Rapid Launch Bays: Can fighters placed in this way attack?

By WWPDSteven, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

13 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

Also Remember that FFG are not perfect - "Attack" vs "Attack" being two different things, but the same word....... You can't get caught on the wording above all else , or you end up with Piles and Piles of unneccessary FAQs.

Excellent point. At this point I don't want to get bogged down in minutae of which way it should be or what the card says. I just want to know what process I use to resolve it. I don't particularly care which it is. I just wanted one to be picked and don't really think the FAQ did that.

26 minutes ago, Lyraeus said:

So are you telling me if an ISD uses its 4 activations it can place a squadron, then activate 3 other squadrons then go back and activate that first squadron ?

No cause the activation of the first squadron comes immediately after the squadron is placed.

43 minutes ago, Lyraeus said:

Why does it not say in the FAQ "and may activate the Squadron as part of this effect"?

Why does it not say in the RLB text "before you activate a squadron you may place a set aside squadron instead. The squadron placed that way cannot move during the activation"?

3 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

No cause the activation of the first squadron comes immediately after the squadron is placed.

Where does it state that? It is still part of what the rules consider the Squadron Command.

Squadron: Resolve after revealing the ship’s command dial.

◊Dial: Activate a number of friendly squadrons up to the ship’s squadron value that are at close–medium range of the ship.

You just created your own interpretation of the rules itself.

The Faq states that you can activate that squadron as part of that Squadron Command. That means at any point during that Command you can do that.

See the issue? Now we need a timing chart for the Squadron Command becuase of this, becuase they couldn't Eratta the card to say that you can activate the squadron as part of the effect.

2 hours ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Repair Crews.

Good catch.

---

OK, I had a huge 6 or 8 reply message here, and then my browser hiccoughed, and I lost it. I'm not gonna type it all up again tonight, and frankly, you are all probably happier that way.

I stand by my interpretation, but I'm putting some serious thought into the "Team 90% Orange" Interpretation.

Welp... sent in the question. Again. In extensive detail.

We'll see if I get a comprehensible answer.

6 hours ago, Lyraeus said:

So you ignore the whole "instead of" part.

No he isn't.

There is a new timing put into effect.

Before the actual activating of the squadrons - all that you would place- are placed. That's the instead part-placement of squadrons instead of activating squadrons on the board.

Then after they are placed, per the faq, you can activate each placed squadron, 1 at a time.

6 hours ago, Lyraeus said:

Remember the Command is the WHOLE squadron command not just the single instance. You only ever get 1 Squadron command a turn.

So instead of Activating a squadron I am placing a squadron .

If you are placing and activating where does the "instead of" ever come into effect? Sure the pedantic split second before activation but really?

The "instead of" comes into play when you decide not to activate squadrons already on the board with that command.

That's the instead of part.

I could activate those 4 squadrons close to medium range using this squadron command.

Or

Instead of activating those squadrons on the board like the normal use of the command let's me do, I can instead, place these 4 squadrons sitting on my rlb card. As part of the same command, I can now activate those newly placed squadrons (they all had to be placed before I activated them) 1 at a time.

8 hours ago, Fraggle_Rock said:

Can you activate other squadrons beyond the ones "placed" (ie. Launched from the ship in question)?
I think the answer to this is yes, but I can be swayed to no on this one.

Comments?

I would say yes, provided you still had squadron value available to activate those other squadrons.

So if I have 4 squadrons on an rlb card (squadron value 4 ship) but decide to drop 2 of those 4. I can activate and shoot with those 2 and then activate 2 other squadrons on the board.

This still let's me only activate 4 squadrons with 2 of the 4 not being able to move.

8 hours ago, Lyraeus said:

Where does it state that? It is still part of what the rules consider the Squadron Command.

When a ship with this card equipped resolves a O command, it can place its set aside squadrons up to the number it would activate during that O command. After the squadrons
are place
d, they can be activated (one at a time) as part of that O command, but cannot move.

18 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

When a ship with this card equipped resolves a O command, it can place its set aside squadrons up to the number it would activate during that O command. After the squadrons
are place
d, they can be activated (one at a time) as part of that O command, but cannot move.

The next part clarifies that it is Part of the same Squadron command not the effect of the card. Since it is apart of the same squadron command you have to follow the Activation rules for the Squadron Command. Thus you actually have to use the remaining Activations left to the ship to activate the squadrons.

17 minutes ago, Lyraeus said:

The next part clarifies that it is Part of the same Squadron command not the effect of the card. Since it is apart of the same squadron command you have to follow the Activation rules for the Squadron Command. Thus you actually have to use the remaining Activations left to the ship to activate the squadrons.

This is a way yoo see "as part of that command resolution". I already said I understand it. I already say too that I think it is an added effect by RLB.

4 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

This is a way yoo see "as part of that command resolution". I already said I understand it. I already say too that I think it is an added effect by RLB.

Which is incorrect. They did not Errata the card. They clarified it. No where did it get added stating that you can now also activate those squadrons as part of this effect.

Instead they said, you can activate these as part of this Squadron Command.

