Rapid Launch Bays: Can fighters placed in this way attack?

By WWPDSteven, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

51 minutes ago, xanderf said:

I think people are just forgetting the exact wording on this.

The card (not replaced - it was in the 'clarification' section of the FAQ not the errata section) and relevant text:

pic3519687_lg.png

The things people are missing, here are:

  • It's an 'instead of', meaning it uses up one of your activations, but is not itself an activation (per se)
  • The FAQ text very clearly states that you get an optional activation of each of these squadrons (without movement) AS PART OF the same action

So the upgrade card is just adding another use for squadron command. You end up with a choice, as to how to use your squadron points, of either:

  • Activate that number of squadrons on the table, as normal, moving or shooting in any order you want
  • Or you can place that number of squadrons from your ship card and optionally activate them, without movement in that activation

Totally agree. Just don't forget for each what allow us to choose RLB or not for each squadron not for the entire pack.

20 minutes ago, Tokra said:

So we got the FAQ to clear the eternal question, and we have again 20 pages about RLB?

What does it tell us? Maybe the ruling was not this smart after all.
It seems we need a FAQ for the FAQ ;)

Don't exaggerate yet. We added just one page.

Does not say Optional activation.

So let's go through it step by step.

I activate a ship with a squadron command. Using the dial I get 2 activations. The first I use to Place a squadron instead of Activating it. The second I use to Activate the Squadron since it is a part of the same command.

That is the way some are interpreting it and the way it is worded can go that way VERY easily.

What I read is:

I resolve a squadron command. I would activate 2 but for the first one I choose to place and activate it as part of the same command. For the second one I choose activate a squadron at medium range.

It can go this way very easily too I think.

@Drasnighta we need new terms for the new interpretations :D

7 minutes ago, Fraggle_Rock said:

So the upgrade card is just adding another use for squadron command. You end up with a choice, as to how to use your squadron points,

While I can see this interpretation, and, as I said, it's a telling argument, I'm not sure I like it. Are there any other examples of a card completely removing the normal operation of a command, and replacing it with something different? This could be the first, but I'm made uncomfortable by the idea.

Also, it's nit-picking, but it's important to note that there is no such thing as "squadron points," as you are using the phrase. I was using the phrase "squadron activations that I am entitled to," but it's sort of clunky. I'm happy enough thinking of "squadron value->squadron points" the same way "engineering value->engineering points," as a shorthand for this discussion, but, strictly speaking, it's not accurate.

6 minutes ago, Lyraeus said:

That is the way some are interpreting it and the way it is worded can go that way VERY easily.

No it isn't. No one is interpreting it this way, at least not where I can see it. That was Team Purple, and, while I was an ardent member, Team Purple is dead.

As the new champion of Team Oranple Alpha, I'm saying that for a squadron value of X, you are permitted X launches, and X activations. If you activate a launched squadron, it can't move.

4 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

No it isn't. No one is interpreting it this way, at least not where I can see it. That was Team Purple, and, while I was an ardent member, Team Purple is dead.

As the new champion of Team Oranple Alpha, I'm saying that for a squadron value of X, you are permitted X launches, and X activations. If you activate a launched squadron, it can't move.

that's pretty much how I see it as well

1 minute ago, JgzMan said:

No it isn't. No one is interpreting it this way, at least not where I can see it. That was Team Purple, and, while I was an ardent member, Team Purple is dead.

As the new champion of Team Oranple Alpha, I'm saying that for a squadron value of X, you are permitted X launches, and X activations. If you activate a launched squadron, it can't move.

Team Purple is still very alive, as Ovinomanc3r pointed out: instead can be referring to the activation itself, not the entire command.

after the squadrons are placed, they can be activated with this O command.

This is the same wording as Boosted comms: you can activate friendly squadrons at close-long range.

Neither of these wording let you activate a squadron that you don't have "squadron points" for, and if you don't have any left over after placing all of your squads, you CANNOT activate any of them.

Seems like people are really hoping the card is more powerful than it really is, and interpreting it falsely.

Really just seems to me that the upgrade card lets you - for each of your points of squadron activations, instead of activating a nearby squadron normally - take one of the squadrons previously stored in the ship, and plunk it down on the table, and then attack with it if that placement put it in either snipe or engagement range. It's "launching" into position was it's movement, so no normal movement.

Edited by AegisGrimm

or are you saying that boosted comms let me activate every squad at close-long range, regardless of squadron value?

5 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

No it isn't. No one is interpreting it this way, at least not where I can see it. That was Team Purple, and, while I was an ardent member, Team Purple is dead.

As the new champion of Team Oranple Alpha, I'm saying that for a squadron value of X, you are permitted X launches, and X activations. If you activate a launched squadron, it can't move.

So you ignore the whole "instead of" part.

5 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

No it isn't. No one is interpreting it this way, at least not where I can see it. That was Team Purple, and, while I was an ardent member, Team Purple is dead.

