If hero unequips cursed item and then reequips it do they recieve another curse token?
If the Overlord plays crushing blow on a cursed item does the curse token get removed also?
If hero unequips cursed item and then reequips it do they recieve another curse token?
If the Overlord plays crushing blow on a cursed item does the curse token get removed also?
The hero gets a curse token everytime he equips the item. So yes, they can collect multiple tokens if they equip & unequip multiple times.
The curse tokens go away when the hero is killed or they use an item to remove an effect token (like the Curse Doll). So no, it the item is crushed, the token(s) stay.
Thanks
Other issue, on page 7 of the Altar of Despair rulebook.
Some items possess great power, but come at a price.
These items have the Cursed trait. Any time a hero
equips a cursed item, he receives one curse token. In
addition, if the hero is killed, he must immediately either
discard or re-equip any cursed items he had equipped
when he died. He receives one curse token for each
cursed item that he re-equips, to replace the curse tokens
that were removed when he died (see Curse on page 8
for more information).
Looks like if you had a curse token removed via a curse doll you would have to discard the cursed item or immediately revcieve a new curse token.
That's not true. Reread what you quoted there. It specifically states that you only "discard" after you are killed. There is no mention about doing anything special if somehow you remove your curse tokens through other means (i.e. the cursed doll). So if you use the doll, the curse tokens go away, and you can keep using the item uncursed until you die. Once you die, you have to decide, "Am I going to use this weapon and be cursed again? Or discard it and not be cursed anymore?"
Which does bring up an interesting twist my heroes have not been doing, on death, you either equip it or discard it, NOT put it in your backpack. A lot of times, my heroes have been putting it in their backpack until later, and at that point receiving the cursed token. It's a minor quibble, but if we want to stay true to the rules...
-shnar
shnar said:
That's not true. Reread what you quoted there. It specifically states that you only "discard" after you are killed. There is no mention about doing anything special if somehow you remove your curse tokens through other means (i.e. the cursed doll). So if you use the doll, the curse tokens go away, and you can keep using the item uncursed until you die. Once you die, you have to decide, "Am I going to use this weapon and be cursed again? Or discard it and not be cursed anymore?"
+1
The quoted passage only talks about what happens when a hero dies, it doesn't mention curse dolls at all.
If you use the curse doll to remove the effect token, the curse token does not return until you either remove and re-equip the item or when your hero dies and re-equips the weapon.