Ashcan Pete + Duke Questions

By Drakthal, in Mansions of Madness

So i have a lot of questions about Ashcan Pete and Duke, hope someone can clarify.

  1. Does The Duke even though he is an ally, count as a possession/item. IE can he be traded, and/or can he be dropped by being hit by an effect that makes you drop random items/possessions.
  2. The Duke card says "At the start of your turn you may perform a trade action as if you are in any space within range", does this just mean that i have to use my first action that turn to do the trade action, or will Duke give me a free trade action at the start of my turn. (Doesnt say ACTION: )
  3. The "Any space" of the Duke does that mean that i can choose one space and say "im in that space" for that trade action thereby not being able to pick up items in my own space or trade with investigators in my own space, but pick up and trade with that space instead. Or does it mean that i can trade and pickup with any space within range, or something third.
  4. If i stand in a space with a monster but choose to do a Trade Action with another space do i then have to evade. And what if im in another space and try to trade in a space with a monster?

Think that was it for now.

Best Regards Drakthal

1. There is no such concept as Allies in Mansions of Madness 2.0. There are common or unique items, representing your possessions, and possessions can be traded and so on, as per rules in the Reference Guide

2. "Have to" implies an obligation, while the card offers you a possibility ("may" is used) that you can, or cannot use. The card doesn't say "Action" because you don't need to spend an action to use that ability. So, basically, every turn, at the beginning of your turn, you may opt for a free trade action with any investigator within range thanks to Duke: imagine the dog running from investigator to investigator bringing stuff

3. "any space" implies "any" space from range 0 to range 3, and this means it includes the space you are in; still, Duke allows for one single free trade action, so you could opt your space or a space at range 2, for example, but you can't target both. If you want to perform more than one trade action / turn, one is free due to Duke, and you have to use your action slots for the subsequent

4. You don't have to evade the monster in your space if you use Duke, because using Duke doesn't require an action

Ahh ok thanks alot.

  1. Ok it just said ally just like other things says light source or heavy weapon etc. etc. The reason i asked is that thematically it seems stupid if i drop Duke because i get a broken arm :D
  2. I wrote the question a bit wrong luckily you answered it anyways. What i meant was simply whether the duke trade was a free action or not :)

Yup, there are traits on cards that help when effects target specific keywords (like: effect "every investigator having an ally does [EFFECT]") that could be misleading (so I see why you asked), but yeah, you can drop Duke due to a broken arm. Imagine yourself in a huge pain and unable to deal with the animal (and too suffering to ask why the dog ain't behaving like any normal dog, so, slapping your face and trying to make you feel better)

Happy I helped!

If you want to perform more than one trade action / turn, one is free due to Duke, and you have to use your action slots for the subsequent

To clarify (correct me if I'm wrong, Julia), but if you choose to do an additional trade action in your turn, it has to be within your space, you don't get to use Duke for any trade action, just that "freebie" at the start of your turn.

Right? :)

If you want to perform more than one trade action / turn, one is free due to Duke, and you have to use your action slots for the subsequent

To clarify (correct me if I'm wrong, Julia), but if you choose to do an additional trade action in your turn, it has to be within your space, you don't get to use Duke for any trade action, just that "freebie" at the start of your turn.

Right? :)

Exactly. Trading on distance is only feasible with Duke, and you can't use Duke more than once per turn. So, the other trade action must be within your space