Planetary Ion Cannon - crits

By Crabbok, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Ran this last night. Basically you get to shoot an enemy ship with 4 blue dice from an ion cannon. It says the Ion Cannon has the following crit effect: "Defender chooses and exhausts a defense token".

My question is : Can the ion cannon also elect to do the default crit? Perhaps I'm running dodonna and would rather see a face up damage? Perhaps they have no defense tokens left. Or is this special attack restricted to only being able to do this defense token crit.

I ASSUME you always have the choice of using the default crit as well, but this isn't an attack from a ship, so I figured I'd see what you guys think.

Edited by Crabbok

Critical Effects

A critical effect, denoted by the “E:” header, can resolve if there is at least one E icon in the attack pool.

• The attacker can resolve only one critical effect per attack.

• The attacker does not spend a die icon to resolve a critical effect unless the effect says otherwise.

• Critical effects resolve at the beginning of the “Resolve Damage” step of an attack.

• The standard critical effect is “E: If the defender is dealt at least one damage card by this attack, deal the first damage card faceup.”

• Squadrons cannot resolve or suffer critical effects unless otherwise specified.

At no stage does the attacker need to be a ship to access the Standard, Default Critical Effect.

You must simply be an attacker . And then furthermore, not an exempted Squadron.

Default Away, if you Wish.

The attack is treated as being from a ship so yes.

Critical Effects

A critical effect, denoted by the “E:” header, can resolve if there is at least one E icon in the attack pool.

• The attacker can resolve only one critical effect per attack.

• The attacker does not spend a die icon to resolve a critical effect unless the effect says otherwise.

• Critical effects resolve at the beginning of the “Resolve Damage” step of an attack.

• The standard critical effect is “E: If the defender is dealt at least one damage card by this attack, deal the first damage card faceup.”

• Squadrons cannot resolve or suffer critical effects unless otherwise specified.

At no stage does the attacker need to be a ship to access the Standard, Default Critical Effect.

You must simply be an attacker . And then furthermore, not an exempted Squadron.

Default Away, if you Wish.

Now I have to go back and reread the card, but I was under the impression that you could not do the default effect because of

"• The standard critical effect is “E: If the defender is dealt at least one damage card by this attack, deal the first damage card faceup.”

It was my understanding that you could exhausts a defense token, but did not do damage and if you do not do damage you can not do a standard crit. But like I said I have to back and reread the card to see if it says what I remember it saying or if it is my mind thinking it is saying what I think it should say (Ion cannons do no damage in Star Wars as far as I understand). So it may be a issue of my limited understanding of fluff getting in the way.

Fluff is not a Basis for Rules in this point....

It is an Attack

Which means you follow the steps of the Attack.

It doesn't tell you to stop doing the attack at the Critical Damage Sub-Step (which is the Damage step).

Ergo, you must complete the attack - which includes calculating the amount of "HIT" and "CRIT" Symbols you have, and dealing those damage points one at a time...

A Hint towards that is the fact that it tells you it can target any Hull Zone.

if all you were doing was removing a defense token - Which Hull Zone you are targeting is Irrelevant, and the Card would be written more akin to Cluster Bombs ... Where it is not an Attack, and therefore, doesn't generate critical hits.

Thanks for setting me straight. I thought you could do the normal crit but always good to get a second opinion. I'm getting old now so I find I have brain farts more often than I'd like.

I know the feeling... I've been making so many mistakes and errors, even with basic judgement calls recently, that I just don't know what to do anymore.

Which leads to the question: Why would anyone ever chose anything else than Planetary Ion Cannon (or Fighter Ambush) as a yellow objective :P

Am I missing something, or is Planetary Ion Cannon the base defense objective identical to Planetary Ion Cannon the regular objective? Base defense is usually better than a standard objective, but if any fleet can have PIC all the time, why included it as a base defense?

The base defense one doesn't remove the token when you take a shot, so you can use it multiple times.

The yellow objective one is junk; the base defense one might be usable sometimes.

Running a squad with strategic is a must for both the yellow and green versions of this objective, 12 - 24 extra blue dice smacking your opponent is awesome.

Pretty sure the card says something to the effect that admirals and other ships can not effect the dice. So no rerolls from toryn farr, no forced reroll by the dictor. And such

So no dodonna searching for best crit card.

Pretty sure the card says something to the effect that admirals and other ships can not effect the dice. So no rerolls from toryn farr, no forced reroll by the dictor. And such

So no dodonna searching for best crit card.

would

Dodonna, though, affects any faceup card dealt to your opponent--asteroids, mines, or Ion Cannon crits, doesn't matter.

I like to think of Dodonna as a doddering old fool who just gets really lucky while chaos erupts around him.

He's shuffling down to the kitchen for breakfast in his robe and slippers when cat runs in front of him and kicks the golf ball he was about to trip on.

A tree falls on the neighbor's car, exploding their radiator and watering his azaleas with the runoff.

He fills his coffee maker but sits down to read his newspaper without turning it on, then a line repairman gets electrocuted across town, causing a brownout which kicks the coffeepot on for him.

An ISD charges through an asteroid field after him and happens to take a direct hit to the shield generator 5 seconds in.

Edited by Ardaedhel

Dodonna as a mashup of Dr. Farnsworth and Mr. Magoo. Love it.

Dodonna as a mashup of Dr. Farnsworth and Mr. Magoo. Love it.

Couldn't put my finger on it, but that's exactly what I was picturing.

On 1/6/2017 at 2:00 AM, Ardaedhel said:

I like to think of Dodonna as a doddering old fool who just gets really lucky while chaos erupts around him.

Talk about a perspective shift. My view will always be different now while choosing which **** he accidentally bumbled the enemy into.

On 29.12.2016 at 5:19 PM, Crabbok said:

Ran this last night. Basically you get to shoot an enemy ship with 4 blue dice from an ion cannon. It says the Ion Cannon has the following crit effect: "Defender chooses and exhausts a defense token".

My question is : Can the ion cannon also elect to do the default crit? Perhaps I'm running dodonna and would rather see a face up damage? Perhaps they have no defense tokens left. Or is this special attack restricted to only being able to do this defense token crit.

I ASSUME you always have the choice of using the default crit as well, but this isn't an attack from a ship, so I figured I'd see what you guys think.

Your assumption is sound.

It's also supported by the FAQ, page 9.

And Donny totally applies.

****, he even applies to THE ENTIRE TABLE in a CC final assault.

How troll is that for 20 pts!? :D