Playing the Bespin campaign, and wow that Junk Droid is an irritating little thing!
Playing the Bespin campaign, and wow that Junk Droid is an irritating little thing!
yup....is in skirmish too... annoying how much damage he can put onto a white dice in one turn with multiple ugnaughts nearby...
He is the quintessential action waster of heroes. You will kill him, but darn-it you'll waste an action and he'll just come right back.
Gotta catch it with AOE damage when you can. Blast, cleave and grenades (or Saska's unstable device) are great ways to get rid of it.
Playing the Bespin campaign, and wow that Junk Droid is an irritating little thing!
![]()
If you focus him that's double green plus an innate +1 damage. That's pretty good for a free unit, and since the Ugnaughts are only 3 points you could add one into your list just to pad out the amount of activations you get. A hired gun squad is 4 points, but you don't get a Droid that can be reincarnated repeatedly, and you'll have a point leftover for an extra skirmish upgrade.
Playing the Bespin campaign, and wow that Junk Droid is an irritating little thing!
![]()
A lot of the local crowd had written them off for skirmish. We were mistaken. One guy surprised us all, and now everyone is trying them.
Got a 3 damage hit in with one in Bespin which was a bit of an eye opener for the Rebels, but I was using Ugnaughts as fodder and there are better units to spend threat on so I really didn't get to use the droid much. It would tend to get cleaved to death anyway so it's more useful when the Rebels don't have an abundance of cleave/blast.
What's doubly annoying is that if you have two Ugnaughts you have this ridiculous thing activating twice in a round. Even if you kill it the second Ugnaught will make him again and then he'll go after you again.
if you have two Ugnaughts you have this ridiculous thing activating twice in a round.
Isn't it more like twice per Ugnaught?
Ugnaught (Deployment card) activates, Junk Droid gets ready.
Junk Droid activates at the start of the Deployment Groups activation.
Ugnaught activates, creates a "new" Junk Droid. Junk Droids is created ready.
"New" Junk Droid activates at the end of the Deployment Groups activation.
Might be interesting in a list with Sorin and Advanced Com.
if you have two Ugnaughts you have this ridiculous thing activating twice in a round.
Isn't it more like twice per Ugnaught?
Ugnaught (Deployment card) activates, Junk Droid gets ready.
Junk Droid activates at the start of the Deployment Groups activation.
Ugnaught activates, creates a "new" Junk Droid. Junk Droids is created ready.
"New" Junk Droid activates at the end of the Deployment Groups activation.
Might be interesting in a list with Sorin and Advanced Com.
Only one Junk Droid allowed at a time.
I know. The "old" one is discarded, when you create a "new" one.
If one is in play, you remove the token first as per the rules. However, this does not have an effect on the companion card, damage suffered or conditions. If the companion card is exhausted, it does not ready itself with Spot Weld. So, an Ugnaught can't activate the Junk Droid both before and after the Ugnaught's activation, it's one or the other (unless the Junk Droid manages to defeat itself during its activation, then Spot Weld would allow the Junk Droid to enter the game ready again).
OK. So the Ugnaught has to kill the Junk Droid first, so he can Spot Weld a ready Junk Droid? That seems doable...
Edited by DerBaerIf one is in play, you remove the token first as per the rules. However, this does not have an effect on the companion card, damage suffered or conditions. If the companion card is exhausted, it does not ready itself with Spot Weld. So, an Ugnaught can't activate the Junk Droid both before and after the Ugnaught's activation, it's one or the other (unless the Junk Droid manages to defeat itself during its activation, then Spot Weld would allow the Junk Droid to enter the game ready again).
Why do you say that? The rules say:
When a companion is put into play, place its Companion card
faceup in the ready position near its associated Deployment card
or Hero sheet. Then, place its token on the map as indicated by
the effect putting it into play.
And then:
When a companion is put into play under a player’s control, if
that companion was already in play under that player’s control,
it is removed from the map first.
It looks like you can put a companion into play even if it's already in play, and putting a companion into play readies its deployment card.
A lot of people wrote off the Junk droid because it only has one die in its pool, but that +1 damage and pierce 2 from the elite basically means it hits as hard as a regular stormtrooper, which is real damage.
It still seems useful even it's not attacking anything. If you consider it half the points of the Ugnaught, at 1.5 points it's the least amount of points you can waste on a terminal, besides for arguably R2-D2 since he doubles the amount of cards you draw from terminals.
When a companion is put into play under a player’s control, if
that companion was already in play under that player’s control,
it is removed from the map first.
