Rapid Launch Bays: Can fighters placed in this way attack?

By WWPDSteven, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

The wording of that card is kinda ugly.

https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/15578059_733889350120102_3450483882259885267_o.jpg?oh=051233ef8c6f81de2b4888a37dd1416d&oe=58E568CC

EDIT #2 Dec. 28*****

************************************************************************************************************************

Upon further consideration, I now believe the squads get placed and then attack. I believe the card intends to say this:

" For each squadron you would activate (normally) with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation.

Bearing in mind that the squadron symbol resolves as part of the activation but not a replacement for... I now believe the intent of the card is to place the squadrons that were set aside. They get to attack, but they don't get to fly away. Still a tough to decipher card, but that is my current position.

PASTED FROM FURTHER DOWN THE THREAD. THIS IS MY CURRENT UNDERSTANDING:

******************************************************************************************************************

So trying to understand. Here's the bottom half card text (I think the first half is crystal clear)

Quote

[squadron]: For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation.

Okay so you do a squadron activation. You trigger this effect, but that doesn't replace the actual squadron activation order.

Then for EACH squadron you WOULD activate with this command you may INSTEAD place 1 set aside squadron within distance 1. It cannot move this activation.

To me the instead is absolute and is basically an OR.

So for each squadron activation you have (4 on an MC80 for ex) you may EITHER place a set aside squadron OR activate a squadron as usual.

To me that means you could do this:

Activation 1: Drop a B-Wing.
Activation 2: Activate that B-Wing. It cannot move, but does get to attack.
Activation 3: Drop another B-Wing.

Activation 4: Activate another squadron within range as normal.

That's my best attempt at logically understanding the card.

Edited by WWPDSteven

Well it is saying that it is a squadron activation. During an activation a squadron can move and shoot normally. If you take the move portion of the activation is being placed on the board by the card the squadron would then be free to use the attack part of their activation. Why would they not be able to attack?

Edited by Frimmel

The last sentence is what throws me for a loop. But the wording is "For each squadron you WOULD activate you may INSTEAD..."

Which implies to me that the squadron is being placed instead of being activated. But then the last sentence throws that for a loop.

To me "would activate" seems just a shorter way of saying "instead of activating the number of squadrons given by your squadron value already on the table and in appropriate range of this ship." It also allows for no squadrons being in range of the ship to activate so you can still use the set aside squadrons.

Edited by Frimmel

That's a pretty big jump! If the card worked the way you imply why not write it like this:

"Squadron: You may place your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. You must activate squadrons placed in this way. Squadrons placed in this way cannot move this activation."

Either the words were chosen deliberately or someone slaughtered the English language :)

Actually, the more I read it... and I am really stretching here...

If you cut off the last sentence the card's meaning is clear. I believe they would be placed, unactivated. I think the last sentence was added as a response to FCT.

I believe they would be placed, unactivated.

I concur. It can only be read as:

"Instead of activating a squadron, place a set-aside squadron on the table."

The reason for the last sentence, however, is a different one. The newly launched squadron is still unactivated, so if your ship has a high enough Squadron value you can immediately use another activation on it! The only limitation is that it cannot move - only attack.

I'm not so sure you get to pick and choose- I think if you use Rapid Launch bays you have to place ALL of your set aside squadrons? I'm not sure- that's the next question.

But yeah, it's clear to me now they cannot attack.

Hmmmmm. So you use 1 squad command "point" to place a squad that cannot move but can attack.

DA brings up a good point on whether you can spend another squad command "point" to activate it.

I'm going to say that is wrong, because the card says "It cannot move this activation." which implies to me that you get to place the squad, and it is activated. It cannot move, but can attack. The card has to state "Instead of activating a squadron, place a set-aside squadron on the table." because the card is giving you another way to use your command much like Nav Teams allows your Nav token to be yaw instead of speed up or down.

I do not think you have to place all your set aside squads when you use a squad command.

I think "this activation" refers to the ship's activation, and was introduced specifically to counter FCT.

I also think you're right- the "may" means you could set aside some and activate others. I still disagree that they can attack when placed UNLESS maybe you place it with one activation, and activate with a 2nd...

So a squadron 4 ship could theoretically drop 2 B-Wings and attack with them both.

I'm not 100% on that... but I do not think you could drop 4 B-Wings and attack with all 4 on a squadron 4 ship.

Are we also confusing ship activation and squadron activation?

