Allied Neutral Units

By cadamec, in Runewars

Now that the rules are up, there is one area that I do not fully understand: how exactly do you use the allied neutral units in battles?

It seems that they go with other units that are of the same base type and allow you to have a second round at the same initiative level as the unit on the sheet that has the same base type.

Do they have to be placed at the same initiative level as a unit that is participating in the battle or can they be the only unit of that base type in that intitiative spot?

What about allying with neutral units that do not have a base shape for wich you have a unit. For example, the Daqan Lords have no circle base units. Does that mean that they cannot ally with circle based neutrals?

I cannot seem to find any specific mention of how these units are supposed to be assinged during battle. Anyone see where this is explained?

If you look at the chart of existing neutral units (fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/runewars/previews/preview4/runewars-neutral-monster-reference-sheet.png ), you will see that each type (sorcerer, razorwing, beastman, hellhound, dragon giant) has a ceratain initiative number written on the right side of the chart. so my guess would be, that you place allied neutral units on the right side of your race sheet according to their initiative number.

Nasigoreng, thanks for the reminder of that chart. I am surprised that the rules do not mention it, but I think you are correct. That makes sense.

The rules do mention it, on page 21: "Each player takes all of his units from the contested area and places them in the appropriate rows to the right of his faction sheet (matching the unit’s initiative – as printed on the faction or reference sheet )."