Action cards and combat example explaination.

By Mouseguard, in WFRP Rules Questions

hello again, I am still trying to get to grips with the game on a whole, i downloaded the taster scenario from the main website, the road warden character has taken execution shot as an action card, this has the trait judgment. I cannont find any reference to traits on action cards and how they work ?

i presumed they were some form of pre requiste, but now i am unsure. to that end the troll feller card has the trait slayer, if this is not a pre requisite does this meen any character can take the troll feller card?

this leads me on the the combat example in the rule book. i follow it fairly well and work through it to gain an idea of how it works. the part that confuses me is that the example is using precise shot, and in the example it states that a manuver is needed because the action requires preperation?? this is confusing because when checking through the cards i didnt notice prep on this card. is this a typo or have i missed something?

and finally with character advancement, the matrix on the bottom of the career card basicly state what advances you can take, is this in addition to the top four of the career advancement sheet? for example if your career advances says you can take 2 talents could you effectivly take 3 ? 2 with the open career advances and 1 with the general advances at the top of the career advance sheet?

Answer to Question 1:

From the FAQ p 3:

Traits in and of themselves do not “do” anything or have a specific,
pre-defined meaning or definition. Traits are terms that other rules
or effects can “look for” to allow different game elements to interact
with each other.

So, any character can take the troll feller card.

Remember though that there are exceptions to this rule. The word "Rank 1", "Rank 2" etc are in the Traits... those ARE prerequisites (although you can buy higher rank talents that your current rank if you spend extra points). Another exception is the different schools of magic and gods (for spells and prayers) which count as prerequisites.

Answer to Question 2:

Regarding the combat example, no wonder you are confused, the example is wrong. There is an errata on that one too though (p 1):

ERRATA for WFRP Rulebook, p. 60
The turn example indicates that Accurate Shot requires preparation.
That is incorrect. Accurate Shot does not require preparation.
However, assuming an additional manoeuvre were needed to
perform the action, the rest of the example is accurate.

Answer to Question 3:

Errata (p 2-3):

Character Development: Fixed Career Advances
The four fixed advances on the top of the Advancement Worksheet
do not count “against” the available advancement options listed on
the front of the career sheet.
This means that a career that does not have Wound Threshold
listed on the advances section on the front of the sheet (such as
the Student) still has access to +1 Wound Threshold via the fixed
advance slot offering that benefit.

Likewise, a career like Roadwarden (with one wound threshold
listed in the advances section on the front of the career sheet) could
acquire two additional wound threshold advances during his career
as a Roadwarden – one from the advances section on the front of
the career sheet, one from the fixed career advances in the Advancement
Worksheet.

The fixed advances does NOT count against the availible advancent option at the bottom of the Career sheet.

By the way.. you can find the Errata/FAQ here: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp?eidm=93&esem=4

I highly recommend downloading it and reading it... it makes the rules ALOT more clear. I had several "AHA.. so that's how it works"-moments when i read it the first time. There are some other good stuff to download there too, besides the errata... I highly recomment the "living index". Its wonderful when you need to find something in one of the books, but dont know what page it's on.

Freiduin said:

The word "Rank 1", "Rank 2" etc are in the Traits... those ARE prerequisites (although you can buy higher rank talents that your current rank if you spend extra points).

Technically, those are not prerequisites. Those traits interact with the character creation and advancement rules to adjust their cost if you are not that rank or higher.

Thanks for that, this leads me to another question that, came up this morning when i downloaded the FAQ and was going through it.

'An action that is listed as “vs. Target Defence” is not an opposed
check – it is based on the Easy (1d) default difficulty, similar to how
Melee Attack and Ranged Attack actions are resolved. In addition to
this default difficulty, the dice pool may be modified by the target’s
Defence rating, as well as by the action’s difficulty modifier.'

so does this meen, if an enemy has '0' defense do you still add 1 difficulty dice + a misfortune dice?

and if an enemy has say defense 1 do you add 2 difficulty dice and 2 misforturne dice?

cheers

Mouseguard said:

Thanks for that, this leads me to another question that, came up this morning when i downloaded the FAQ and was going through it.

'An action that is listed as “vs. Target Defence” is not an opposed
check – it is based on the Easy (1d) default difficulty, similar to how
Melee Attack and Ranged Attack actions are resolved. In addition to
this default difficulty, the dice pool may be modified by the target’s
Defence rating, as well as by the action’s difficulty modifier.'

so does this meen, if an enemy has '0' defense do you still add 1 difficulty dice + a misfortune dice?

and if an enemy has say defense 1 do you add 2 difficulty dice and 2 misforturne dice?

cheers

Short answer:

No, you only add the challenge dice if an enemy has 0 defense (unless something else adds misfortune dice, like if they Dodge for example).

Long answer:

The #d part of "Easy (1d)" only reffers to challenge dice. So if an enemy has '0' defense you still add 1 challenge dice since it is based on the Easy (1d). This is especially insteresting for when it comes to spells/blessings. They have a default difficulty of "Simple (0d)", unless the action is listed as "vs Target Defence" which gives it "Easy (1d) instead. Don't forget that this dice is in addition to any dice listed in the top left corner of the card.

The last sentence is reffering to that AFTER the challenge is sorted out, the dice pool can be changed with misfortune dice from the targets Defence rating, if they're using Dodge/Parry/Block etc.

An example:

A character is attacking a Beastman Wargor using the ranged ability card "Bullseye":

1) Since the card is "vs. Target Defence" it gets a basic Easy (1d) difficulty: +1 Challenge Dice

2) The "Bullseye" ability card has a difficulty modifier of 2 Challenge Dice (top left corner of the card): +2 Challenge Dice

3) Beastman Wargor has a Defence rating of 2 (the number in parentheses next to Agility): +2 Misfortune Dice

Total so far: 3 Challenge Dice and 2 Misfortune Dice. This may ofc be further modified a bunch of other stuff too, but that's beyond what the Errata is discussing.

where can i find it in the rulebook that the dices on the card are additional that would be great news

Ribuk said:

where can i find it in the rulebook that the dices on the card are additional that would be great news

From FAQ p 2:

Actions: Default Challenge Level
Unless indicated otherwise, the default challenge level for Melee
Attack and Ranged Attack actions is Easy (1d). Unless indicated
otherwise, the default difficulty for other actions, such as casting a
spell or invoking a blessing, is Simple (0d). The GM is still the final
arbiter of a task’s challenge level, and may adjust these to suit the
story and the particular task at hand.


An action that is listed as “vs. Target Defence” is not an opposed
check – it is based on the Easy (1d) default difficulty, similar to how
Melee Attack and Ranged Attack actions are resolved. In addition to
this default difficulty, the dice pool may be modified by the target’s
Defence rating, as well as by the action’s difficulty modifier.


The dice pool for a check may be further influenced by the action’s
difficulty modifier. An action that is opposed by a target’s characteristic
uses the opposed check difficulty rules rather than the
default challenge levels noted above.

The second paragraph in the FAQ quote above states what you're asking for. You can probably find those rules scattered about in the rulebook as well, but i'm lazy, and the faq/errata do such a good summary of it all.