Questing Units & Defend the Border

By Texhnolyze23, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

I have a couple of questions.

1. Once a quest is complete (i.e. the resources have been paid and the ability is active), does the questing unit/hero come back into play? Any unit type can quest, correct?

2. Defend the Border seems to be an awesome card. I'm fairly certain the text is clear but I'm asking anyway. If my capital takes a hit, I can redirect damage to another unit or capital zone, correct? In other words, I don't have to assign to a unit first.

Cheers!

1. Depends on the quest. All Quests tell you what to do for its effect to initiate. You may have to sacrifice the unit (in which case the resources are discarded) to trigger the Quest, in which case that unit is headed directly to your discard pile and nothing can be done to stop it, since it is the cost of Quest. If you saved it somehow (which is different than managing to put it back into play from the discard pile or putting it back into your hand after it hits the discard pile) then you have not paid the cost and the Quest misfires.

2. You get to choose what you want to target with DtB, but note it only does the first damage each turn, so it may not be triggered multiple times in a turn, and no matter how many active Quests of this kind you have in play, only the first damage is actually the first damage, so only one could only ever successfully resolve in a turn.

Thanks for the reply. In this case, I was talking about DtB (I wasn't clear on this). It doesn't say anything about discarding the hero. On the other hand it has the Force effect of placing a resource token on the quest every turn. It takes 3 to trigger the effect. Does the quester stay there, discard or return to the zone to defend.

I think my question matches this topic.

- Can I replace unit on quest? Just when I played new unit and want to add this on quest card in replace of unit that already is there.

- I'm loosing all acumulate resources there if I do so?

Just some quick Quest points some for clarification (as far as I can tell)

1) Just because a unit is on a quest, it can still defend the zone and provide power to draw more cards (page 11 - "The questing unit is still considered to be a part of its controller's quest zone, it contributes power and can be used to defend the zone when it's attacked - but it is also considered to be "questing".

2) There is nothing in the rules about replacing a unit on a quest. Thus, if you put a unit on a quest, it will continue to quest until it leaves that zone or leaves play. You cannot place a new unit on the quest to replace the old one.

This brings up a question - it says on page 11 that "if the questing unit leaves play for any reason, the quest card remains in play but all resource tokens accumulated on that quest card are discarded" - however, what if the unit does not leave play, but rather moves to a different zone - are we to infer then that the resources stay on the quest card?

3) The Defend the Borders and the Infiltrate quests (and now the new Wolves of the North) do not require you to sacrifice the unit on the quest to cause the Quest action to occur - for example, once you have at least 3 resources on Defend the Borders, you can have it redirect the first point of damage for ever, as opposed to Prepare for War, where when you want to reshuffle your discard cards into your deck, you must sacrifice the unit on the quest, along with all of the resource tokens on it.

Hope that helps, and I am curious about the answer regarding moving units from a quest rather than having them leave play.

Jake

My understanding is that the FAQ is going to say that any time the questing unit leaves the quest card for any reason the resources are lost and yu have to start over by playing a new card from your hand to the quest.

this has been errata-ed... if the unit least the QUEST for any reason, all the resources on the quest or lost, so if it is moved to another zone but not "removed from play" all the resources are removed.

Texhnolyze23 said:

Thanks for the reply. In this case, I was talking about DtB (I wasn't clear on this). It doesn't say anything about discarding the hero. On the other hand it has the Force effect of placing a resource token on the quest every turn. It takes 3 to trigger the effect. Does the quester stay there, discard or return to the zone to defend.

The point I was trying to make, sorry for not being more clear, was that the quest will always tell you what it takes to initiate. In this case it takes three resources on the quest. That is it. Resources are not removed, it does not require the sacrificing of the questing unit, it continues collecting resources, the quester stays on the quest, and it is only active while he does so (per the rules and eratta).