It looks like you can put a companion into play even if it's already in play, and putting a companion into play readies its deployment card.
Only the companion (token) is removed from the map to be placed again. The companion with its companion card is not removed from play nor defeated, which would allow it to enter play again (with the companion card in the ready position).
(Apparently this is how it works, although it's third-hand information.)
Edited by a1bertIt still seems useful even it's not attacking anything. If you consider it half the points of the Ugnaught, at 1.5 points it's the least amount of points you can waste on a terminal, besides for arguably R2-D2 since he doubles the amount of cards you draw from terminals.
Only that it does not count for the control of a terminal.
Only that it does not count for the control of a terminal.
Have seen an official ruling? I didn't see it specified in the companion rules in the new FAQ.
It still seems useful even it's not attacking anything. If you consider it half the points of the Ugnaught, at 1.5 points it's the least amount of points you can waste on a terminal, besides for arguably R2-D2 since he doubles the amount of cards you draw from terminals.
Only that it does not count for the control of a terminal.
From the Bespin Gambit rules:
COMPANIONS
A companion is a new type of support figure that is put into play through various game effects and is associated with a hero or a group. The companion shares that hero or group’s affiliation and activates before or after the corresponding activation.
When a companion is put into play, place its Companion card faceup in the ready position near its associated Deployment card or Hero sheet. Then, place its token on the map as indicated by the effect putting it into play.
A companion follows all normal rules for figures with the following exceptions:
- A companion does not block line of sight, and a hostile figure does not spend one additional movement point to enter a space containing a companion.
- A companion can end its movement in a space containing another figure, and another figure can end its movement in a space containing a companion.
- A companion is adjacent to each figure and object in its space, and each of those figures and objects are adjacent to the companion.
- A companion cannot interact and cannot use abilities on Class, Item, or Supply cards.
- A companion has a figure cost of 0 (see "Figure Cost" on the right).
- If a companion performs an attribute test, it automatically fails.
- When a group that is associated with a companion leaves play, the companion remains in play but can no longer activate unless a game effect allows that companion to activate as part of a different group.
- During a campaign, only one companion of each type can be in play at a time. During a skirmish, each player may have one companion of each type in play.
- When a companion is put into play under a player’s control, if that companion was already in play under that player’s control, it is removed from the map first.
- During a skirmish, abilities that specifically affect a companion can affect only your companion.
I don't see any reason, why the Junk Droid shouldn't be able to control?
Edited by DerBaerHa ... it seems I got that one wrong. Maybe I should give them a try then ...
From the Bespin Gambit rules:
COMPANIONS
When a companion is put into play , place its Companion card faceup in the ready position near its associated Deployment card or Hero sheet. Then, place its token on the map as indicated by the effect putting it into play.
9. When a companion is put into play under a player’s control, if that companion was already in play under that player’s control, it is removed from the map first.
If one is in play, you remove the token first as per the rules. However, this does not have an effect on the companion card, damage suffered or conditions.
Why not?
Because of the distinction between removed from play/defeated and removed from the map. "put into play" refers directly to the wording of the Spot Weld ability.
Like I said, this is from a second-hand report, me repeating it making it third-hand. So take it how you will. But it would match the apparent intent better, otherwise the Junk Droid could always activate both before and after each of the Ugnaughts if they used one of their actions for Spot Weld, and Spot Weld would remove damage and conditions as well.
You could ask and get an official clarification. I would be glad to hear either way.
Edited by a1bertActually, I don't see any distinction between removed from play and removed from the map.
Because of the distinction between removed from play/defeated and removed from the map. "put into play" refers directly to the wording of the Spot Weld ability.
Like I said, this is from a second-hand report, me repeating it making it third-hand. So take it how you will. But it would match the apparent intent better, otherwise the Junk Droid could always activate both before and after each of the Ugnaughts if they used one of their actions for Spot Weld, and Spot Weld would remove damage and conditions as well.
You could ask and get an official clarification. I would be glad to hear either way.
I don't think it matters whether it's removed from play or removed from the map - the reason I think it readies again is that it's being "put into play", because according to the rules, when you put a companion into play, it is ready. Doesn't matter if it was already in play or not; you're still putting it into play.
As far as removing damage and conditions (well conditions anyway, as the JD can't have any damage on it without being defeated), I think the fact that you remove it from the board and place it again implies that it's a new figure. Figures are the entities that hold damage and conditions, not deployment cards, so the conditions should go away when a "new" JD is placed.
But I agree, it would be nice to get an official ruling.
Edited by Stompburger