I just wanted a clarification on the rule where combat halts movement. Once an investigator enters combat is his movement phase over or does he lose all remaining movement points. the later would suggest that exhaustable movement items such as the motercycle could be used after combat to gain a little extra movement.
Movement, monsters and exhaustable items.
I've always played it that you can no longer move, but you still have movement points. This would mean tapping the motorcycle would give you movement points to use on tomes, or you could just use any left over movement on tombs after the combat (or before if you wanted).
I'd love to have this confirmed though.
Locutus Zero said:
I've always played it that you can no longer move, but you still have movement points. This would mean tapping the motorcycle would give you movement points to use on tomes, or you could just use any left over movement on tombs after the combat (or before if you wanted).
I'd love to have this confirmed though.
You cannot move anymore once you've entered combat. So not even the Motorcycle will allow you to move.
I don't know if that means that you've lost all your movement points, but it doesn't make sense that you can continue to get movement points out of a motorcycle but not be allowed to move anywhere. So you probably lose all your movement points and cannot use any more once you've entered combat.
Tibs said:
You cannot move anymore once you've entered combat. So not even the Motorcycle will allow you to move.
I don't know if that means that you've lost all your movement points, but it doesn't make sense that you can continue to get movement points out of a motorcycle but not be allowed to move anywhere. So you probably lose all your movement points and cannot use any more once you've entered combat.
Brian went the other way on BGG just today, can't move, but can use movement boosters in case you want to read a Tome or something.
Wasn't it clarified earlier regarding the Ruby of R'lyeh trading issue that investigators can gain movement points only at the very beginning of their movement phase, or do I remember it wrong? If that's the case, then you can't use the Motorcycle after combat.
-Villain
Villain said:
Wasn't it clarified earlier regarding the Ruby of R'lyeh trading issue that investigators can gain movement points only at the very beginning of their movement phase, or do I remember it wrong? If that's the case, then you can't use the Motorcycle after combat.
-Villain
Then whats the point of an exhaustable movement card?
You're supposed to use it to add moves to your Investigator (move to extra areas around Arkham of maybe use some Tomes)
Veet said:
Villain said:
Wasn't it clarified earlier regarding the Ruby of R'lyeh trading issue that investigators can gain movement points only at the very beginning of their movement phase, or do I remember it wrong? If that's the case, then you can't use the Motorcycle after combat.
-Villain
Then whats the point of an exhaustable movement card?
You can keep your Sneak higher, since you won't be needing Speed as much?
Veet said:
-Villain Then whats the point of an exhaustable movement card?
......
So you can only use it once.
Already there are players who put a motorcycle on each foot
and add 4 movement points.
It's just another way of saying "per turn". Perhaps FFG should have put a butt
symbol on the motorcycle so players wouldn't be tempted to use two at once.
One of FFG's other attempts at creating a vehicle turned a 1920's paddy wagon into a helicopter.
I think he is asking why have the motorcycle be exhaustable but not the ruby. Either way you can use any number of each once per turn. All exhaustable does is make it so you can't hand the item off to someone and let them use it on the same turn.
This makes me think the designers understand you can do some funny tricks with handing off the ruby multiple times in one turn.
I understand that you should only be able to apply a movement bonus once in a turn but that strikes me as redundant since you only get one movement anyway as opposed to combat where the potential for multiples in a turn is there. Also it's movement and not speed so it's not useable on encounters. So my question is what is different about the Motercycle that you have to exhaust versus the Ruby of R'lyeh which you don't?
(edit) Wow was typing this at exactly the same time as the last reply which answered the question.
Locutus Zero said:
This makes me think the designers understand you can do some funny tricks with handing off the ruby multiple times in one turn.
Yeah we know how a "real" motorcycle works (though it's not as good as the rules allow us). But we don't know how the "real" Ruby works, It's alien after all. So perhaps there could be infinite movement with it (but I guess not if the clarification alluded to earlier is correct.)
But do you really have all your move done at this turn if you meet a monster out on the street? Is there a note in the rulebook about that? Cause we always used to play it "go out, kill monster, kept moving".
Lesseps said:
But do you really have all your move done at this turn if you meet a monster out on the street? Is there a note in the rulebook about that? Cause we always used to play it "go out, kill monster, kept moving".
Yes it's on page 8 of the rulebook:
"Once an investigator begins combat with a monster for
any reason, his movement is over. Regardless of whether
or not he wins the battle, the investigator loses the rest
of his movement points and must remain where he is."
Which is the source of the original question. It's unclear as to what happens if they get more movement points from something like exhausting a map or motercycle after combat. Since it's still the movement phase would they be able to eke out another one or two spaces?
In my point of view:
a) Even if you could win more movement points, your movement is over;
b) you can. although, spend your extra movement points to use items such as tomes
Well there you have it. You can't move any more, and you lose all your remaining movement points. So you should not be allowed to gain any more, because it doesn't make sense that you can use a motorcycle to read a book but you can't use it to move.
My conclusion is that movement-point-adding items may only be used at the start of your movement phase. Which makes sense: you certainly didn't carry your motorycycle to a destination, and then decide to fire it up to continue moving.
Veet said:
Isn't there an Environment (or some other card?) that prevents the investigators from refreshing more than 1 item during their upkeep? In that case using the Motorcycle becomes difficult, while the Ruby remains infinitely useful.
-Villain
I would have to agree. I think it's clear from the phrase "his movement is over". You don't get to move anymore. Even if you find ways to get more movement points.