Rapid Launch Bays: Can fighters placed in this way attack?

By WWPDSteven, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

I can't force you to play RLB how Mr. Gernes ruled it, but I'll be damned if I don't advise everyone else to follow what he has said. We have an unofficial ruling from FFG. I'd consider that better than the blind-leading-the-blind we have in this thread.

You'll notice I'm not stopping you, either.

Just giving up the fight myself.

I can't believe you backed the wrong horse Dras - 50/50 gave you good odds too. ;) I was so willing you to go Orange when you made your grand post.

j/k by the way.

with regionals starting to pop up more and more (have 2 coming up in the north east) you would hope they would officially rule on this. even with just a forum post.

Now it is orange: would it means that Boba placed this way deal 1 damage to something?

EDIT: are those squadron placed one by one or I place them and then activate each squadron one by one?

There are still a lot of questions about RLB... :(

Edited by ovinomanc3r

Now it is orange: would it means that Boba placed this way deal 1 damage to something?

EDIT: are those squadron placed one by one or I place them and then activate each squadron one by one?

There are still a lot of questions about RLB... :(

They are activated when placed.

It would mean that Boba deals the damage if is placed at distance 1 of something, right? I read this as a contradiction but it could be due my wrong understanding of English.

I try to put some sense here but is hard to me.

Option 1: Boba is activated before placing. It wouldn't work. But how he could be activated before he is on the table? It seems wrong to me.

Option 2: Boba is placed and then is activated. It would work. This has sense.

Option 3: Boba is placed activated with some kind of simultaneity. This way I am not sure if his skill would work. It could be argue both ways I think. As he activate and he is on the table he could be at distance 1 of something and deals damage. Is this "placed activated" a "when you activate"? If not, he can't. :(

I will outlaw this upgrade in my group until more clarification :)

Boba activates. He can be placed, and shoot, but not move.

Boba activates. He can be placed, and shoot, but not move.

So you say that Boba activates set apart, as long as there is nothing to suffer damage (he is in nowhere) you can't trigger his ability, then is placed and then shoots, right?

Boba activates. He can be placed, and shoot, but not move.

So you say that Boba activates set apart, as long as there is nothing to suffer damage (he is in nowhere) you can't trigger his ability, then is placed and then shoots, right?

Yes. That's my interpretation. Not sure everyone would agree.

Boba activates. He can be placed, and shoot, but not move.

So you say that Boba activates set apart, as long as there is nothing to suffer damage (he is in nowhere) you can't trigger his ability, then is placed and then shoots, right?

Yes. That's my interpretation. Not sure everyone would agree.

For me the hardest thing is how to agree with the fact of a squadron being activating out of the table but maybe I am being intoxicated by the hyperspace's FAQ.

It may not have been popular, and people told me I was stupid and insane for even bothering to give it time - but #TeamPurple answered a lot of questions....

It may not have been popular, and people told me I was stupid and insane for even bothering to give it time - but #TeamPurple answered a lot of questions....

You are stupid and insane and... you are right!

Purple is clever. Be purple. :P

It may not have been popular, and people told me I was stupid and insane for even bothering to give it time - but #TeamPurple answered a lot of questions....

You are stupid and insane and... you are right!

Purple is clever. Be purple. :P

Its not neccessarily correct or intended... I don't know. Not a deisner or writer for FFG after all :D

But I felt it was a legitimate thought for the card - as it did answer some questions that Orange left unanswered... Its not as clean, or straight-up as useful as Orange, but it was an option ,

Orange. Purple.

The last bit of sanity has fled.

I was talking about how it could be work with Riekan. This was crazy.

If the squadron could be activated out of the table could they be affected by Riekan. If the ship is destroyed, the ship could launch them "of course" (with grain of salt, don't you use an idiom like that?) but are they destroyed at the end of the round or not? What happens if they are not unique squadron?

We end with headache :)

Green is my fav color.

Obviously.

Super green.

I was talking about how it could be work with Riekan. This was crazy.

If the squadron could be activated out of the table could they be affected by Riekan. If the ship is destroyed, the ship could launch them "of course" (with grain of salt, don't you use an idiom like that?) but are they destroyed at the end of the round or not? What happens if they are not unique squadron?