Remember Rapid Launch Bay let's you modify the Squadron Command for as long as you spend squadron activations to use it. After that you have to spend Squadron Activations like normal to activate squadrons like the Squadron Command states.

11 hours ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Totally agree. Just don't forget for each what allow us to choose RLB or not for each squadron not for the entire pack.

Don't exaggerate yet. We added just one page.

3 here, 10 over there, and 5 in the next post, ...

It is summing up ;)

1nowi6.jpg

PS: Lyr, I appreciate the effort, and I dont mean offense, but you sound childish and obstinate: I can barely tolerate your posts at times.

18 minutes ago, DUR said:

PS: Lyr, I appreciate the effort, and I dont mean offense, but you sound childish and obstinate: I can barely tolerate your posts at times.

Is that his fault, or are you also at fault? Sounds like your intolerant to me.

Dont start fights for no reason.

This is how the card works:

1. Place X squadrons.

2. Activate any number of the squadrons you just placed, if you wish, one at a time.

It's really that simple.

2 minutes ago, Warlord Zepnick said:

This is how the card works:

1. Place X squadrons.

2. Activate any number of the squadrons you just placed, if you wish, one at a time.

It's really that simple.

I think it's as Lyr explained:

X = Your squadron value

Y = The number of squadrons you place

When you use RLB, you may place up to X squadrons on the board which will give you your Y value

Then, the number of squadrons you can activate with the same squad command = X-Y

So if you placed 3 squadrons out of a value of 4, you can activate 1, for example

7 minutes ago, Sybreed said:

I think it's as Lyr explained:

X = Your squadron value

Y = The number of squadrons you place

When you use RLB, you may place up to X squadrons on the board which will give you your Y value

Then, the number of squadrons you can activate with the same squad command = X-Y

So if you placed 3 squadrons out of a value of 4, you can activate 1, for example

Respectfully I don't believe that is the case--

If you placed 3 squadrons out of 4, you can activate 3.

If you placed 1 out of 4, you can activate 1.

And so forth.

I'm not sure how we can justify your example using the rules and FAQ as written.

Edited by Warlord Zepnick
13 minutes ago, Warlord Zepnick said:

Respectfully I don't believe that is the case--

If you placed 3 squadrons out of 4, you can activate 3.

If you placed 1 out of 4, you can activate 1.

And so forth.

I'm not sure how we can justify your example using the rules and FAQ as written.

It's the use of the word "instead" in the original card text that justifies my PoV. It implies that instead of activating a squad through the squadron command, you place one through RLB, therefore you "lose" the activation value for the remainder of the command as explained in my earlier post. The reasonning behind this is that the card text still applies, and the FAQ not being an errata, means it still takes precedence.

edit: " For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation."

You may instead, means instead of activating a squad, you place it down. It's still not activated, but can be through the use of squadron commands. it cannot move this activation though.

Edited by Sybreed
6 minutes ago, Sybreed said:

It's the use of the word "instead" in the original card text that justifies my PoV. It implies that instead of activating a squad through the squadron command, you place one through RLB, therefore you "lose" the activation value for the remainder of the command as explained in my earlier post. The reasonning behind this is that the card text still applies, and the FAQ not being an errata, means it still takes precedence.

edit: " For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation."

You may instead, means instead of activating a squad, you place it down. It's still not activated, but can be through the use of squadron commands. it cannot move this activation though.

"It cannot move this activation."

So the card itself implies that the squadron is activating as part of the RLB deployment. Therefore, the placement and activation are bundled into one.

4 minutes ago, Warlord Zepnick said:

"It cannot move this activation."

So the card itself implies that the squadron is activating as part of the RLB deployment. Therefore, the placement and activation are bundled into one.

That's where I think you misread the card. All it does it tell us that the squadron placed that way cannot move if it's activated. It's not implying that it's activating as you place it down.

10 minutes ago, Warlord Zepnick said:

"It cannot move this activation."

So the card itself implies that the squadron is activating as part of the RLB deployment. Therefore, the placement and activation are bundled into one.

"It cannot move this [ship] activation"

Activation does not imply it is getting activated. The FAQ furthers this, since they say the lack of movement is lasting for the entire command (clearly exceeding the length of time it would take if they meant it to reference [squadron] activation)

10 minutes ago, Sybreed said:

That's where I think you misread the card. All it does it tell us that the squadron placed that way cannot move if it's activated. It's not implying that it's activating as you place it down.

I think I am starting to see your position more clearly.

The card also says for each squadron "you would activate...you may instead place one."

What this means is that a placement is not an activation and so you do not need to spend or deplete your squadron value by the mere act of placing the squad.

So RLB allows you to first place the squads, and then your squadron value dictates how many you can store and activate.

Edited by Warlord Zepnick

120 days for a FAQ. The discussion is still going on, and the arguments are the same as we had at the beginning.

This is what i call a fail FAQ ruling ;)

Just now, Warlord Zepnick said:

What this means is that a placement is not an activation and so you do not need to spend or deplete your squadron value by the mere act of placing the squad.

that precise sentence is what people have been arguing since yesterday. The FAQ has done nothing really to help us in that regard. One group thinks placing the squads deplete your squadron value, the other group thinks it's the opposite.