Collected Rules Questions from Assaf moss and DanishDynamite

By Dam the Man, in Talisman Rules Questions

No, we're not ignoring you guys deliberately (not much anyway lengua.gif ). Getting an error when trying to even read your threads, so hard to reply. I've posted in the Support section about the error. I can read your posts by going to your profile page and clicking to see your posted messages, so copy-pasted from there:

Movement in the Dungeon

1. Can one ride horses in the Dungeon?
2. Is it possible to used teleport in the Dungeon?

#1: Yes

#2: Yes

Rules Questions (character combat)

1. is casting finger of death spell (or fireball) ends a combat between two characters ?

2. in a combat between two characters, how many spells do the defending character can cast ? (only one due to the fact its not his turn or more?)

#1: Not unless it kills one of the characters

#2: Just one, as you surmised, it's not his turn.

Sorceress Special abilities..

Instead of attacking another character the sorceress can attempt to 'beguile' a character (ability #3). However, the sorceress also have the special ability (ability #4) to take any one Follower except the maiden, Unicorn, or princess from a character that you land on.

Questions:

1) Can the sorceress use both of these abilities at the same time or do you have to choose one of them?

2) I assume that it is correct that ability #3 and #4 only can be used on a character you decide to encounter in a non-combat situation (according to the Talisman encounter sequence chart on the back of the rule book)?

#1: Choose one of them.

#2: Yes, Sorceress basically has 4 options available when she lands on a char: 1) battle, 2) psychic combat (per ability), 3) beguile and 4) take Follower

Wait, does that mean that a character can cast up to TWO spells when it's not his turn?

One before or after the player who moved encountered him AND one in combat? Or is it one in total, i.e. only one in combat if the character didn't cast a spell before in that turn, and if he does he cannot cast one until the necxt player's turn?

redsimon said:

Wait, does that mean that a character can cast up to TWO spells when it's not his turn?

One before or after the player who moved encountered him AND one in combat? Or is it one in total, i.e. only one in combat if the character didn't cast a spell before in that turn, and if he does he cannot cast one until the necxt player's turn?

A player can only cast 1 spell in another players turn.

But if it is the turn from the player himself, he can cast 1,2, or 3 spells in combat, if he has not cast a spell earlier in his turn.

@ Velhart: True, but Dam's answer seeems to suggest something different. I quote:

Rules Questions (character combat)

1. is casting finger of death spell (or fireball) ends a combat between two characters ?

2. in a combat between two characters, how many spells do the defending character can cast ? (only one due to the fact its not his turn or more?)

#1: Not unless it kills one of the characters

#2: Just one, as you surmised, it's not his turn.

So I assume, in combat only one spell is possible if no spell has been casted yet and no spell can be casted afterwards.

Key point to note, we're talking about the defending character here. Attacker can cast 3 Spells (or even more if I remember certain Treasures correctly), if he started the turn with 3 Spells in hand:

"The maximum number of Spells a character may cast during
his turn is equal to the number of Spells he had at the start of
that turn." (p. 13)