Ramming, Overlap and Damage

By Undeadguy, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

I played a game where my opponent was going to move an Interdictor at speed 2 and every maneuver was blocked. I had a Corvette blocking the speed 2, and his Victory was blocking speed 1. My question is who takes the ramming damage, the Corvette or Victory?

I understand that the closest ship will take the damage. But I thought that refers to overlapping 2 ships at the final destination, not the closest at reduced speed maneuvers. My opinion is the Corvette will take the damage, because it initially blocks the maneuver, and the Victory simply is there to reduce the maneuver to 0.

Here is the picture of the action.

post-252307-0-42231100-1474301355_thumb.jpg

Edited by Undeadguy

Basicaloly, you determined there was an Overlap at Speed 2...

You have not finished your Maneuver.

You reduce speed to Speed 1.

You Determine there is an Overlap at Speed 1...

You have not finished your Maneuver.

You Reduce Speed to speed 0.

At Speed 0, there is no Overlap.

You ahve Finished your maneuver.

Now determine the Closest Ship to your final maneuver position. That ship will be Rammed.

in this case, the CR90.

I mean, let me real-world a little bit here, and why it happens.

You place the maneuver tool on the Table.

You PICK UP THE SHIP, AND ATTEMPT TO PLACE IT AT SPEED 2 ....

You can't MEASURE anything while the ship isn't on the table - and its not on the Table - Its in your Hand. And it can't go on the Table, ebcasues something else is in the way........

So you go to place it at Speed 1, and the same problem happens. How can I measure To or From something thats in my hand and not on the Table?


That is why you use the "Final" measurement, and "Final' is in the wording of "WHERE I CAN FINALLY PUT THE SHIP BACK DOWN, DAMMIT!" :D

Ok that makes sense. I just reread the RRG and FAQ and I'm not sure where the confusion was. Thanks! :D

First of all, the way the rule is written:

If a ship executes a maneuver and its final position would overlap another ship, it cannot finish its maneuver normally. Instead, temporarily reduce its speed by one (without changing the speed dial) and move the ship at the new speed. This process continues until the ship can finish its maneuver, even if that maneuver is to remain in place at speed “0.” Then deal one facedown damage card to the ship that moved and the closest ship that it overlapped.

What does this mean? Let's use an example: VxU8JrT.jpg

The CR90 is moving at speed 2. He really wants to ram the ISD, but not the MC30. He places the template like so, and tries to land at the third (speed 2) notch. He overlaps the ISD and the MC30. So he backs off to the second notch, where he overlaps only the MC30. So he backs off to the first notch, where he started.

On his projected course, the CR90 overlapped both ships. This means that both are "candidates" for having been rammed. How do we know which one it was?

the closest ship that it overlapped

So we measure to every ship that it overlapped. 0QJ1nyY.jpg

As you can see, the distance to the MC30 is larger than the distance to the ISD at the CR90's ending position. So, even though the MC30 was the first ship that the CR90 would have overlapped along the plotted course, the facedown card actually goes to the ISD.

I find it's easiest to think of it as a list of overlap candidates that is populated as you go through trying to accomplish your maneuver. At each notch of the prospective maneuver, you check every ship for overlap. Any ship that would be overlapped at that position goes on the "overlap candidates" list if it's not already on there. Then, once you have determined your ship's final position, you go through each ship on the overlap candidates list and check the distance to each one. The closest distance is the one that takes the hit.

Edit: sorry the pictures are awful quality and huge. GIMP and I don't get along too well. :/

If two ships are touching at the beginning of the round, can they attack each other? Can squadrons attack ships they are touching if there are not engaged with a squadron?

32 minutes ago, Scopes said:

If two ships are touching at the beginning of the round, can they attack each other? Can squadrons attack ships they are touching if there are not engaged with a squadron?

Yes and yes. Being in contact does nothing, and with squadrons you sometimes want to do it. (This is not X-Wing, ignore what you know from there.)

It's almost impossible for two ships to end in contact, because you jump back to the last pre-overlap notch on the maneuver tool. You don't move as far as possible along the segment. (Again, forget other games.)

34 minutes ago, Scopes said:

If two ships are touching at the beginning of the round, can they attack each other? Can squadrons attack ships they are touching if there are not engaged with a squadron?

Yes they can. Forget all you know from X-Wing, in Armada it doesn't matter if their bases are touching, as long as the enemy ship/squadron is inside the attacking arc and in range, they can attack.

2 hours ago, elbmc1969 said:

Yes and yes. Being in contact does nothing, and with squadrons you sometimes want to do it. (This is not X-Wing, ignore what you know from there.)

It's almost impossible for two ships to end in contact, because you jump back to the last pre-overlap notch on the maneuver tool. You don't move as far as possible along the segment. (Again, forget other games.)

Yes...my son and I had been playing that wrong until we re-read the RRG. Still, we had one last evening and decided to go ahead and attack. We guessed right.

And man, you guys are right about XWM vs. Armada. I really like Armada more that XWM, and I like XWM quite a bit. Armada is a much different game and way more strategic and tactical.

Wow, wasn't expecting to see this thread again. Back from my first game in the RTP area.