This should be a simple one gang.
There are card effects that allow an action to remove a unit from play and return it to the owners hand. If a unit should be selected for defense and makes to the assign damage phase and is assigned damage. After assigning damage but before damage is applied there is a mark space on the flow chart for an action in the rule book. If the unit is removed from play to be returned back to the owner's hand what happens to the assigned damage?
My take on it is that since it was assigned to the unit and not the capital board then the damage just goes away like any other effect once a card is returned to hand.
Is this a good call?