Doom Divers - 1 dev , or 1 from each?

By goober, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Doom Divers: Forced: After your turn begins , each player must either sacrifice a development or deal 1 damage to each section of his capitol.

So , if he chooses the development option , is it 1 development from each section of his capitol , or just one development?

[sacrifice a development] or [deal 1 damage] to each section

[sacrifice a development] or [deal 1 damage to each section]

It came up in play today , and I would have otherwise thought that it was a single development , but the spirit of the card (???) would seem to be indifferent whether one chose one from each , or one damage to each.

I could certainly argue it doesn't say FROM.

[sacrifice a development] or [deal 1 damage to each section] is right.