Rank 2 Spells?

By CMtheGM, in WFRP Rules Questions

Does a character have to be rank 2 to cast a rank 2 spell?

I can't seem to find the rule on this, but I know it's in there somewhere.

Could anyone help me out?

To the best of my knowledge, there is no rank requirement for higher level spells. Although of course, it does cost the player more to purchase the higher level ranked spells.

In the last edition, it was totally viable for a caster to attempt spells above their power level. It appears that most (all?) of the rank 2 spells have a minimum of 1 challenge dice to the roll. I am wondering if rank 3 will have 2 challenge, etc.

You can buy actions that have a rank higher than yours but it costs more advances to do so.

I don't have books now but i think the rule is in the character creation section under buying action cards...