Gaining Movement Points! Immediately?

By thiagolbahia, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hello Guys,

So, Verena's " Combat Momentum" ; Gideon's " Mobile tactician"; Mak's " Disengage" and Fenn's " Tactical Movement" ,

all grants " Gain x movement points".

Dosen't say interrupt ou immediately, just gain movement points.(like many other cards)

My question is: After the condition is met, the player can immediately use those movement points? or the points are added to his next move action?

So exemple: After Gideon resolve a command, he can move 2 spaces immediately, or whenever he takes a move action he adds the 2 points to its regular movement points?

Thanks all!

Move action does not move the figure. Move action lets the figure perform a move, which gives them movement points according to their speed and finished immediately. Spending movement points moves the figure.

Movement points received during your activation go into movement point pool and can be spent before or after actions, but not during them (unless they are received as part of a special action). Movement points received out of your activation (or as part of a special action) must be spent immediately or lost.

You don't need to perform a Move action to spend movement points. Also, heroes can suffer upto 2 strain during their activation to gain 1mp for each strain suffered. They can thus suffer strain to move and attack twice.

When Gideon performs Command, the 2 mp from Mobile Tactician go to his movement point pool, and unless he wants to trigger Masterstroke, he can then spend them to move the figure. He can also save them and use them later in the activation. (If Gideon spends movement points after Command, he can no longer trigger Masterstroke.)

1) During your activation: -> movement point pool (Mobile Tactician, Tactical Movement when for Fenn)

2) Out of your activation (or part of a special action) -> spend immediately (Disengage, Tactical Movement when for other figure than Fenn)

Edited by a1bert

Thanks!

Can u elaborate on : (If Gideon spends movement points after Command, he can no longer trigger Masterstroke.)

Why is that?

Masterstroke's trigger is "After resolving Command". After Gideon has resolved Command, it is "after resolving Command". If Gideon performs any ability which doesn't have the same trigger, he has chosen to not resolve Masterstroke. This includes performing an action, spending movement points, even suffering strain for movement points, discarding supply cards for effects, possibly a few more and ending his activation by flipping his activation token.

When a trigger for an ability occurs, you choose to pay the cost to activate the ability, or if the ability does not have a cost, the ability must be performed. If you choose not to pay the cost, and do something unrelated, you can't rewind to perform the ability later.

Thank you very much!

Sorry to hijack that thread but I have a question about Close Quarters .

Its trigger is "when an adjacent hostile figure is defeated". Some other actions could be triggered around the same timing. Like, I don't know, Masterstroke, which triggers "after you resolve Command".

For example : Gideon uses Command on Fenn who kills a Stormtroopers next to Verena. Which one goes next ? Verena Close Quarters or Gideon Masterstroke ? Is doing one makes the other invalid ?

Same question for other class cards which says "after an attack is resolved". How does it work with Combat momentum ? (attack resolved / figure defeated)

Edited by Le Jedi Fou

They are not the same trigger, so there is a definite order.

The target of an attack is defeated during step 7 of the attack (when the figure has suffered damage equal to its health), so it happens before the attack resolves (which is a trigger for Blast, Cleave, and Condition keywords and quite a few other abilities), which is before Fenn has performed an attack, which is before Command is resolved. Also, Verena's ability triggers as an interrupt, it would not affect the timing of Gideon's abilities even if the triggers would be the same.

Another example: Parting Shot also happens during step 7 of the attack (when the figure has suffered damage equal to its health, before the figure is defeated). Condition keywords are resolved after the attack resolves, so Stun gives stunned only after the attack resolves and thus cannot be applied to a defeated target, and is also too late to prevent Parting Shot.

Edited by a1bert

Ok thank you and I just found another thread talking about that subject

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/202071-verena-combat-momentum-timing-question

So if you have exactly the same trigger you do all the abilities ? (Close Quarters and Combat Momentum). What happens if the trigger is the same for the Imperial and the Rebel ? Which one goes first ?

And "suffer damage" then "target defeated" then "attack is resolved"... got it ! Thank you

If multiple abilities have the same trigger, performing them does not 'advance the game', so you can perform them in your preferred order.

See page 2 of RRG: Timing.

During campaign the resolution order of abilities with an identical trigger is mission rules (performed by the imperial player), Imperial, rebel, and during attacks: mission rules, attacker, defender.

Outside of attacks during skirmish: mission rules, player with initiative, player without initiative.

For attacks:

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1631857/ability-resolution-order-during-attacks

Great guide ! I translated it into french and wrote the figures / class / items using those abilities for my future games.

The only information I can't find is "Defensive" (Apply modifiers / Defender), I don't know where it comes from.

I've also noticed several cards missing :

- Imperial -> Military Might -> Sustained fire. I guess it goes into After attack resolves / Imperial

- Imperial -> Subversive Tactics -> Surgical strike. Same place

- Imperial -> Subversive Tactics -> Executioner. I guess it goes into Declare Target / Attacker

- Imperial -> Technological Superiority -> Failsafe. Probably Calculate & Apply Damage / Defender

- Imperial -> Inspiring Leadership -> Imperial Dedication. Probably Declare Target / Defender

- Imperial -> Inspiring Leadership -> Lead by Example. I guess it goes into After attack resolves / Imperial

- Imperial -> Precision Training -> Single-Minded. Probably Rerolls / Attacker

- Imperial -> Armored Onslaught -> Automated Repairs. I don't really know for that one. Do we exhaust this card during Step 5 ? When are the damage recovered ? After attack resolves ?

I'd like your opinion on those cards. Did you left them out on purpose ?

Some are left out probably because the card specifies the timing. A couple are just omissions. I'll add them.

Defensive is the ability of The Grand Inquisitor.

I think Sustained Fire is meant to happen after performing an attack. (Not after the attack resolves, which is a trigger for Blast, Cleave, Conditions and the like). The same for Surgical Strike .

Executioner says it's the declare target step (all abilities used in the declare target step mention this, including Imperial Dedication ).

Lead by Example is not triggered by an attack but after performing Order or Executive Order (i.e. the move or attack it gives interrupts and is fully resolved with all its effects and what is triggered, and when the move or attack has been resolved, then the Order/Executive Order finishes and Lead by Example triggers).

Failsafe during step 7 of the attack when the target has suffered damage upto his Health, before the target is defeated. Also at any other point when the target has suffered damage upto his Health, so it can be from Blast, Cleave, and a number of other non-attack abilities as well.

Single-Minded - you only reroll during the reroll step, so there.

Automated Repairs - RRG says that Recover damage (note the upper-case R, making it a keyword) happens after the attack resolves. We have a ruling that recover strain (lower-case r, so not a keyword) happens during the spend surges step. So I would say recover 2dmg happens during the spend surges step.

Sustained Fire and Surgical Strike : both cards says "after an Imperial figure resolves an attack" which is a lot like most abilies in that After attack resolves section in your guide. As an example, Gaarkhan Staggering Blow says "exhaust this card after you resolve an attack" and you placed it there. Arc Blasters is there too. But I think I understand what you mean...

Lead by Example : yes, I should have said "If it was an Executive Order giving an attack". But, again taking Gaarkhan as an example, you put its Rampage class card in that same After attack resolves section, so I thought Lead by Example should be there too

For all other abilites : ok :)

After performing an attack is definitely after "after attack resolves", so I have moved Rampage and Staggering Blow. And after performing Charge is after after performing an attack. They are not the same trigger.

Not that it matters in reality..