Hey now I wouldn't go name calling just because someone disagrees with you. For the record, on first reading most people in my group thought you can't use Yavaris if you moved a squadron at all that turn. We've come around, but if a decent sized group came to that understanding then the base meaning isn't probably as clear as you made it out to be. Quite ironically, it took us getting pedantic to get it the right way.
Fighter Coordination Team + Flight Commander + Yavaris
Reading is good as is comprehension.
The bit i think is ambigious, when do you declare squadron command use?
You declare it at the same time. Which is Reveal of Dial.
However, you do not resolve it until after your Maneuver.
I think the question itself is ambiguous
You declare whether you keep the dial to spend it later for command use or spend it right now for the token when you reveal the dial.
You then spend the dial or token when you want to resolve the command, which when you're equiped with FC is either after the reveal command dial step or after executing a move. ("Squadron: Resolve after revealing the ship’s command dial", Command RRG p.3, vs "you can resolve your squad command after you execute a maneuver" from the card).
I'm probably overlooking something, but I can't find anything about declaring use of a command in the RRG, you just do it.
I'm just splitting hairs, but by that logic you will inevitably have people saying you can't resolve after the maneuver because you haven't declared you would in the formerly only acceptable timing.
Edited by Gowtah
The bit i think is ambigious, when do you declare squadron command use?
You declare it at the same time. Which is Reveal of Dial.
However, you do not resolve it until after your Maneuver.
I think the question itself is ambiguous
![]()
You declare whether you keep the dial to spend it later for command use or spend it right now for the token when you reveal the dial.
You then spend the dial or token when you want to resolve the command, which when you're equiped with FC is either after the reveal command dial step or after executing a move. ("Squadron: Resolve after revealing the ship’s command dial", Command RRG p.3, vs "you can resolve your squad command after you execute a maneuver" from the card).
I'm probably overlooking something, but I can't find anything about declaring use of a command in the RRG, you just do it.
I'm just splitting hairs, but by that logic you will inevitably have people saying you can't resolve after the maneuver because you haven't declared you would in the formerly only acceptable timing.
No, you're not splitting hairs - you are correct . I just re-read the manual twice, and no reference to declaring.
I've been doing that on Automatic pilot, as I thought it considerate to my opponent - which it is. But its also unneccessary.
You simply Resolve commands at the appropriate time.
Normally, that is on Dial Reveal for a Squadron Command.
With Flight Commander, that may be after you execute your maneuver instead.
Flight Commander seems to give you a second window, instead of what would normally be a "missed opportunity".
Interesting, so undone by politeness. Sounds about right.
Hey now I wouldn't go name calling just because someone disagrees with you. For the record, on first reading most people in my group thought you can't use Yavaris if you moved a squadron at all that turn. We've come around, but if a decent sized group came to that understanding then the base meaning isn't probably as clear as you made it out to be. Quite ironically, it took us getting pedantic to get it the right way.
Nice idea. But there is no word at all about this turn. By this logic it should be ever. Whenever the squadron moved this game, it cannot attack twice with Yavaris.
The sentense (if it does not move) is standing behind the squadron commando. It does not matter what happend to the squadron earlier this turn or even this game. It is part of the effect.
If they have to start to FAQ all these parts, that some mention here, the FAQ will be 100 pages long, with 1 page for each card....
The bit i think is ambigious, when do you declare squadron command use?
You declare it at the same time. Which is Reveal of Dial.
However, you do not resolve it until after your Maneuver.
I think the question itself is ambiguous
![]()
You declare whether you keep the dial to spend it later for command use or spend it right now for the token when you reveal the dial.
You then spend the dial or token when you want to resolve the command, which when you're equiped with FC is either after the reveal command dial step or after executing a move. ("Squadron: Resolve after revealing the ship’s command dial", Command RRG p.3, vs "you can resolve your squad command after you execute a maneuver" from the card).
I'm probably overlooking something, but I can't find anything about declaring use of a command in the RRG, you just do it.
I'm just splitting hairs, but by that logic you will inevitably have people saying you can't resolve after the maneuver because you haven't declared you would in the formerly only acceptable timing.
No, you're not splitting hairs - you are correct . I just re-read the manual twice, and no reference to declaring.
I've been doing that on Automatic pilot, as I thought it considerate to my opponent - which it is. But its also unneccessary.
I ask people if they are taking the token or using it so I know what to expect and I do the same. I guess you don't declare the use of the command but it is nice for someone to say that they are not taking a token.
I need to try this.
Hey now I wouldn't go name calling just because someone disagrees with you. For the record, on first reading most people in my group thought you can't use Yavaris if you moved a squadron at all that turn. We've come around, but if a decent sized group came to that understanding then the base meaning isn't probably as clear as you made it out to be. Quite ironically, it took us getting pedantic to get it the right way.
