Quick junk droid clarification

By beefcake4000, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

So, is the gunsight swarm still viable post Jabba?

-ryanjamal

On 1/6/2017 at 3:40 PM, DTDanix said:

Because you know, the Junk Droid discussion can never end.

Just got this rules response email:

Hi Daniel,

Apologies for the wait with this question. Ugnaught Tinkerers will be receiving the following errata to make its interaction clearer with the companion rules:
[Action] Spot Weld: Put the Junk Droid companion into play in an adjacent space.”
Your proposed line of play is valid. This was the design intention, and should be played this way effective immediately.
Hope that helps clear things up!

Todd Michlitsch

Game Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
My question was basically, "Can I use the droid, create a new one, then use it again?"
Sounds like they're switching this up. A decent buff to ugnaughts, now that Jabba basically makes them unplayable.

Um wow, that went against the general consensus and the worlds ruling right? Well, the worlds ruling was for how it was written but this rewrites the text to an intent.

So, you can have two separate droids per ugnaught turn (if done right) and three for an elite ugnaughts turn?

And they don't trigger nefarious gains unless they are defeated by an opponent, as "put into play" does not defeat the junk droid. Still be interesting to test it out and see just whether a junk droid is a liability against jabba or something that can work around him enough to cause problems and win games still. Especially since only jabba players get any points for defeating the junk droid.

Not sure how everyone else feels about this ruling, but I like it. Ugnaughts are tough little scrappers that now are pretty attractive to play in skirmishes.

So putting the Junk Droid into play is now considered to be a "new droid".with the companion card ready (and no status effects)?

Yes.