Murne False Orders - what does she get to use?

By Stompburger, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

When Murne uses False Orders, what abilities does she get to use for the Hostile Figure?

Obviously, she can use surge abilities, like ~+1 damage, etc. But what about class cards and other abilities? Among the things this could affect:

Show of Force - not an attachment, need to exhaust to use, can be used on any Imperial Attack

Imperial Industry - attachment, adds surge abilities

Parting Shot (hired guns, Greedo) - happens during the attack if the figure is defeated during the attack - could she trigger it and use it?

Experimental Arms - attachment, optional ability

Shock Troopers - not an attachment, no cost, applies to all Imperial Troopers

Menace (Agent Blaise) - would be silly for Rebels to increase threat, but is it an option?

Executor (Royal Guard Champion) - this happens during the attack if the RGC kills an ally. Obviously Murne can't do this because the RGC is too expensive, but would she be able to otherwise?

If anyone has a general rule to apply to all cases, that would be nice to know.

She can use class card attachments, because they belong to the figure. She cannot use other class cards (like Show of Force), because they belong to the imperial player and not to the figure.

Parting Shot: Is not an ability related to performing an attack. I would guess Parting Shot is performed by the real controller of the figure.

(Although the rules say "control the figure during that attack", Murne's ability says "Perform an attack with that figure." which to me only means the attack and attack abilities.)

Experimental Arms: attachment usable during attacking, can be used.

Menace: is a surge ability, yes, but need threat level 6 to control Blaise.

Executor: No (even if threat level could be 15), because other figures would not be friendly to RGC while controlled.

Edited by a1bert

Okay, that's what I expected. Parting Shot I think I'd interpret the same way you do.

Parting Shot would also not take effect until after the attack resolves so control would return to the Imperial player.

(Normally Parting Shot is triggered when the target figure has suffered damage upto his Health, during step 7 of the attack, before being defeated. It definitely happens during the attack, before any after-attack-resolves abilities.)

If the attacker is defeated by Experimental Arms though, it happens after the attack.

If defeated by Keep the Peace, it happens during the attack, Parting Shot interrupts, the attacking figure is defeated and the attack is aborted.

Edited by a1bert

If Parting Shot happens during the attack, then Murne does get to use it. The rules say:

• Some abilities allow players to perform an attack with a hostile
figure. To resolve such an attack, the player resolving the
ability controls the hostile figure for the duration of that attack.

Parting Shot clearly happens during "the duration of that attack," so I think going by RAW we have to say Murne gets to use Parting Shot.

Sorry, I misread the card. I don't use the Hired Guns at all and had the wrong timing. I retract my previous statement.

Still trying to figure this out - for example, in the Precision Training Imperial class, the card Find the Weakness reads:

"While an Imperial Figure is attacking, apply +1 Pierce to the attack results."

Does this apply to False Orders? I know the rules say that for mission rules the figure is considered to be both Rebel and Imperial, but what about for class cards?

Only the figure's abilities can be used. Find the Weakness belongs to the Imperial player, not to the figure performing the attack, so it is not applied to the attack.

It does not matter that the figure being controlled is still an Imperial figure, and also a Rebel figure for any mission rules. (Mission rules may allow rebel figures to attack doors, so it has to be made possible for False Orders.)

-- The player resolving the ability rolls the attack dice and can use any of the figure's abilities as if the figure were his own.
Edited by a1bert