As the new champion of Team Oranple Alpha, I'm saying that for a squadron value of X, you are permitted X launches, and X activations. If you activate a launched squadron, it can't move.

I agree that the graphic posted and most of the ways we've been looking at this suggest that teamPurple is NOT the way to resolve it. I think the FAQ does at least do that.

9 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

Are there any other examples of a card completely removing the normal operation of a command, and replacing it with something different? This could be the first, but I'm made uncomfortable by the idea.

Repair Crews.

1 minute ago, AegisGrimm said:

Seems like people are really hoping the card is more powerful than it really is, and interpreting it falsely.

Really just seems to me that the upgrade card lets you, for each of your points of squadron activations, instead of activating a nearby squadron normally, take one of the ones previously stored in the ship, and plunk it down on the table, and then attack with it if that placement put it in either snipe or engagement range.

no, the upgrade card stops after the "plunk it down on the table" part of your description. You don't get to attack with it. You would need to use another squad point to do this.

2 minutes ago, Frimmel said:

I agree that the graphic posted and most of the ways we've been looking at this suggest that teamPurple is NOT the way to resolve it. I think the FAQ does at least do that.

So let me get this straight... You are "instead of Activating" you are placing and then Activating. Where does the Instead of come in? Why is there a replacement? Why does it not say in the FAQ "and my activate the Squadron as part of this effect"?

So a ship with a squad value of two would be able to launch a single squad and then fire with that single squad? That seems really "meh".

Edited by AegisGrimm
4 minutes ago, thecolourred said:

no, the upgrade card stops after the "plunk it down on the table" part of your description. You don't get to attack with it. You would need to use another squad point to do this.

I agree with you about everything but the last sentence. :D

1 minute ago, AegisGrimm said:

So a ship with a squad value of two would be able to launch a single squad and then fire with that single squad?

That is currently one interpretation.

Just now, Lyraeus said:

So let me get this straight... You are "instead of Activating" you are placing and then Activating. Where does the Instead of come in? Why is there a replacement? Why does it not say in the FAQ "and my activate the Squadron as part of this effect"?

That's the problem with the FAQ. It isn't clear. What I am certain the FAQ says (maybe I'm wrong) is that you do not need four squadron activations to place and shoot with two squadrons. That's teamPurple isn't it?

1 minute ago, AegisGrimm said:

So a ship with a squad value of two would be able to launch a single squad and then fire with that single squad?

I am not interpreting that as such. That is the teamPurple reading of RLB. I think the FAQ while unclear rules out teamPurple. TeamOrange might still be it, and it might be some compromise or third way of the two (what we're referring to as TeamOranple with its own two interpretations.)

Seems really "meh" that way, considering all the other limitations, like Range 1 placement, etc.

I would assume you place as many with the card as your squad value, and then one by one activate them, doing everything each can do as an activation, excepting a move.

Edited by AegisGrimm

My interpretation:

Reveal a squad command. Instead of activating a squad normally, I get to place 1 squad sitting on RLB. I can choose to activate that squad now, or use a different ship to activate it. Either way, it require 1 squadron point.

If you disagree, well... I don't really care to argue. I already did my time in this thread.

21 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

@Drasnighta we need new terms for the new interpretations :D

Considering two three private messages I've recently got on this.

... You don't want me commenting right now...

Edited by Drasnighta
4 minutes ago, Lyraeus said:

So let me get this straight... You are "instead of Activating" you are placing and then Activating. Where does the Instead of come in? Why is there a replacement? Why does it not say in the FAQ "and my activate the Squadron as part of this effect"?

Well it says as part of this command resolution. Not with this command. I see it as an added effect but I understand your point.

4 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Well it says as part of this command resolution. Not with this command. I see it as an added effect but I understand your point.

Remember the Command is the WHOLE squadron command not just the single instance. You only ever get 1 Squadron command a turn.

So instead of Activating a squadron I am placing a squadron .

If you are placing and activating where does the "instead of" ever come into effect? Sure the pedantic split second before activation but really?

So are you telling me if an ISD uses its 4 activations it can place a squadron, then activate 3 other squadrons then go back and activate that first squadron?

Lets say Jendon. Can I toss Jendon out of the hanger, then activate Steele the activate Jendon to let Steele attack again?

Edited by Lyraeus

I have always felt it helps to think of the squad value of a ship as what sets the 'value' of the ship's squadron command if it's going to make one, not how many squadron commands the ship gets in a turn, like how speed gives the entire amount of a movement, not how 'many' movements.

Edited by AegisGrimm
4 minutes ago, Lyraeus said:

Remember the Command is the WHOLE squadron command not just the single instance. You only ever get 1 Squadron command a turn.

Also Remember that FFG are not perfect - "Attack" vs "Attack" being two different things, but the same word....... You can't get caught on the wording above all else , or you end up with Piles and Piles of unneccessary FAQs.