Inquisitor ability question

By RexlarBrath, in X-Wing Rules Questions

So I was flying Fenn Rau yesterday with fearlessness and the concord dawn title and the inquisitor targeted me for an attack and we didn't know if the title would trigger. We ruled that it would trigger because autothrusters doesn't work if attacked by the inquisitor. Also would Fenn Rau's ability activate too? Thank you for the help.

Not currently clear by RAW, needs FAQ.

My guess will be that Inq will activate both CDP (if in the Fang's arc) and Fenn's ability, but I've been wrong before.

Given the Title has similar wording to the errata'd Autothrusters, while Fenn Rau specifically checks for your range to the ship rather than the attack range, I think the title would and Fenn Rau wouldn't trigger on an attack where the Inquisitor was outside of range 1.

Fenn will certainly not trigger, that ability is very clearly a model to model ability like Carnor Jax. There's uncertainty around the title but I think when looking at the exact wording it's clear it shouldn't trigger either.

Errata'd autothrusters:

“When defending, if you are inside the attacker’s firing

arc beyond Range 2 or outside the attacker’s firing

arc, you may change 1 of your blank results to a

result. You can equip this card only if you have the

action icon.”

Title:

When defending, if you are inside the attacker's firing arc and at range 1 and the attacker is inside your firing arc, add 1 evade result.

The key difference being small but critical. The AND in the title to me makes those two seperate conditions. I believe the title reads as if 1) you are in their arc and 2) you are range 1 (meaning it's ship to ship because the only time it uses range of attack is for 'in arc at range blah') and 3) they are in your arc then you get the evade.

The and in the title to me is what keeps it from activating because if it said 'in arc at range 1' then that would use their fancy phrase and be activated by the attack.

I'm pretty sure Nigeltastic is right. I'll submit the question for another reason:

1) Fenn is going to be pretty popular

2) The Inquisitor is pretty popular

3) This scenario (and question) is going to come up regularly

4) I'll take me less time to post the question and to have the answer on hand later on (by posting it in our Facebook group) than to argue about it on multiple occasions :P

I'm also hoping they faq it regardless because it will be a Frequently Asked Question for sure.

The thing that makes me think it wouldn't give me the extra evade result is because it mentions the ship is at range 1, yes the inquisitor treats it as range 1 but to me that doesn't mean the the ship is at range 1.

Edited by RexlarBrath

I think the key to all this lies in The Inquisitor's FAQ entry:

The Inquisitor

When the Inquisitor attacks with his primary weapon, he rolls an additional attack die. If the defender is at Range 3, the defender does not roll an additional defense die.
Only the range of the attack is treated as Range 1. Any abilities that reference the range of ships, such as Carnor Jax or Scum & Villainy Boba Fett, are not affected by The Inquisitor’s ability.
Autothrusters does not trigger against The Inquisitor’s primary weapon attack.

Fenn and Boba's abilities are very similar, so if Boba is unaffected, then Fenn would be unaffected also. The same would apply to the Concord Dawn Protector title.