A recent BoardGameGeek thread discussed the interaction between Grievous Wound and Athelas if a Dúnedain hero with 1 HP left had both attached.
Grievous Wound is a Condition attachment with " Forced: After attached hero exhausts, deal 1 damage to it."
Athelas is an Item attachment with " Action: Discard Athelas and exhaust attached character to heal all damage on a character. You may discard a Condition attachment from that character."
The consensus on the thread was that the hero would probably die, as Forced effects resolve before responses (and presumably, also before actions). However, I couldn't find any reference to the timing of actions in the FAQ, so I asked Caleb for a ruling, and this is the response he sent me:
In The Lord of the Rings LCG we resolve effects sentence by sentence. We don’t interrupt a sentence to resolve a different effect, but effects can interrupt at the end of the sentence. So what would happen is: you exhaust and heal all damage at once, then you resolve the Forced effect on Grievous Wound for 1 damage. After that, you could discard a condition attachment from play.
Cheers,
Caleb
I have to say, I wasn't expecting that one. This "resolve effects sentence by sentence" ruling is one I haven't seen before, and it probably has implications beyond the Grievous Wound + Athelas combo. For example, I can't figure out how the ally-Imrahil + Caldara combo works given this ruling (Caldara's effect is one sentence), and yet Caleb has explicitly ruled that it does work. Are there any other card combinations that would be affected by a sentence-by-sentence resolution order?