Some Empire questions, and general as wellI

By BrooklynMike, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

I got a chance to play several games with an Empire deck and started to get a much better appreciation of the cards, their powers, etc. Several questions arose that I'm hoping get clarifications on, both Empire-specific and general:

= Attachments; Is there any limit to the number of attachments on a unit? The Orc player was loading up a unit with 3 Warp Lightening Cannons, Choppas etc to the point where a single unit was slinging 10 - 12 hammers and burning capital sections in a single attack

= Nordland Halbardiers: says "You may play this unit from your hand any time you could take an action". Do I understand the implication that this means I can hold off playing this card in the Capital phase, wait until the opponent selects and declares an attack and then play the card in the next action phase (after declaration of attack, before declaration of defenders) as a 'surprise'? Do I have to pay the 4 resource cost when played like this? Are there other implications I'm not getting?

= The Greatswords: says "Forced: After a unit enters this zone, The Greatswords gains a Power until the end of this turn". If I play a The Greatswords does that card (the one I just played) get the extra Power, or only those already in the zone? Also, say I have 3 The Greatswords in a zone, do they all get a Power when a unit enters?

= Talabheim Detachment: says " Action: Spend one resource to return this unit to its owner's hand". Do I understand the implication to be that I can pay a resource, put the card back into my hand, then play it again later into another zone? Also, I'm assuming that if the unit has a damage it will lose that damage when I [

= Church of Sigmar: says "Opponents cannot target your units with card effects unless they pay an additional 1 resource per effect". So, what happens when an Orc card says "Units in this zone get an additional Power" and the Orc player attacks with a pumped up unit: does the "cannot target" clause prevent the pumped up units cannot attack those protected by Church of Sigmar without paying, because the pump up effect is being used on the the Empire units?

Thanks

BrooklynMike said:

I got a chance to play several games with an Empire deck and started to get a much better appreciation of the cards, their powers, etc. Several questions arose that I'm hoping get clarifications on, both Empire-specific and general:

= Attachments; Is there any limit to the number of attachments on a unit? The Orc player was loading up a unit with 3 Warp Lightening Cannons, Choppas etc to the point where a single unit was slinging 10 - 12 hammers and burning capital sections in a single attack

= Nordland Halbardiers: says "You may play this unit from your hand any time you could take an action". Do I understand the implication that this means I can hold off playing this card in the Capital phase, wait until the opponent selects and declares an attack and then play the card in the next action phase (after declaration of attack, before declaration of defenders) as a 'surprise'? Do I have to pay the 4 resource cost when played like this? Are there other implications I'm not getting?

= The Greatswords: says "Forced: After a unit enters this zone, The Greatswords gains a Power until the end of this turn". If I play a The Greatswords does that card (the one I just played) get the extra Power, or only those already in the zone? Also, say I have 3 The Greatswords in a zone, do they all get a Power when a unit enters?

= Talabheim Detachment: says " Action: Spend one resource to return this unit to its owner's hand". Do I understand the implication to be that I can pay a resource, put the card back into my hand, then play it again later into another zone? Also, I'm assuming that if the unit has a damage it will lose that damage when I [

= Church of Sigmar: says "Opponents cannot target your units with card effects unless they pay an additional 1 resource per effect". So, what happens when an Orc card says "Units in this zone get an additional Power" and the Orc player attacks with a pumped up unit: does the "cannot target" clause prevent the pumped up units cannot attack those protected by Church of Sigmar without paying, because the pump up effect is being used on the the Empire units?

Thanks

here are my answers.

1. No limit on number of attachments that can be placed on a unit.

2. Yes you can play them ANY time you can play an action but you will have to pay for them.

3. I have asked Nate if the Greatswords get the benefit of their own effect when they first enter play themsleves. No answer yet. If you had 3 Greatswords in a zone and another unit entered the zone, each one of your Greatswords would gain 1 power.

4. Yes you can pick them up and then play them subsequently (during a capitol phase). Yes it will lose it's damage. Handy ability when your opponent drops a troll vomit (assuming you have the resources to pick them up).

5. Church of Sigmar applies to card effects that TARGET your units. In your example, the TARGET of of the Orc power up card is the Orc units and thus Church does not trigger.