Text as written (second half only - first is kinda self explanatory). (Btw, I second this as the most poorly written card.)
" For each squadron you would activate with this command , you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation ."
First off, I see where the confusion is coming from, but I think some basic assumptions need to be made to arrive at the correct interpretation of the card.
1) The 'instead' does not override the 'activate' - it merely provides a replacement effect to activate and place/attack the squadrons you have set aside instead of activating and moving/attacking with squadrons already on the board.
- You would still be 'activating' the squadron as part of the effect
2) The 'activation' text in the second sentence refers back to the squadron that you have placed using the 'instead' text as part of the 'activate' clause. I think the reason this text was added was more for the sake of not being able to deploy/move/attack with the squadron and not FCT, as we have already determined that FCT is not a 'move' as defined in the rules (see Yavaris interaction).
I think the card should read instead as:
"For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead [ activate and] place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. [A squadron activated in this manner] cannot move [as part of] this activation."
But that's not what the card says. Cards referring to you activating always refer to the ship the card is equipped to( rules reference page 13 Upgrade cards). The last sentence just prevents you from moving the squad with FCTs during that SHIPs activation. If the placed squad was immediately activated the card would say that.
I'll be needing to do more research here, as I am at work, but I will be making a more nuanced argument with support later.
However, I will point out that by my interpretation of the card it does say that you are immediately activating the squadron, as my argument is that the instead does not replace the activation element of the sentence, just your options for activating a squadron.
@Dras: Totes. I think this may in fact be the first card worthy of a rules discussion for reasons of indefiniteness.
Edited by Eggzavier