Striker Adaptive Ailerons and APL

By Waddlez, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I just wanted to confirm that when a TIE striker does his adaptive ailerons maneuver since it clearly states its a maneuver on the card. If that ship overlaps a ship with Anti-Pursuit Lazers it would activate the Anti-pursuit lazers would be activated

Also say someone has duchess and they have the choice to do adaptive ailerons or not. Once they make the decision to go ahead and do the adaptive ailerons maneuver they can't decidea nevermind and not do I once they realize they land on an asteroid or something else they don't want

Yes, if a Striker with Adaptive Ailerons bumps into a ship with APL, or Ion Projector, it suffers the effects of them, and it will suffer them again if its maneuver after Ailerons would also cause a bump.

Also yes, with Duchess, if someone decides to use Ailerons & lands in a position they don't like, nothing they can do about it.

Though, as long as the template hasn't been placed, players are allowed to change their minds.

I thought that once you've declared (verbally) that you are going to do an action, you are committed to performing said action (if possible).

Edited by Goseki1

I just wanted to confirm that when a TIE striker does his adaptive ailerons maneuver since it clearly states its a maneuver on the card. If that ship overlaps a ship with Anti-Pursuit Lazers it would activate the Anti-pursuit lazers would be activated

Something to remember is, if you overlap during the Adaptive Ailerons manoeuvre, you don't lose your Perform Action step. If the planned manoeuvre on your dial can get you clear of the overlap, you still get your action. You only skip your Perform Action step if you overlap during your planned manoeuvre.

Though, as long as the template hasn't been placed, players are allowed to change their minds.

Another thing to remember with Adaptive Ailerons, if you are not stressed, you must perform the manoeuvre. It's not a " you may " type of card. It's mandatory and governed by stress.

You don't get a choice, unless you're flying with Duchess .

Edited by Parravon

Thanks guys!

I thought that once you've declared (verbally) that you are going to do an action, you are committed to performing said action (if possible).

The tournament rules aren't super clear on what the point of no return is, but given how many people think out loud ("I'm going to Boost left.. wait no, straight.") then it seems needlessly punitive to adopt a verbal commitment model. Placing the template is when information is gained, so you definitely shouldn't be able to roll back at that point.

If you play in an environment where not everybody is on the same page with this stuff, check with your Judge (in a tournament) or your opponent (in a casual match) before play starts.

"Something to remember is, if you overlap during the Adaptive Ailerons manoeuvre, you don't lose your Perform Action step. If the planned manoeuvre on your dial can get you clear of the overlap, you still get your action. You only skip your Perform Action step if you overlap during your planned manoeuvre."

Can you notate where in the rules it says this? I've only been able to find the following when referring to overlapping ships.

OVERLAPPING SHIPS
A ship overlaps another ship when executing a maneuver if its base overlaps the other ship’s base. If this happens, move the moving ship backward along the template until it is no longer overlapping another ship. While doing so, adjust the facing of the ship so that the template remains centered between both sets of guides on the ship’s base. Once the ship is no longer overlapping another ship, place it so that it is touching the last ship it overlapped. The ship must skip its “Perform Action” step this round.

Since Adaptive Ailerons is being treated as a maneuver (much like Daredevil), wouldn't this occur in the same timing window "this round" as the Perform Action step, thus causing it to lose it's action this round?

It's not FAQ'd yet but in a video interview the devs said you don't lose your action and the precedent set by other ships/upgrades following an email rules clarification also indicate you won't lose your action.

For reference:

The question asked uses an example of Tycho with Daredevil getting an action from Lando.

The response was:

'A ship only skips its “Perform Action” step when it overlaps another ship during the “Execute Maneuver” step of the Activation phase. So Tyco would not skip his “Perform Action” step in your example.'

Edited by Goseki1

It's not FAQ'd yet but in a video interview the devs said you don't lose your action and the precedent set by other ships/upgrades following an email rules clarification also indicate you won't lose your action.

For reference:

The question asked uses an example of Tycho with Daredevil getting an action from Lando.

The response was:

'A ship only skips its “Perform Action” step when it overlaps another ship during the “Execute Maneuver” step of the Activation phase. So Tyco would not skip his “Perform Action” step in your example.'

Thanks!

Though, as long as the template hasn't been placed, players are allowed to change their minds.

Another thing to remember with Adaptive Ailerons, if you are not stressed, you must perform the manoeuvre. It's not a " you may " type of card. It's mandatory and governed by stress.

You don't get a choice, unless you're flying with Duchess .

Exactly. I was referring to a situation like saying left, decide that might not clear an obstacle, then go straight or right.

It also applies to actions in general I think. Although I think that as long as it is still your action phase you are not locked in (excepting a barrel roll or boost). I can say 'focus', and even place the token, only to ****** it right back up and say 'No, evade'. Once the turn has been passed though you are locked in.

I'm not sure about being able to pull a token off the table once you've placed it. That sounds slightly off, even though you're not actually gaining any information from it like you would with a template.

The Adaptive Ailerons manoeuvre should probably follow the same guidelines as a boost would, in that you should declare which way you're going before placing the template. The big difference is that you can't boost and overlap another ship or obstacle, and that can give you the option to change direction. Manoeuvres (like Adaptaive Ailerons) don't give you that luxury.