Fighter Coordination Team + Flight Commander + Yavaris

By homedrone, in Star Wars: Armada

How does the forum interpret the interaction of these cards? Or has someone asked FFG about it?

Fighter Coordination Team + Flight Commander + Yavaris

Yavaris moves, uses Fighter Coordination Team to move some squads into engagement range of some other squadrons, then Flight Commander to activate them. 2 shots or no?

Fighter Coordination Team:

"After you execute a maneuver, you may select a number of unengaged friendly squadrons up to your squadron value at close-medium range. Those squadrons may move up to distance 1."

Flight Commander:

"During your activation, you can resolve your SQUADRON command after you execute a maneuver."

Yavaris:

"Each squadron you activate can attack twice if it does not move."

Works exactly as you described. The FCT card does not activate the squadrons. So when you bump them into range and activate them, they can have their double shots

It says "move up to distance 1" and "does not move". I was persuaded to see that as ambiguous either way. What's the argument to explain that it gets 2 shots if they indeed do?

Edited by homedrone

Because the movement is not part of the squadron command. By your interpretation, Yavaris would never trigger as soon as the fighter moved during the game.

That swings me back to what I though. Thanks :)

I think this setup will be really common going forward. It needs a name!

...

I got nothin'

Nominations?

If the Yavaris rule "if it does not move" refers to during the activation from Yavaris's command only, then yes they get 2 shots. If "it does not move" refers to the squadrons whole turn then no they don't get two shots since they moved.

I think it refers to the Yavis activation only, but the Yavaris card was made long before Fighter Coordination Team card. I wouldn't mind seeing an official ruling on this.

The Yavaris Schuffle

Not sure if a special name is needed, I mean after all, it's the same good ol' Yavaris that we all know and love.

Not sure if a special name is needed, I mean after all, it's the same good ol' Yavaris that we all know and love.

If the Yavaris rule "if it does not move" refers to during the activation from Yavaris's command only, then yes they get 2 shots. If "it does not move" refers to the squadrons whole turn then no they don't get two shots since they moved.

I think it refers to the Yavis activation only, but the Yavaris card was made long before Fighter Coordination Team card. I wouldn't mind seeing an official ruling on this.

It's in the rule book. The ability of Yavaris is headed by the Squadron command symbol which means that you have to use that command to activate the Yavaris title.

Yavaris the Oppressor!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Pushvaris, I say!

Bumpvaris?

Edited by Maturin

Not sure if a special name is needed, I mean after all, it's the same good ol' Yavaris that we all know and love.

This is not the same anymore. Just having Flight Commander on Yavaris is like making it a new ship. Add Fighter Coordination Teams and Yavaris 3.0 is born.

Sure, but at the end of the day it's still Yavaris. Names are stupid.

I find it very interesting that in order get the coveted cards for the Yavaris build, you need to buy the Imperial Interdictor to get them...oh the irony...

The Rebel Demolisher.

Pushvaris, I say!

Bumpvaris?

Shovaris (Shovearis)

Not sure if a special name is needed, I mean after all, it's the same good ol' Yavaris that we all know and love.

This is not the same anymore. Just having Flight Commander on Yavaris is like making it a new ship. Add Fighter Coordination Teams and Yavaris 3.0 is born.

Sure, but at the end of the day it's still Yavaris. Names are stupid.

Just like your Ackbar Battleship is nothing more than an MC80.

The point of names is to help identify a specific setup. Clonisher is a Demolisher with Enhanced Launchers, Intel Officer, Ordnance Experts, and Engine Techs for instance. Once we know how something is setup, a name can be an easy method of conveying information.

Yavaris the Oppressor!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I do feel bad for running the setup. . . Feels so mean. . .

The Yavaris 2 Step.

so FCT's "You may move 1" does not conflict with Yavaris's "If the squadron hasn't moved" ? Hunh!

Yavaris.0

so FCT's "You may move 1" does not conflict with Yavaris's "If the squadron hasn't moved" ? Hunh!

It's quite simple to explain: FCT is not part of the squadron activation.

You move Yavaris, use FCT to move up to 2 squadrons THEN activate 2 squadrons of your choice.

If we look back at the text on Yavaris, it says: "Each squadron you activate can attack twice if it does not move."

Since the text is written in present, only what happens during the activation is important: You activate the squadron, you attack and then decide if you attack again or move. What happens prior to the activation is irelevant, just like if a squadron is activated in the same round to move and attack and then made Ready again by Adar Tallon, you will be able to double tap with Yavaris.

I think this setup will be really common going forward. It needs a name!

...

I got nothin'

Nominations?

The name should be "The ship you absolutely, positively, have to kill right away, without delay, right now."

Someone building Yavaris like this? Slicer Tools say hello.

so FCT's "You may move 1" does not conflict with Yavaris's "If the squadron hasn't moved" ? Hunh!

Yavaris reads "[squadron command]: Each squadron you activate may attack twice if it does not move." So the "..does not move" part applies only during the activation via the squadron command.