Gideons Command and Line of Sight

By thiagolbahia, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Command states: Chose another firendly figure within 3 spaces... (...)"

I need line of sight? Or just be within spaces? (like on the other corner of a wall, within 3 spaces but out of Gideons Line of sight)?

Thanks all!

Does it say you need line of sight? If so, you do.

If it doesn't, you don't.

Gideon has a powerful shout.

Choose another figure within 3 spaces means exactly that. It does not need line of sight because it does not ask for line of sight. The same as Shock Grenades and a lot of "within 3 spaces" abilities (3 spaces is the most-often used distance). (The Imperial Officers can Order figures within 2 spaces, it does not require line of sight either.)

See Air of Command. With it Gideon can also Command figures in line of sight regardless of their distance.

But question you need a bit of line of sight right?

I mean what if there is a big wall and one is on one side and one is on the other? You can't count through the wall can you? you need to count around it?

Within 3 spaces does not need line of sight.

Within 3 spaces requires Counting Spaces (see Rules Reference Guide).

Counting spaces cannot go through walls, doors or blocking terrain spaces or blocking terrain edges, but can go through impassible terrain spaces or impassible terrain edges.

Counting Spaces is one of the fundamental concepts in the game, so it pays off to get it right.