General Spell casting Question about the warlock.

By matsengstrom, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hey.

We where having a game here tonight and got into a bit of rule discussion about the warlock. At the beginning of his turn he gains his maximum number of spells that his Craft allows. So quite quickly he gained 3 spells per turn.

We came to the conclusion that he can only cast as many spells during his turn, as the number of spells he had BEFORE gaining his full complement of spells. Since according to the rules you can only cast the number of spells you had at the start of your turn, in your turn.

Our discussion was about but what about the other players turns. I know the rules state you can only cast 1 spell in another players turn. But can does the limited number of allowed spells in your own turn also carry over? We figured it did not.

So the warlock basicly could gain 3 spells in his turn. Cast one spell in each other players turn, then once it became the warlock again he gained 3 new spells. This felt somewhat inbalanced i must say, since the warlock just rushed ahead of the rest of us, keeping us out of the game.

so i guess the question is. If the warlock gains 3 spells during His turn, does he have to wait for his own turn again before being able to use them, even in OTHER players turns?

matsengstrom said:

We where having a game here tonight and got into a bit of rule discussion about the warlock. At the beginning of his turn he gains his maximum number of spells that his Craft allows. So quite quickly he gained 3 spells per turn.

Warlock with Craft 6 gains 3 Spells if he starts his turn with 0. Maybe you did play that way, just came off sounding like he was getting 3 Spells every time his turn came around (or then it's too early and cold, -29 outside, for me to read properly gran_risa.gif ).

matsengstrom said:

We came to the conclusion that he can only cast as many spells during his turn, as the number of spells he had BEFORE gaining his full complement of spells. Since according to the rules you can only cast the number of spells you had at the start of your turn, in your turn.

so i guess the question is. If the warlock gains 3 spells during His turn, does he have to wait for his own turn again before being able to use them, even in OTHER players turns?

You can cast 1 Spell on each other characters turn, even if you gained the Spell during their turn (Wizard for example). As for the Warlock, the FAQ lets the Sage cast the Spell he draws the same turn:

"Sage
Q: If the Sage gains a Spell at the start of his turn, can he
cast that Spell during the same turn?
A: Yes." (p. 3)

By that ruling, Warlock who gains 3 Spells at the start of his turn, is able to cast all 3 on his turn (assuming they are legally playable of course).

Warlock is fun to play, but when i used him for the first time, he lose the game against the warrior !

The Warrior stumble upon a Amulet that has protect him, against the spells from the warlock. The lucky guy..

Warlock has walk for the most part of the game, in the middle region, and there where some times, that he was down to 1 live left..

i rather choose the Wizard or Prophetess..