Are objects (like terminals) considered "friendly figures" ?

By Kanpeki, in Imperial Assault Campaign

Are objects like terminals that can be attacked considered "friendly figures" for the Imperials? Or "hostile figures" for the Rebels? I used Mak's "Ambush" on a terminal the other night and was able to destroy it thanks to the Pierce 2. But later in the mission, the Imperial Player used the Royal Guard Champion's "Executor" ability in reaction to us destroying a terminal. We ruled that since I'd been able to use "Ambush" on one, he should be able to trigger "Executor" on the other. But I'm curious if maybe we were both wrong?

Objects, including terminals, are not considered figures. This tripped up my playgroup too!

From Page 20 of the Rules Reference Guide:

Objects

Objects refer to elements on the map that are not figures . Doors,
crates, and terminals are all considered to be objects.

Edited by Manath

Yeah, both of those are wrong. Both abilities (Ambush and Executor) reference "figures," and objects are not considered to be figures.

Objects that have health are targets, but they are not figures.

a good rule of thumb is;

if it's a token it's an object. If it's a miniature (or token representing a miniature), it's a figure.

if it's a token it's an object. If it's a miniature (or token representing a miniature), it's a figure.

Really the only exception to this are the new companion units that are only represented via tokens with yellow borders. Other than that, this a very good rule of thumb.

Companions are figures with some restrictions, so the companion tokens are representing the companion figures. For example in the same way as an IG-88 token is representing the IG-88 figure or Han Solo token is representing the Han Solo figure.

(Mission) tokens that represent mission objectives are not figures unless explicitly defined so. For example Shortatha in Indebted is not a figure even when he is given a name. Some missions make mission tokens Neutral figures, in which case the tokens represent figures - thus block line of sight and other figures cannot end movement in their space, and other things the Neutral figures chapter in RRG defines.