Nice idea. But there is no word at all about this turn. By this logic it should be ever. Whenever the squadron moved this game, it cannot attack twice with Yavaris.
The sentense (if it does not move) is standing behind the squadron commando. It does not matter what happend to the squadron earlier this turn or even this game. It is part of the effect.
If they have to start to FAQ all these parts, that some mention here, the FAQ will be 100 pages long, with 1 page for each card....
I'm not sure we are talking about the same thing. I said I agree with your interpretation of the rule. Full stop
BUT I do understand the "turn" interpretation because it that is a normal reasonable gaming convention used quite a bit. What I was pointing out is that I find it kind of concerning that people tend to act like a different interpretation (or mistake) is somehow worthy of being derided. I was just pointing out why that isn't really fair. Case in point is that the Yavaris question keeps popping up. Another example would be to take some absolute rookies and give them the Yavaris combo with no input. You actually have to pretty nuanced in the rules to get it right. My gut, and personal experience since we did it, tells me you would get inconsistent answers on how to use it from people unfamiliar or just starting giving a clear example that the card isn't clear cut. TLDR: the Yavaris combo works but you have to put on your thinking cap.
At this point I'm convinced that these kind of rules battles go on for as long as they do because the insults start flying and no one wants to back down because they don't want to lose face.
Edited by ImpStarDeucesI'm not sure we are talking about the same thing. I said I agree with your interpretation of the rule. Full stopHey now I wouldn't go name calling just because someone disagrees with you. For the record, on first reading most people in my group thought you can't use Yavaris if you moved a squadron at all that turn. We've come around, but if a decent sized group came to that understanding then the base meaning isn't probably as clear as you made it out to be. Quite ironically, it took us getting pedantic to get it the right way.
Nice idea. But there is no word at all about this turn. By this logic it should be ever. Whenever the squadron moved this game, it cannot attack twice with Yavaris.
The sentense (if it does not move) is standing behind the squadron commando. It does not matter what happend to the squadron earlier this turn or even this game. It is part of the effect.
If they have to start to FAQ all these parts, that some mention here, the FAQ will be 100 pages long, with 1 page for each card....
BUT I do understand the "turn" interpretation because it that is a normal reasonable gaming convention used quite a bit. What I was pointing out is that I find it kind of concerning that people tend to act like a different interpretation (or mistake) is somehow worthy of being derided. I was just pointing out why that isn't really fair. Case in point is that the Yavaris question keeps popping up. Another example would be to take some absolute rookies and give them the Yavaris combo with no input. You actually have to pretty nuanced in the rules to get it right. My gut, and personal experience since we did it, tells me you would get inconsistent answers on how to use it from people unfamiliar or just starting giving a clear example that the card isn't clear cut. TLDR: the Yavaris combo works but you have to put on your thinking cap.
At this point I'm convinced that these kind of rules battles go on for as long as they do because the insults start flying and no one wants to back down because they don't want to lose face.
A proud wargaming tradition that predates the internet!
My philosophy when teaching a game is that there is no stupid questions.
The arrogance and patronizing in this thread is worthy of the X-Wing forum. Good work guys.
Back to the topic on hand, we just had a tournament today in San Antonio with 12 people and both of the Texas regional champions in attendance as well several other players who have finished well in tournaments in the past. The top table both had Rebel Bombers, Fighter Coordination Teams, Flight Commander, and Yavaris. For that matter, we both had the exact same layout on Bright Hope (Boosted Comms, Bomber Command Center). I think we can definitely expect to see Yavaris+FCT+FC in a lot more lists that are doing well in the coming days.
Let me just be the first to say....
It is winning against unprepared opponents!!!! It must be OVERPOWERED!!!
We must change it, as with Demolisher and Rhymer!!!
The arrogance and patronizing in this thread is worthy of the X-Wing forum. Good work guys.
Hooray for arrogant patronizing! Now I can recognise it!
Part of the issue is the difference between an ambiguous rule and a commonly mistaken rule. If you wish to argue this combo is commonly mistaken I'd have to agree. But the rule isn't ambiguous. As in, with enough reading and possibly the FAQ you can't make a legitimate case for needing a further ruling from FFG. The Talon/Yavaris ruling covers this case. If someone came in with "hey this rule is confusing" that'd be one thing. But when the argument is pressed far beyond that and the person clearly is rules lawyering without doing their homework and pressing their point, then it's on them. Things didn't get negative until people persisted.
The arrogance and patronizing in this thread is worthy of the X-Wing forum. Good work guys.
Hooray for arrogant patronizing! Now I can recognise it!
![]()
I hate you, rabbit......
:-P