Quick junk droid clarification

By beefcake4000, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

So my query is essentially are there times when an ugnaughts junk droid doesn't count as a normal model. If it makes a difference I'm primarily asking for skirmish. For example.

Can it stack with another model rather than requiring its own square?

Can it interact with a terminal?

Could it use Sorins. Abilities?

Can it use devotion because it has the droid classification?

Cheers

You can find the Companion rules from the Bespin Gambit rulebook, downloadable from:

https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/products/star-wars-imperial-assault/

* A companion can end its movement in a space containing another figure, and another figure can end its movement in a space containing a companion.
* A companion cannot interact and cannot use abilities on Class, Item, or Supply cards.

So, yes - it can share a space with another figure, no - cannot interact, yes on Sorin, yes (I think) on Devotion.

Somewhat of a thread hijack here, but I still have 1 remaining question about the junk droid.

Has the following line of play been confirmed to be legal?

1) Junk Droid already on board

2) Activate ugnaught group

3) Activate junk droid, move/attack.

4) Activate Ugnaught, move, place new junk droid

5) Activate junk droid, move attack.

The companion rules seem to suggest this works because they say it comes into play Ready.

However, I've only seen confirmation that the junk droid can go before or after an ugnaught group.

I sent in a rules query for this a couple weeks ago, but no response.

Apparently, Place does not actually remove the Junk Droid from play, it teleports it to the Ugnaught. So, the companion card stays exhausted, and the Junk Droid cannot activate again until the next Ugnaught Tinkerer activation (or Ready step of the status phase) readies it.

Also, the Companion rule about adding another copy removing the first one never comes to play.

I heard that the intent was for Spot Weld to defeat the old copy, then deploy a new one. But defeating a figure would've triggered abilities like Executor and Vengeance, so the word "defeat" was changed to Place, which didn't quite work out as expected.

Todd, Paul, and Tony are probably trying to decide whether to rule it as written, or as intended (perhaps issue an errata).

Going strictly by the companion rules:
​The old one is "removed from the map".

The new one is "put into play".

"When a companion is put into play, place the companion card face up in the Ready position."

So I don't know where you're getting this teleport/stays exhausted thing from.

How about the Rules Reference Guide:

Many effects place figures or tokens on specific spaces of the map.
· When a figure on the map is placed, it is removed from its current space and then placed where indicated.
· Placing a figure in a space requires no movement points.
· A player cannot choose to place a figure in a space where it cannot end its movement, such as in a space containing another figure, blocking terrain, or impassable terrain.

· When a figure is placed, it enters the space(s) where it is placed.

So, when placed, a figure is not removed from play first.

Being Placed is not "put into play". The Companion rules do not trigger, like I already said above.

Edited by a1bert

FAQ:

When a companion is put into play under a player’s control, if
that companion was already in play under that player’s control,
it is removed from the map first.

So, there are currently no rules that actually "put a companion into play," if the Ugnaught Tinkerer's "place" doesn't count as "putting it into play"

But when you first use Spot Weld, it does put the JD into play. So the "place" is considered putting it into play the first time, but not after that?

This is basically why I think this needs a rules response. I don't think there is enough in the rules to say with confidence one way or the other.

Anyone ever get an official rules response about this? They seem to have ignored mine so I put another one in.

Just following up on my original post which in hindsight was poorlu worded. To clarify the junkdroid rules say no interact so it can take claim an objective in say 'reprogramed' but to claim a terminal at the end of the turn for the extra card you dont need to interact. So a droid can get the card right? Or stop an enemy claiming a card from a terminal? F

You don't claim terminals, you control terminals. (Claiming an object moves the object in to your play area.)

Yes, companions are counted for control of terminals. (And can thus also contest terminals.) Companion rules do not restrict it, and the designers have confirmed that for me in a private communication.

I haven't yet heard about how Spot Weld should behave when the Junk Droid is already on the map (the Place / Redeploy difference between rules as written and intent). Hopefully FFG can decide before the next FAQ comes out.

Edited by a1bert

You don't claim terminals, you control terminals. (Claiming an object moves the object in to your play area.)

Yes, companions are counted for control of terminals. (And can thus also contest terminals.) Companion rules do not restrict it, and the designers have confirmed that for me in a private communication.

I haven't yet heard about how Spot Weld should behave when the Junk Droid is already on the map (the Place / Redeploy difference between rules as written and intent). Hopefully FFG can decide before the next FAQ comes out.

Has this been ruled on yet? It's kind of a big difference if it means the junk droid can go, then uhnaught can bring it back and junk droid can go again. And an elite can let junk droid go, then spot weld it and let it attack, then junk droid can go one more time since it's readied. That's two junk droid attacks on each ugnaught turn and three on elite's turns.

