Hey folks, it took a while but I got an answer back from Sam:
Hello Greg,
Yes.Hope this helps!
Sam StewartRPG ManagerFantasy Flight Games
On Sep 29, 2016, at 11:43 AM, [email protected] wrote:
Message from:Greg
Rules Question:
Hello, When making a Saber Trow attack the RAW states: "Saber Throw: (pg 151 F&D) ... The character must spend (1 Force Point) and succeed on the check to hit the target..." Is the Player required to spend the Force point even if the attack roll fails? Thank you, Greg
Apparently once you commit to the Action you must spend the FP regardless of the outcome. So that would mean that if you only generate one LS point you must to spend it on the Attack even if it fails and would not be able to retrieve your sabre unless you had a second LS point or used a DS point.
I think the intended options are:
1. Succeed & Spend 2 FP to Hit and catch Saber
2. Succeed & spend 1 FP to Hit but Saber is on the ground
3. Succeed & spend 0 FP to miss and Saber is on the ground
4. Fail & Spend 2 FP to miss but catch your Saber
5. Fail & Spend 1 FP to miss and Saber is on the ground
6. Fail & spend 0 FP to miss and Saber is on the ground
Notice there is no difference between 5 & 6, but 4 is the key to Sams answer. When you throw a Saber your going to need at least 2 FP to return it to your hand, no matter what.
I'll repeat myself. These are the 6 possible outcomes for this action.
OK, maybe I am mis-understanding Sam's reply to the question, or maybe I am missing some context to the question that was asked, but my take away is that there is no option 3 or option 6. You must always spend one FP regardless to use this power, and if you have to use an opposite colored pip to do it, then that is what you have to do.
Of course I am a bit thickheaded so this certainly wouldn't be the first nor the last time I interpret something wrong.