Vinto Hreeda and Rapid Fire

By dancingplanet, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Just looking at Vinto Hreeda's Rapid Fire upgrade card and wondering if when he uses the reroll ability and chooses to reroll dice must all attack and defence dice be rerolled or just those that the player chooses? The wording is ambiguous.

"While attacking with a ranged weapon, you may reroll all attack and defence dice" - the 'all' part of that sentence is ambiguous.

I would interpret this as you can pick and choose which dice you can reroll. You are allowed to reroll all of them, you don't have to.

I would interpret this as you can pick and choose which dice you can reroll. You are allowed to reroll all of them, you don't have to.

It would then have said that you may reroll any. All means all of them. That's the risk of using it, the defense die might get a better result.

But if he uses rapid fire against an officer, the officer can't use Cower to reroll again?

But if he uses rapid fire against an officer, the officer can't use Cower to reroll again?

That is correct.

Each die may be rerolled only once per attack regardless of who is rerolling the die. - RRG, page 5

All means all. All dice that have not yet been rerolled during this attack are rerolled if Vinto decides to use the bottom ability of Rapid Fire.

There is less risk for him, because he might have Pinpoint Shot available.

Query; if a dice has already been rerolled can Vinto no longer use this ability?

Since the already rerolled dice cannot be rerolled, he can no longer select all to reroll?

Because there is no prerequisite, you can always select to reroll all dice, then you perform as much of the effect as you can. Dice that have already been rerolled during this attack are not rerolled.