I agree on those rulings.. :D

Wild Attack does not require that you attack figures (Dianoga is an object). I am intimate with the attack steps and the Hide during attack case has been discussed before, as has the Comm Disruption case. And as long as the mission rules does not call for non-blocking spaces, objects can be placed and moved through blocking terrain spaces.

So, I'm personally interested more about the unclear cases. :D

Like are Junk Droids played as written or as intended?

Oh yeah. I asked about the junk droids first thing.

When a new spot weld happens, the droid moves over there without any changes. So if it was exhausted already, it stays exhausted, if it was stunned, it stays stunned. Etc.

Also for To Your Stations! All targets of the stations must be selected before damage is dealt to them which was something else that people didn't seem to be able to agree on.

Also if a figure is standing on the Dianoga, you can still target the dianoga provided your LOS doesn't pass through the figure on top of it. So no targeting the back corners if there's a figure there, since that figure still blocks LOS.

I just found this from roguelieutenant judging at worlds.

I heard that during Worlds Spot Weld was ruled as written - the Junk Droid is just picked up from its previous location and placed on the new one without affecting its state. (Yeah, you were faster than me.)

So, apparently FFG will errata it if they decide to fix it to work as intended.

I have not heard anything to my own inquiry.

So what's the final ruling on this RAW? Can the Junk droid theoretically activate twice during the Tinkerer's activation if it was already on the board and the then the Tinkerer uses Spot Weld? Need to know, and I'm not a RAI player other than official FAQs/Errata.

There is nothing official aside from Worlds rulings, which technically don't count as "precedent" according to the designer I got the answer from.

The answer is no, unless the junk droid dies during its activation. If it dies, then the ugnaught figure goes and places a new one, it counts as a new junk droid and readies when it enters play.

The reasoning is that the "place" wording on Spot Weld does not remove it from play, thus it does not enter play and does not ready.

Edited by DTDanix

So just to confirm, Spot Wield does not give you a new droid (unless the old droid's dead), and since "it activates as though it was part of your group" you cannot mix actions between the ug & the droid:

So this is legal:

<empty board>

Ug1 activates, action #1 spot wield (droid's here!), action #2 move, droid moveX2

Ug2 activate (droid's active again), droid move, attack. Ug2 action #1 move, action #2 spot wield (teleports droid back)

Ug3 activate (droid's active again)...

and this is illegal:

<empty board>

Ug1 activate, action #1 spot wield (new droid), droid moveX2, action #2 move <-- can't mix actions

this is also illegal:

<empty board>

Ug1 activates, action #1 spot wield (droid's here!), action #2 move, droid moveX2

Ug2 activate (droid's active again), droid move, attack. Ug2 action #1 spot wield (another droid), action #2 move, droid move, attack <-- spot wield doesn't give you a new droid

When you activate a group, each figure in the group is activated separately in your preferred order. During an activation a figure gains 2 actions. Only one figure can be activating at a time.

When you activate an Ugnaught Tinkerer group, you must activate any ready figure in it in your preferred order. The Junk Droid is readied at the start of the Ugnaught Tinkerer's group activation, so if it is on the map, it can activate before the Ugnaught figure if you choose so. If you don't activate Junk Droid before the Ugnaught figure, you have to activate it after the Ugnaught.

So the examples are correct (valid, invalid, invalid), but they would be more clear if you make the distinction between group activation and figure activations.

(Spot Weld does not ready the Junk Droid, only places it.)

Edited by a1bert

Because you know, the Junk Droid discussion can never end.

Just got this rules response email:

Hi Daniel,

Apologies for the wait with this question. Ugnaught Tinkerers will be receiving the following errata to make its interaction clearer with the companion rules:
[Action] Spot Weld: Put the Junk Droid companion into play in an adjacent space.”
Your proposed line of play is valid. This was the design intention, and should be played this way effective immediately.
Hope that helps clear things up!

Todd Michlitsch
Game Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
My question was basically, "Can I use the droid, create a new one, then use it again?"
Sounds like they're switching this up. A decent buff to ugnaughts, now that Jabba basically makes them unplayable.

Whoa so you're now telling me I can do this?

Ug1: spot wield, move. Droid move, move

Ug2: Droid move, attack . move, spot wield, Droid move, attack

i.e. Droid can actually attack twice per Ugnaught's activation (well, technically they're 2 different droids) if the droid is already on the map

Yes, the tradeoff is the action needed from the Ugnaught Tinkerer.

But not exactly. Spot Weld creates a new Junk Droid and the old one disappears (without being defeated). So the same Junk Droid is not activating twice per Ugnaught. :D

So "place" does mean "put into play"! I knew it... :D

Place still means place. But Spot Weld will become put into play. :P

Place still means place. But Spot Weld will become put into play. :P

Right :)

About time that they finally got around to clarifying to this one.