Best/worst upgrades?

By MrBody, in Chaos in the Old World

pendrag2k said:

Re: the Lepers. In addition to simply allowing each leper to be summoned once per turn for free, the really important thing this upgrade does is give Nurgle 6 zero point cards each turn. Essentially, you get to wait 6 rounds before you have to commit to some sort of action for the turn. This is huge!

Sure, if you don't mind your cultists being scattered across the board, and having to spend 1 power each to resummon them somewhere useful

Speaking of the keeper of secrets upgrade, when Slaanesh is controlling another player's figure, can he choose to target it in battle?

iceberg84 said:

Speaking of the keeper of secrets upgrade, when Slaanesh is controlling another player's figure, can he choose to target it in battle?

No, and others players (including the player it was stolen from) can attack it

phobiandarkmoon said:

iceberg84 said:

Speaking of the keeper of secrets upgrade, when Slaanesh is controlling another player's figure, can he choose to target it in battle?

No, and others players (including the player it was stolen from) can attack it

Not to be rude, but is that your opinion/interpretation of the rules or is there a section in the rulebook or FAQ that addresses that? I just want to make sure.

"When one player uses an effect that gives him “con-
Trol” of an enemy figure, then for the duration of the
effect, it is as if the figure was of the controlling player’s
color. The controlling player thus rolls battle dice for
that figure, places a corruption token of his own color
during the corruption phase, and so forth." (p. 25)

If you take control of another player's figure, that figure is treated as yours.

Dam said:

"When one player uses an effect that gives him “con-
Trol” of an enemy figure, then for the duration of the
effect, it is as if the figure was of the controlling player’s
color. The controlling player thus rolls battle dice for
that figure, places a corruption token of his own color
during the corruption phase, and so forth." (p. 25)

If you take control of another player's figure, that figure is treated as yours.

Thanks. Again, not trying to be difficult and I don't think I'm equivocating, I just want to understand the rules. I take issue with the 'and so forth' part. I understand everything else, but here's a situation:

Let's say that for all intents and purposes nothing else is happening on the board. Khorne puts one demon in a territory with the keeper of secrets. That demon automatically becomes one of slaanesh's units for the turn so no battle takes place, correct? That doesn't seem right to me. It seems like slaanesh should still be able to kill the invading unit and target it with his dice rolls. Otherwise the khorne player could basically use that as an opportunity to negate the keeper of secret's power by not having battle the first round then having a full round of power points to summon more units.

Thematically, let's say I hypnotize a creature. I should still be able to order my other servants to kill that creature even though it's hypnotized, or force that creature to jump off a cliff.

I think the 'and so forth' part leaves a lot open to interpretation.

What's the wording on the KoS Upgrade, is it automatic, mandatory or optional?

(too lazy to fish CitOW from under the AH boxes)

The KoS upgrade is mandatory. "At the beginning of the battle phase, choose any Cultist or Warrior" ... no "may".

iceberg84 said:

I think the 'and so forth' part leaves a lot open to interpretation.

Actually, it doesn't, because it's after "it is as if the figure was of the controlling player’s color" and thus only leaves the list of examples of applications of the rule open, not the rule itself. When it comes to battle, the rules say that the player has to assign hits to enemy figures: "A player may not allocate hits against his own figures", and a figure controlled by another player is an explicit exception. Since the controlled figure is his own for all intents and purposes (including stuff like a controlled Plaguebearer not being affected by Nurgle's Rain of Pus), that excludes controlled figures from being valid targets for assigning hits to.

On the other hand by the way, rolling battle dice and assigning hits is mandatory. So if Slaanesh controls a Khorne Bloodletter in a region, and there are more Khorne demons in the same region and no Slaanesh figures, the non-controlled Khorne guys have to kill their controlled Bloodletter brother if they can.

Apparently by the way, the FAQ is wrong on page 3, second question. Controlled cultists can be resummoned to another region - and only that makes the FAQ consistent with the core rules, as it would otherwise contradict the rules on page 14 (because moving and summoning are the same thing, as per page 11). Have a look at this thread for more interesting interactions.

IMHO nearly every upgrade is very nice, in the right situation.
The only two upgrades that I cannot imagine ever playing are the demonettes upgrade and the horrors upgrad. Although I am not 100% sure about the second one.