shiba_nivengo said:
True. But up to now, the rule team tried to convinced us the card text are erorr-free and that we are reading them the wrong way. This game text rewritting would mark a change in this politic.
shiba_nivengo said:
True. But up to now, the rule team tried to convinced us the card text are erorr-free and that we are reading them the wrong way. This game text rewritting would mark a change in this politic.
Actually almost as much out of 9 times out of 10 that would be correct, the people with the questions haven't read the rules properly. Look at how many times people have asked about burning zones and gaining resources or drawing cards, there is nothing in the rules at all that would even imply this, but the question comes up about once every two weeks. I strongly believe rulebooks should outline what you should do to play the game, but in this case I would back a statement about what you don't do.
The rules team is two people which haven't tried to convince anyone of anything I'm betting. I know none of the correspondances that have been posted so far from Nate have said anyting close to "you are reading this wrong" they have all been this is the way it is played." Remember outside of an FFG sponsored tournament you can any card however you want. If you aren't going to be a competitive player then go with the house rules that has you have the most fun. Don't sweat the small stuff. If playing the cards the way FFG intended is important to you then embrace the rulings, try to understand them, and get back to building the best decks you can and rain havok upon your foes.
In regards to changing the card - making this a Forced effect completely changes the card, and making it unique completely changes the way in which this card interacts with the environment. This new ruling is simple to explain and follow. That it doesn't work the way some people want is... unfortunate, and to be expected occassionally. The card doesn't need eratta, it needed a clarification on when and how it is to be played, which we have received, and which will be included in the FAQ.
A possible Errata that clears up the timing question that "At the Beginning of your Turn"-Actions bring up would be something along the lines: "Kingdom. Action: As the first action during your turn, you may return one of your developments to its owner's hand." That way it would be clear that you can only use one such action because it has to be the first one and unlike "At the beginning of your turn" it does not imply an action window before the kingdom phase. I hope that they use text along those lines for future cards with similar effects.
That wording would certainly be better.
It wuld also have to say "in your first action window". Because "the first action" can be true in any action window (if there hasn't been any actions played erlier in the turn).