Movement Rule Question

By midknightwraith, in Mansions of Madness

In the Rules Reference, under Explore Action it says "An Investigator can perform an explore action of an Explore token only if he occupies the same space as that token or a space adjacent to the door the Explore token is placed on ."

But on the Quick reference on the back it says: Explore Action: Investigate an Explore token in your space using the app.

The first rule implies that the explore action incorporates movement within it, which is reinforced by the fact that most of the time you also get to move one space into the room. The later requires spending movement and splitting the move action.

Can an Investigator explore a door from an adjacent space and still have a second action? Or does such an action also require taking a move action, thus ending that investigator's turn?

You can't explore a token from an adjacent space. The wording us a bit unclear but as I understand it doors aren't ON a space, they're BETWEEN spaces. Hence you've to be in a space that contains (is adjacent to) a door with an explore token.

Explore tokens doesn't have to be on doors, that's why the wording is strange.

Makes sense to me. That is how I read it initially, but as it was a new game I let someone argue it the other way. Thanks for the clarification.

It is odd though, that Explore can allow you to move up to 3 spaces in a single turn while only taking a single move action (and not being Rita, I love me some Rita!)

It is odd though, that Explore can allow you to move up to 3 spaces in a single turn while only taking a single move action (and not being Rita, I love me some Rita!)

You could look at this the opposite way: That if that door hadn't been unexplored, you could have moved 4 spaces in your turn, instead of 3. The explore becomes a half-move, so you're ONLY allowed to move 3 while spending two actions.

Food for thought. ;-)

This was a battle in Imperial Assault trying to figure out what adjacent to a door meant, we are well versed in this in regards to FFG products and Rigmaster is 100% right, the doors themselves are not considered to be part of any space, but exist between the spaces. So to be adjacent to a door you must be in the space that makes contact with the door, or to simplify it the space must share an edge with a door. Using patented FizzGrid technology in Imperial Assault it looks like this:

[X][X][X]

[X][P][X][D]

[X][X][X]

[X][X][P]

[X][X][X][D]

[X][X][X]

The X's represent spaces, the P represents a person in a space and D represents the door. In this first two examples the person is not in the space that shares an edge with the door so they are not adjacent. They can see the door, and in the second case are soooo close, but are not close enough to interact as they are not considered adjacent.

[X][X][X]

[X][X][P][D]

[X][X][X]

In this second example they are in the space that shares an edge with the door and thus are considered to be adjacent.

This is confusing for IA as you are considered adjacent to figures when you are diagonal, as in example 2, but for the sake of doors you are not unless you share that edge. I haven't run into that problem yet in MoM but something to keep in mind if it does come up. Diagonal =/= adjacent.

Movement is an action and explore is a separate action, a sight token does not require an action. Besides movement the app lets you know by having an action symbol in front of the wording in the box you click.

In first edition the tile to the next room was already in place and exploring was sometimes as easy as moving into the next room, 2nd edition requires you to explore the doorway, find the tile and place whatever tokens are in the room and then says 'you may move one space into the explored room', this movement is optional.

So, yes, three movement in a turn with an explored door is possible. A door blocks adjacency and we play that you have to be in the space with the door to explore it. A door is between spaces so the space with the door is adjacent to the door.