For Zillo Technique, it says you must discard one card to add a block.
It doesn't technically say from where.
Does that mean you can discard from your deck, as well as your hand?
For Zillo Technique, it says you must discard one card to add a block.
It doesn't technically say from where.
Does that mean you can discard from your deck, as well as your hand?
I've always discarded from my hand because (I think) cards in your command deck aren't technically in play yet. I might be wrong though.
I would say the reasoning for why you can't is that you have to have something, in order to discard it, and the cards in your deck you haven't yet drawn.
Having said that, under duress uses the term discard.
I'm sure that the intent is for the card to be discarded from hand, just would need to read again to find sort in Rules as Written
I also think it would be a little ridiculous to discard from your command deck.
However, to play devil's advocate, every other card that involves discard seems to specify hand vs command deck.
Also, strain is worded exactly as discarding from the top of your command deck. That's "discarding a command card", so why can't you do that for zillo?
The exact wording:
While a friendly figure is defending, you may discard 1 Command card to apply +1 to the defense results. Limit once per attack.
Edited by DTDanixI was wondering this too. When I played at home, I read it as discard from the deck, however the tournament I went to educated me that it was from my hand. This needs a FAQ!
I guess we've all just assumed it was from the hand but there's nothing actually stating this to be the case. I'm sure that's the intent though.
Agreed it'd need FAQing
DT have you sent the question in yet?
Syntaxair just emailed FFG about this. While it seems customary to discard from hand, as DTDanix points out, other instances specify from where the card is discarded; Zillo doesn't.
They still haven't answered my other rules questions, so I haven't sent this in. Since someone else has already, I won't worry about it.
From the developers:
No, it should be from the hand only.
Sorry for digging up this threat but, I was wondering if this is the official answer from ffg?
The above answer was from the developers, so yes, an official FFG answer.