhausted instead of activating a group, so no group will activate.

Also, Keep Up triggers at the end of a figure activation, which isn't happening even if you would consider Prepare the Ambush to be a group activation.

If Onar didn't want to activate Keep Up at the end of the previous rebel figure's activation, he needs to wait until the next one.

Powerful foes & Leave them to me

I may be behind in this …

but it occurs to me that any villain that was added in an open group as well as the earned Villain/s could benefit from the threat discount.

Am I right?

1 minute ago, Marcus2410 said:

Powerful foes & Leave them to me

I may be behind in this …

but it occurs to me that any villain that was added in an open group as well as the earned Villain/s could benefit from the threat discount.

Am I right?

Yip, and the same villian can benefit from both discounts, you can bring in Vader pretty cheaply

The sentence structure is a little weird. You don't benefit from the threat discount if you don't have the villain in open groups.

However, an ability that refers to a villain is not restricted to the villains you earned with Powerful Foes. You can earn villains from agenda side missions and include also them in open groups, get to deploy villains in side missions using agenda cards (without even earning them) , or have the mission provide villains as reserved groups (also without earning them) .

Also, you can choose a villain as open group directly (taking one spot), so you can have two of them with just Powerful Foes. Or 3+ villains with Leave Them to Me.

The villains are there to buff the non-villains though, so you don't usually want to have more than two if you have chosen the villains properly for their traits.

Edited by a1bert

This will have an effect on the agenda decks I choose as winning some of the villains has been a hollow victory if the threat level is still rather low.

Winning Vader was cool but waiting 5-6 rounds to deploy him was untenable.

Edited by Marcus2410

Adding a villain to open groups: if your set up is "open groups - none" does that mean 0 +1 =1 open group?

OR

You just can't have open groups no matter how they get there?

I'm thinking the second but would love the first. Thoughts please.

0+1 is 1.

(You are adding 1 card to your hand of deployment cards. Although the hand is empty, you can add to it.)

Edited by a1bert

YESSS! Good to have confirmation on nefarious plans ... um, game mechanics.

Thanks!