We end with headache :)

Once they're on the table why would you try and count them as destroyed?

I was talking about how it could be work with Riekan. This was crazy.

If the squadron could be activated out of the table could they be affected by Riekan. If the ship is destroyed, the ship could launch them "of course" (with grain of salt, don't you use an idiom like that?) but are they destroyed at the end of the round or not? What happens if they are not unique squadron?

We end with headache :)

Once they're on the table why would you try and count them as destroyed?

If we agree that if the ship is destroyed the squadrons are too how they could still alive when they died with her ship?

It was just speculation. Maybe fluffiness mixed with game machanics? XD

I was talking about how it could be work with Riekan. This was crazy.

If the squadron could be activated out of the table could they be affected by Riekan. If the ship is destroyed, the ship could launch them "of course" (with grain of salt, don't you use an idiom like that?) but are they destroyed at the end of the round or not? What happens if they are not unique squadron?

We end with headache :)

Once they're on the table why would you try and count them as destroyed?

If we agree that if the ship is destroyed the squadrons are too how they could still alive when they died with her ship?

It was just speculation. Maybe fluffiness mixed with game machanics? XD

They didnt die with the ship if you were able to launch them. Now theyre on the board just like normal.

I see it more like an escape pod launch, ship is doomed but they still get out (of course only with Reikan).

So... they can attack? Where are the holy FAQs

Hello there. I'm sorry but I can't go through 16 pages to find answer. But with regionals behind the corner I would like to know what to expect.

Could someone please tell me what is orange, purple and what is final ruling on RLB? And who decided that?

Thank you...

2 minutes ago, noggin said:

Hello there. I'm sorry but I can't go through 16 pages to find answer. But with regionals behind the corner I would like to know what to expect.

Could someone please tell me what is orange, purple and what is final ruling on RLB? And who decided that?

Thank you...

TeamOrange = fighters are activated by the RLB ship when being placed and hence can shoot but cannot move as per the card.
TeamPurple= fighters are not activated but are merely placed and cannot move or shoot until activated by another ship later in the turn.

The unofficial ruling by FFG (Mr Gernes) is that it should be played as TeamOrange.

The recent Welsh Regionals went with TeamOrange ruling.

1 minute ago, Kendraam said:

(...)

Thank you very much indeed!

On 15/1/2017 at 4:07 PM, ovinomanc3r said:

It would mean that Boba deals the damage if is placed at distance 1 of something, right? I read this as a contradiction but it could be due my wrong understanding of English.

I try to put some sense here but is hard to me.

Option 1: Boba is activated before placing. It wouldn't work. But how he could be activated before he is on the table? It seems wrong to me.

Option 2: Boba is placed and then is activated. It would work. This has sense.

Option 3: Boba is placed activated with some kind of simultaneity. This way I am not sure if his skill would work. It could be argue both ways I think. As he activate and he is on the table he could be at distance 1 of something and deals damage. Is this "placed activated" a "when you activate"? If not, he can't. :(

I will outlaw this upgrade in my group until more clarification :)

It seems like you're trying your best to make it happen and **** that rebel scum xD. The moment it activates its "inside the ship" = outside the table, unless specified otherwise the activation is happening outside the table, and there is nothing in the rules forbidding this. So, im so sorry to be the one bringing the bad news :(

On 11/1/2017 at 9:19 AM, DiabloAzul said:

What he says is that, because the squadrons drop unactivated, you can still activate them - even with the same ship that drops them. So an MC80 could use 2 "squadron points" to drop squadrons, and the other 2 to activate them.

There is no such thing as "squadron points" you dont "spend" "squadron points" like you would with engineering points. His understanding on the card is incorrect brom the beggining. You make use of your squadron value to activate squadrons.

I dont understand why so much truble about this card, I think is just people trying to make it work their way and confusing it all. In the core box is clearly displayed for 14+. A minium reading comprehension is taken for granted.

Not sure if this was answered in the thread, but how would Rapid Launch Bays work with the Fighter Ambush special rule? Could you still set aside your ships for Rapid Launch bays or do you have to place the in the play area according to the card? Or should this be a separate thread?

Edited by Hydralisk101