Edit: Man, I got Ninja'd there.. :D

The Wording is very ugly - and I only hope Mr. Gernes follows through with his promise of an FAQ or set of Rules Guiding Principles as soon as possible, because this, and Snipe, are the two ugliest questions arising :)

Edited by Drasnighta

The last sentence has nothing to do with FCT.

The squads you placed are activated, hence the last sentence. When you use FCT, it is always outside of the squads activation, never during. You can bounce these squads around.

So the order is.

Squad Command

Place squad at range 1.

Activate squad

Shoot

End activation.

Complete squad command.

Execute a maneuver

FCT bump.

I disagree. I think "this activation" is referring to the ship's. Happy to be wrong, but the wording before that strongly implies the squadron is being placed INSTEAD of being activated.

I think "this activation" refers to the ship's activation, and was introduced specifically to counter FCT.

I don't follow what you are saying. Why would it refer to a ships movement this activation to counter FCT which happens outside of a squads activation?

And having an upgrade that would prevent a ship from moving is incredibly powerful. I've come into many situations where I don't want to move forward into medium range of a ship. I'd love to drop squads and sit still.

Are we also confusing ship activation and squadron activation?

Edit: Man, I got Ninja'd there.. :D

No. The antecedent of "it" in this case would be the set aside squadron you are placing within 1 of the ship.

The card would probably better read "...you may activate and place one of your set aside squadrons within distance 1. It may not move this activation."

Edited by Frimmel

We are responding too quickly to each other to fully construct arguments :P

We are responding too quickly to each other to fully construct arguments :P

I don't think you and are arguing. We seem to have the same take on it. :)

Regardless,

The card does not say:

1) If the Squadron is actually activated or not.

2) If the squadron is capable of attacking, if it is activated.

We can only do what the card says. That is what makes it ugly.

I for one, can't find enough on the card itself to formulate an actual debate, rather than throwing suppositions around.......

We are responding too quickly to each other to fully construct arguments :P

I don't think you and are arguing. We seem to have the same take on it. :)

I was referring to Steven :D

Regardless,

The card does not say:

1) If the Squadron is actually activated or not.

2) If the squadron is capable of attacking, if it is activated.

We can only do what the card says. That is what makes it ugly.

I for one, can't find enough on the card itself to formulate an actual debate, rather than throwing suppositions around.......

Yea this is going to come down to a dictionary and how you split the sentences apart.

I expect many pages of debate to ensue.

hah yeah, sorry boys. I think this card is very difficult to interpret. It has my vote for worst written card in Armada :)

My stance right now is squadrons placed are un-activated and do not attack. But man, this thing can be argued in circles.

Hardly your Fault. You in fact, beat me to the punch - because this was #1 on my list to raise as a point when I got up this morning (and then had to deal with sick Kiddo instead, delaying me)...

Guidance is needed. I am hoping at least some dubious guidance is provided by the Fighter Article (which, of course, will be immediately dismissed because its an article , but its better than nothing....)

hah yeah, sorry boys. I think this card is very difficult to interpret. It has my vote for worst written card in Armada :)

My stance right now is squadrons placed are un-activated and do not attack. But man, this thing can be argued in circles.

Yea I totally agree. I want to wait for FFG to make a ruling on this.

So just for the sake of pontificating (I agree- I doubt we can come to consensus without FFG's guidance here!)

So trying to understand. Here's the bottom half card text (I think the first half is crystal clear)

[squadron]: For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may instead place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 1. It cannot move this activation.

Okay so you do a squadron activation. You trigger this effect, but that doesn't replace the actual squadron activation order.

Then for EACH squadron you WOULD activate with this command you may INSTEAD place 1 set aside squadron within distance 1. It cannot move this activation.

To me the instead is absolute and is basically an OR.

So for each squadron activation you have (4 on an MC80 for ex) you may EITHER place a set aside squadron OR activate a squadron as usual.

To me that means you could do this:

Activation 1: Drop a B-Wing.
Activation 2: Activate that B-Wing. It cannot move, but does get to attack.
Activation 3: Drop another B-Wing.

Activation 4: Activate another squadron within range as normal.

That's my best attempt at logically understanding the card.

Edited by WWPDSteven

Seems to me this is the squad docking mechanic that's been asked for. I'd also point out it is an Offensive Retrofit. So you'd have to forgo Boosted Comms and Expanded Hangar Bays to take this. At six points it is also the most expensive of the squadron centric offensive retrofits.