A few Rules Questions

By Rawrster, in Talisman Rules Questions

Ok, we had a few questions pop up during our game tonight. One of the players in the game was a Minstrel. His ability to charm animals and make them followers brought up a few questions. One player cast a spell allowing him to steal a follower from another player. Is he allowed to target the charmed animals? Later on the Minstrel died, what happens to those animal followers then?

Another issue popped up regarding the Runesword. I had it equipped in the Crown of Command area and was fighting a Good aligned player. When he defeated me in a round of combat he wanted to take my Runesword from me instead of having me lose health. His thinking was that once he took the Runesword, since he couldn't have it, it would drop to the ground and I wouldn't be able to pick it back up since we are in combat. I argued that since he couldn't have the sword he couldn't even take it. How should this have played out?

Thanks in advance for some answers.

Rawrster said:

Ok, we had a few questions pop up during our game tonight. One of the players in the game was a Minstrel. His ability to charm animals and make them followers brought up a few questions. One player cast a spell allowing him to steal a follower from another player. Is he allowed to target the charmed animals? Later on the Minstrel died, what happens to those animal followers then?

Those "Followers" don't have the keyword, so can't be Mesmerised/Sorceress'd. Can't recall what the ruling was on what happens to those Followers if the owner dies/Toads, I think there was a ruling about the Ghoul that they get discarded.

Rawrster said:

Another issue popped up regarding the Runesword. I had it equipped in the Crown of Command area and was fighting a Good aligned player. When he defeated me in a round of combat he wanted to take my Runesword from me instead of having me lose health. His thinking was that once he took the Runesword, since he couldn't have it, it would to the ground and I wouldn't be able to pick it back up since we are in combat. I argued that since he couldn't have the sword he couldn't even take it. How should this have played out?

He can't have it, so he can't even take it from you.

Rawrster said:

One of the players in the game was a Minstrel. His ability to charm animals and make them followers brought up a few questions. One player cast a spell allowing him to steal a follower from another player. Is he allowed to target the charmed animals? Later on the Minstrel died, what happens to those animal followers then?

The Animals become a enemy again, if you ditch it, or the minstril is killed.

Same goes for the Ghoul.

No, they are discarded and not put on the board space.

See the thread "Ghoul, minstrel and special followers".

redsimon said:

No, they are discarded and not put on the board space.

See the thread "Ghoul, minstrel and special followers".

Some people ditch the animals on the space, and some people discards them.

The most logical thing for me, is ditching the animal, so he becomes a enemie again.

That's the way how it is played right now.

Discarding the animals makes no sense, because they are not dead.

Agreed!

Ell.

Velhart said:

redsimon said:

No, they are discarded and not put on the board space.

See the thread "Ghoul, minstrel and special followers".

Some people ditch the animals on the space, and some people discards them.

The most logical thing for me, is ditching the animal, so he becomes a enemie again.

That's the way how it is played right now.

Discarding the animals makes no sense, because they are not dead.

The answer I got from John Goodenough was that they are discarded . As Talisman is not a logical game it makes as much sense as any other rule if you discard them.

The answer can be found in the thread "Ghoul, Minstrel and special followers - the second" in the rules questions forum.

redsimon said:

Velhart said:

redsimon said:

No, they are discarded and not put on the board space.

See the thread "Ghoul, minstrel and special followers".

Some people ditch the animals on the space, and some people discards them.

The most logical thing for me, is ditching the animal, so he becomes a enemie again.

That's the way how it is played right now.

Discarding the animals makes no sense, because they are not dead.

The answer I got from John Goodenough was that they are discarded . As Talisman is not a logical game it makes as much sense as any other rule if you discard them.

The answer can be found in the thread "Ghoul, Minstrel and special followers - the second" in the rules questions forum.

I have read that answer 4 month's ago

But i did not like it, and it was not logical for me.

i think that people must choose wich rule, they want to use for the minstrel.

I only agree with the cell option in the dungeon, to avoid problems..

To add something to this topic.

Me and my opponent, have decided that we can put the enemy animal followers from the Minstrel in the cell.

This makes the most sense.

If a Minstrel lands on the cell again, he can try to charm the Enemy animal again.

The Enemy animal has no effect on other characters, who cannot try to controll it.

This will be our rule for now. gui%C3%B1o.gif