Grievous and One with the Force

By Crabbok, in Star Wars: Destiny

One with the Force is an ability upgrade that turns in to a support. Neither of those are taken by General Grievous, he takes non-ability upgrades. I agree that his ability very much sounds like a Redeploy to Opponent, that triggers before your own redeploy, so we play it that way, with the die going to the card. Someone should ask FFG about that though.

Nobody was suggesting that he takes One With The Force.... at all.

RRG states that each player has their own play area

DICE POOL

This is where dice are rolled. Each player has their own dice pool. Dice are always placed on their matching cards when not in a dice pool.

OUT-OF-PLAY

Cards in a player’s hand, deck, and discard pile are out of play and their abilities cannot be used until they are played.

  1. A card leaves play when it transitions from the play area to an out-of-play area.

DICE ON CARDS

When dice are not in a dice pool, they are placed on their matching card.

  1. These dice are not active, cannot be manipulated, and none of their sides are considered to be showing.

What you pasted from the rules only states that each player has their own dice pool, not that each player has their own play area. It does reference a Play Area, but not that there are two of them, each belonging to a player.

I think, at least for now, that Grievous' ability was intended to work like redeploy. Until we get further clarification - I would probably play it that way and if there was a tournament tomorrow would probably rule it that way as well.

PART 3. AREAS OF PLAY

Each player has their own areas of play. These areas are either in play or out-of-play.

IN PLAY

CHARACTERS & PLAYED CARDS

It is my opinion that a die, once rolled, is in the player's pool and "belongs" to the character that rolled it. If that's the case, the card moves to Grievous before the character is defeated and the die remains in play. The character is then defeated and all it's dice in the pool are removed. It would then go back to the card it is paired with. So the process follows a different path, but the result is basically the same as redeploy. The die would return to the card.

The same would apply to One With the Force. The card would move before and the die remains in play. Then the character is defeated and the die are removed. Since the card is still in play, the die would go to that card.

Any official word from FFG yet?

-JD

I thought grievous said non ability. If he does he can't take one with the force. But as to the die question. Safe assumption would be that whenever a card is moved the die goes with it. Redeploy keyword says the die is removed from the pool when the card is moved. Grievous should not be any different.

In a fresh discussion on FB, this issue came up again. We couldn't find an answer in the rules, but hearsay is that Lukas clarified to follow the rules for Redeploy in an e-mail.

Redeploy is resolved after the character is defeated, so the die has already been removed.

One with the force is resolved before, and its die stays in the pool because of that.

The answer you are looking for is in the rules reference, page 24.

From the rules reference:

ONE WITH THE FORCE (42)

When this card becomes a support, its die remains in the pool if it is already there. If it was not in the pool, then it moves from the character to the support.

Edited by Kieransi
Removed picture, saved space on account

This is frustrating that we can't know for sure. The problem with SWD is not the rules or the mechanics but some of the cards. GG is vague in text. Unless there is a rule we don't know about this is not a very good use of the "golden rule". Now one with the force is just transitioning from an upgrade to a support. I would assume that if it was exhausted it would stay that way until the next round.

50 minutes ago, DJRAZZ said:

I would assume that if it was exhausted it would stay that way until the next round.

Except it specifically says otherwise on the card.

On 7/12/2016 at 7:34 PM, isthar said:

regarding One with the Force isn't there even the simpler question? If the character it is attached to is defeated, with the OwtF die out in your pool; as it turns into a Support, must the die get returned, or do you leave it alone?

OWTF die stays into the pool (and Grevious cannot steal that, nevertheless).

Redeploy takes place after the death of the character so normally its die goes on the card.

With Grevious in the mix the Lightsaber die should go onto the card not because of the death of the character but because you and your opponent do not share the dice pool

ONE WITH THE FORCE (42) • When this card becomes a support, move its die to the support card.

If an opposing Character is defeated, triggering General G's "before" ability how does this interact with the before ability on OWTF (possibly now in"support" form.)

"After abilities enter the queue. • Before abilities do not enter the queue, but interrupt it."

Whenever two "before/after" triggers coincide their resolution order is decided by the player who controls the battlefield.

SIMULTANEOUS ABILITIES: When two or more triggered abilities meet their trigger conditions at the same time, the player who is resolving those abilities chooses the order they resolve in when they are before abilities, -or how they enter the queue the case of after abilities). If more than one player has abilities that are simultaneous, the player who controls the battlefield chooses the order in which each player resolves their own abilities or has them enter the queue.

Example: A Tusken Raider (r22) with Fast Hands (D150) is activated when there is also a Jango Fett (r21) with Fast Hands in play. Each card is controlled by a different player. Both players have after abilities that can resolve after the Tusken Raider activates, so it is the battlefield controller’s choice as to which player resolves theirs first.

Force Bewith