Reversals as Reacts

By player1952077, in UFS Rules Q & A

I have to check since I am confused as to what the rulings on reversals are. I know they are considered reacts, and as far as I know it's a keyword ability that can only be activated after you have blocked an attack or have another effect that lets you play an attack as reversal. The problem I have is, I was playing against someone who was using Basara. R: Discard 1 Momentum, when your opponent plays a response ability, cancel it's effects. I have no problems with that stopping an attack when I actually reversal, but I was told that it can be used as long as the card has reversal on it because it always activates. I played Stardust drop on my turn as a normal form, and was told he can negate it because it has reversal on it, even though by the rules I could not play it as one. Is that the correct ruling? If so, does that mean I can play "as a reversal" effects since they are considered a reversal to be negated, so it should for triggers on that fact? Thanks in advance anyone for their time/help on this.

If you play an attack as a form (not as a reversal) then you are not using the React and it can't be canceled by Basara.

Note also that if reversal is canceled you never get to the point where you have actually played the card so it is not discarded from your hand.

Also, if you had a different reversal card in your hand you could react to reversal with it after he cancels your reversal.

aslum said:

Also, if you had a different reversal card in your hand you could react to reversal with it after he cancels your reversal.

But if you cancel the responses effects, with is playing a reversal, you can only try to play a reversal since there is only one trigger that was to block an attack. You would have to block another to try to play another block. Or am i wrong?

Masterom2000: Everything Aslum said is correct, but to directly answer your question-- no, this Basara player cited an incorrect "ruling." Reversal is NOT an active effect; instead, you must activate it yourself. It is an illegal play to negate your Stardust Drop played as a Form with Basara's response. As for your second question, you can only play a "played as a reversal" effect on a card that is played using the Reversal keyword.

Malk: Here's the detailed version of playing abilities, which includes playing Reversals because when you strip away the keyword they are just like any other effect.

Without me actually looking at the TR, Reversal is a response to you having played a block. That's the actual trigger for Reversal. Now for every effect that is "played", which only means that its costs have been paid without actually resolving the effect portion, both players have an opportunity to respond to it. Also, if a player does play a reponse, that ability goes through the same process of responses and then the effect portion resolves; then, their opponent has the option to respond (or pass responses) to that same window. Because the first player has played a response to an ability, they get another opportunity to play another response to that same trigger event , and their opponent also gets the option to respond (or pass) to that trigger window again . This back-and-forth process keeps on going until both players pass consecutively .

The point of that is to explain that after you respond to playing a card as a block (with perhaps a "reversal" response), your opponent also gets the opportunity to play a response whose trigger matches the current trigger event (note that you can only reverse off of your own blocks, but you can respond with other effects such as either of Yoga Adept's effects). Because you responded to having played a block, even if that response gets negated, you have paid for that response (even though reversals are costless) and may respond again to that same trigger event after your opponent responds or passes a response to that same event. Therefore, you get another opportunity to play a (different) card with the Reversal keyword if your inital reversal response is negated. It should be noted, again without looking at the TR, that you are normally limitted to one reversal per block.

ctr2yellowbird said:

Because you responded to having played a block, even if that response gets negated, you have paid for that response (even though reversals are costless) and may respond again to that same trigger event after your opponent responds or passes a response to that same event. Therefore, you get another opportunity to play a (different) card with the Reversal keyword if your inital reversal response is negated. It should be noted, again without looking at the TR, that you are normally limitted to one reversal per block.

So i'm only limited to the differente number of reversals in my hand? So let's say i have 3 reversals in my hand i can try to reverse 3 times?

ctr2yellowbird said:

Without me actually looking at the TR, Reversal is a response to you having played a block. That's the actual trigger for Reversal. Now for every effect that is "played", which only means that its costs have been paid without actually resolving the effect portion, both players have an opportunity to respond to it. Also, if a player does play a reponse, that ability goes through the same process of responses and then the effect portion resolves; then, their opponent has the option to respond (or pass responses) to that same window. Because the first player has played a response to an ability, they get another opportunity to play another response to that same trigger event , and their opponent also gets the option to respond (or pass) to that trigger window again . This back-and-forth process keeps on going until both players pass consecutively .

i don't THINK this is correct....i think you are thinking of "E's".

With a React the window happens and i THINK you are only allowed to PLAY a reversal once....not sure if its a line in the TR or what the direct cause is...but something tells me you can only PLAY a reversal once.

This means if you fail the check, or even if you are successful, you cannot attempt another reversal.

Now...the tricky part is that if your response is negated, then it is never "played".

I can't remember why..but i thought it worked like this; If your reversal gets negated, you can attempt to reversal with a different card.

He's right about the normal process for responses. It's back and forth until both players pass in succession.

the important detail with Reversal is the restriction - "You may only attempt to reverse once per attack." Attempt to reverse means trying to play a card (making control check, etc.), and if the keyword ability gets negated, there is no restriction on trying to play the Reversal ability again from a different source (note that you cannot simply try again with the same card because responses are only playable once per copy per trigger).

An easier way of looking at a scenario like this is too consider R's on foundations and assets. Example: Your opponent draws cards due to their card ability and you respond with Rat Chaser. If you opponent negates it with a card such as Addies Syndicate your first R is negated. However, if you have a second Rat Chaser out, then you can respond again to the original trigger (opponent drawing cards) and still draw extra cards. As long as the original condition hasn't passed your free to play R's.

Demuth's Sponsorship is another example. After you completly block an attack and use it's R, you cannot use another copy of the card. But if your first copy is negated then you can use a use a second copy of the R. Ahh, hopefully not too confusing.

No, that's wrong. If Demuth's gets negated, you still played it, so the restriction will still prevent you from playing another copy of it off the same attack.

Since you played Demuth's (which the cost is just commit), If the effect is canceled you have already played it, so you can't play it again.

So the text " Playable only once per ( turn/game )," would have the same restriction like cards such as Demuth's which say " Play only one copy of this ability per (triggered ability name)"? Checking to see if they mean the same thing.

Yes. By only playable once per turn or game, if the effect is canceled, the ability is already played, so you cannot play that ability again in the actual turn or actual game.

lol, Thank you very much everyone, seems I asked a good question since there were tons of different outakes on it. Now we are all on the same page!!