Warp Lightning Cannon

By ctzn100, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

jelonertz said:

Until we get an official answer I will keep on playing this card the way is only playable on your own cards, following the more restrictive rule of "the controller of the card chooses where (amongst his three zones) the card is placed".

Then you will be playing incorrectly. I have no doubt that if an attachment reads to play on a target unit, then you can play it on any target unit. If the card reads to play it on a unit you control, then you can only play it on a unit that you control. Feel free to wait 6 months for a FAQ to confirm this. :)

I think we run into trouble when we try to interpret a card as to how we think it should've been written, I've been guilty of this myself. I hadn't thought of attaching this card to an opponents unit, but it does say target unit. Since there is no restriction on which unit you can target, the Golden Rule applies, and you can indeed attach to any unit you choose to target, imho.

i agree with your points, but since learning of the rulebook rule that support cards cant be played on your opponents' zones/units, i think the cannon will NOT be able to be played on your opponents units to corrupt them. I think it is a card typo, it doesnt make since thematically (Here, stop stabbing me and take my cannon, please), and it will prevent accidental loss of your cards into your opponent's deck.

mateooo said:

but since learning of the rulebook rule that support cards cant be played on your opponents' zones/units

It does not say that in the rule book. It says "the controller of the card chooses where (amongst his three zones) the card is placed. Combine that with the Golden Rule that the rules on the card take precedence.

The reason for the "his three zones" clause is so that I cant play all my units and supports to your quest zone and deck you every game.

not disagreeing with your thought process... Im just predicting the official response.

mateooo said:

not disagreeing with your thought process... Im just predicting the official response

We will be old and grey by then.

Sent the question to the Designers and am waiting for an answer.

Aykenger said:

Sent the question to the Designers and am waiting for an answer.

Thanks, please let us know as soon as you get an answer back. I didn't think this was going to open a can of worms, lot's of valid points to both sides of the argument.

The card says in the text that it can only be used on Skaven's. In the Traits text it very clearly says "Attachment. Weapon. Skaven ." Doesn't this mean that it can in fact only be attached as a weapon for a Skaven? Since there are no Skavens in an Order deck, the card could only possibly be used on an opponent if that opponent also had Skavens in play.

Baresark said:

The card says in the text that it can only be used on Skaven's. In the Traits text it very clearly says "Attachment. Weapon. Skaven ." Doesn't this mean that it can in fact only be attached as a weapon for a Skaven? Since there are no Skavens in an Order deck, the card could only possibly be used on an opponent if that opponent also had Skavens in play.

Traits don't have anything to do with that. They are merely keywords that can be targetted by other effects.

"Traits 8. : Special designators that have no rules, but
may be affected by other cards in play." (p. 8)

Baresark,

The word "Skaven" on the card means that is has the Skaven "trait", not that it can only be played on Skaven. So, the card that allows you to look through the top 5 cards of your deck and take and "Skaven" card into your hand (I'm blanking on the name right now) would allow you to put the Warp Lightning Cannon in your hand.

For example...if a card told you to search for a Skaven card, you could pick the Cannon.

Edit...whoops, too slow

I see, I stand corrected, I read the rule wrong.

Sorry for being such a Noob.

Traits are not Keywords. Keywords have specific rules that tell us how to handle them, they are essentially rules shorthand. Traits are words that tell us about some aspect of the card they are on, but have no power, or rule that grants them anything special, unless there is another card in play or who effect has been triggered that gives it meaning,