Companions and Massive Figures

By mischraum.de, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

A Massive figure that ends its movement on the space with a companion pushes the companion? The companion rules don't say otherwise.

A companion can, however, enter a space with a Massive figure on it? The companion rules suggest so since a Massive figure is still a figure.

Does anyone know better?

I think the rule:

A companion can end its movement in a space containing another figure, and another figure can end its movement in a space containing a companion.

overrides the Massive rule. But Massive does just say any figures in its space get pushed... I would rule the first, but maybe send a query to FFG Rules?

A companion can share a space with another figure, so in my opinion, another figure ending movement on top of a companion would not push it even if Massive.

A companion can end its movement in a space containing another figure, and another figure can end its movement in a space containing a companion.

If you go with absolutely literal interpretation and do not consider Companion rules to override the core's Massive rules, then a Massive would push the Companion and not be able to move again during the same activation.

However, I think the intent is that a Massive does not push a Companion, because they can share a space. The Massive figure can then also continue movement during the same activation. The core rule only needs a few qualifiers to update it to include companion rules.

An apparent hole in the companion rules. Maybe getting a FFG ruling would be best.

Just because it can end movement in that space doesn't mean the massive rules don't apply.

Companions are essentially figures and follow all figure rules except those listed in the companion rules.

This suggests it should be pushed like any other figure.

Amazing that this didn't come up before. I will send a query to FFG!

Answer from Paul:

Yes, if a massive figure ends its movement in a space containing a companion, that companion would be pushed just like any other figure.

Q:

Can a companion enter a space with a Massive figure? The companion rules suggest so since a Massive figure is still a figure.

A:

Yes, it can.

So you see, interpreting the rules literally gives the right answer even if it seems a little bit counter intuitive to me.

Well, if an AT-ST is bearing down on a little droid, it might panic and get out the way, even if it's happy to get in under the walker's legs once it stops moving.

But the companion does not get out of the way. The Massive figure must end movement and kick it, and then cannot move again during the same activation.

Edited by a1bert